Link to print-friendly version


Citing Business Databases in APA Style

This guide provides examples of how to cite resources (articles, reports, documents) from several online business databases.

A Note on Citing Resources from Online Databases (from The Owl at Purdue): "When referencing material obtained from an online database (such as a database in the library), provide appropriate print citation information (formatted just like a "normal" print citation would be for that type of work). Then add information that gives the date of retrieval and the proper name of the database. This will allow people to retrieve the print version if they do not have access to the database from which you retrieved the article. You can also include the item number or accession number in parentheses at the end, but the APA manual says that this is not required. (For more about citing articles retrieved from electronic databases, see page 278 of the Publication Manual.)" For additional examples of citing resources using APA style, see General Citation Guides and Generators.

Table of Contents:

Advertising Red Books

Advertising Red Books. (2006). Energizer Holdings, Inc. profile. Retrieved February 6,
     2006, from Advertising Red Books database.

ABI/INFORM (Dateline, Global, and Trade & Industry)

Hein, K. (2005). Coke, Pepsi expend more energy to fight Red Bull. Brandweek, 46(34), 9.
     Retrieved December 21, 2006, from ABI/INFORM Global database.

Communication & Mass Media Complete

Hanas, J. (2006). Bling is the thing. Advertising Age, 77(1), 16-17. Retrieved December 21,
     2006, from Communication & Mass Media Complete database.

Corporate Affiliations

CorporateAffiliations.com. (2006). Dell, Inc. profile. Retrieved December 21, 2006, from Corporate
     Affiliations database.

Country Insight

Euromonitor International. (2006). USA household income distribution: Poles apart. Retrieved
     December 21, 2006, from Country Insight database.

Euromonitor International. (2006). China: Country profile. Retrieved December 21, 2006,
     from Country Insight database.

Encyclopedia of American Industries

SIC 2024 Ice Cream and Frozen Desserts. (2005). In Lynn Pearce (Ed.), Encyclopedia of American Industries, Vol. 1:
     Manufacturing Industries
(21-25). Retrieved December 21, 2006, from Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Factiva

Hudson, K. (2006, September 28). Wal-Mart to trim options for health coverage. The Wall Street Journal, p. B2.
     Retrieved December 21, 2006 from Factiva database.

Faulkner Advisory for IT Studies (FAITS)

Gitomer, J. (2006). Wi-Fi market trends. Retrieved December 21, 2006, from Faulkner Advisory for IT Studies
     database.

Gartner

Lopez, J. & Raskino, M. (2006). What information will executives need in 2012? Retrieved December 21, 2006,
     from Gartner database.

Baker, V. L., Weiner A., McGuire, M., Koslowski, T., Brancheau, J., & Reali, P. A., et al. (2006). Hype cycle
     for consumer technologies, 2006
. Retrieved December 21, 2006, from Gartner database.

Kitagawa, M. & Gammage, B. (2006). Magic quadrant for global enterprise notebook PCs, 2H06. Retrieved
     December 21, 2006, from Gartner database.

General BusinessFile ASAP

Kiviat, B. (2006, December 18). The big gulp at Starbucks. Time, 168, 124. Retrieved December 21, 2006
     from General BusinessFile ASAP database.


Garcia, B. (2006, December 14). Starbucks Coffee launches 'Black Apron Exclusives'. Kuwait Times, pNA.
     Retrieved December 21, 2006 from General BusinessFile ASAP database.

Global Consumer Trend Monitoring

Euromonitor International. (2006). Smells like teen dollars. Retrieved December 21, 2006, from Global
     Consumer Trend Monitoring database.

Global Market Information Database (GMID)

Euromonitor International. (2006). Toys and games - USA. Retrieved December 21, 2006, from Global
     Market Information Database.

Euromonitor International. (2006). Statistics retrieved January 8, 2007, from Euromonitor Global Market
     Information Database.

globalEDGE

MSU-CIBER globalEDGE. (2007). Country insights: Ireland. Retrieved January 10, 2007, from
     globalEDGE database.

Hoover's Online Pro Plus

Hoovers, Inc. (2007). Apple Computer, Inc. fact sheet. Retrieved January 7, 2007, from Hoover's
     Online Pro Plus database.

Hospitality & Tourism Complete

Lockyer, S.E. (2004). P.F. Chang's makes accounting changes, takes $11.5M charge. Nation's Restaurant
     News, 38
(13), 11. Retrieved January 8, 2007, from Hospitality & Tourism Complete database.

IBISWorld

IBISWorld. (2007, November). Casino Hotels in the US. Retrieved January 17, 2008, from
     IBIS Industry Market Research.

Kiss, Bow or Shake Hands

Morrison, T. and Conaway, W.A. (2008). Tips for doing business in Brazil. In Kiss, bow or shake hands.
     Retrieved January 30, 2008, from http://kissboworshakehands.com/msu/XEdata/XEcountry.php.

LexisNexis Academic

Woodyard, C. (2006, December 27). Car-stereo units put video iPods on the road. USA Today, p. 3B.
     Retrieved January 8, 2007, from LexisNexis Academic database.

Hoover's. (2007, January 2). Johnson & Johnson. Hoover's Company Records - In-depth Records.
     Retrieved January 8, 2007, from LexisNexis Academic database.

MarketLine

MarketLine. (2006). Nextel Communications, Inc. profile. Retrieved January 8, 2007, from MarketLine
     Business Information Centre database.

Mergent Online

Mergent. (2005). Marathon Oil Corp. company details report. Retrieved January 8, 2007, from Mergent
     Online database.

Mintel

Mintel. (2006). Hair styling products - US - May 2006. Retrieved January 8, 2007, from Mintel Market
     Research Reports database.

OxResearch

OxResearch. (2006, February). INTERNATIONAL: Podcasting will benefit Apple. OxResearch,1.
     Retrieved January 10, 2007, from OxResearch database.

Plunkett Research Online

Plunkett Research Ltd. Airlines, Hotels & Travel Industry, "Introduction to the Travel Industry".
     Retrieved 9/11/2007, from Plunkett Research Online database.

Political Risk Yearbook

PRS Group, Inc. (2007). Algeria. In Political risk yearbook. Retrieved January 30, 2008, from
     http://www.prsgroup.com.proxy1.cl.msu.edu:2047/prsgroup_shoppingcart/viewYEARBOOKsub.aspx.

ProQuest Historical Annual Reports

Ford Motor Company Annual Report -- 1912. (1912). America's Corporate Foundation. Retrieved
     January 8, 2007, from ProQuest Historical Annual Reports database.

ReferenceUSA

infoUSA, Inc. (2007). Hershey Company. Retrieved September 11, 2007, from ReferenceUSA database.

Simmons Choices3

Simmons Market Research Bureau. (2004). Simmons Choices3 (Fall 2004) [Computer software].
     New York: Simmons Market Research Bureau.

SimplyMap

Geographic Research, Inc. (2008). MRI Consumer Survey Data 2006

     retrieved November 17, 2008, from SimplyMap database.

Geographic Research, Inc. (2008). Census 2000 Data retrieved

     November 17, 2008, from SimplyMap database.

Geographic Research, Inc. (2008). Map retrieved November 17, 2008,

     from SimplyMap database.



Snapshot Series

The Snapshot Series. (2005, March). US energy drinks 2005. Retrieved January 8, 2007, from
     Snapshot Series database.

SourceOECD

OECD. (2006). Ageing societies. OECD Factbook 2006. Retrieved January 8, 2007, from
     SourceOECD.

OECD. (2006). Ireland. Economic Outlook, 2006/9, 156. Retrieved January 8, 2007, from
     SourceOECD.

Sports Business Research Network

Sports Business Research Network. (2007). Statistics retrieved January 10, 2007, from Sports Business
     Research Network (SBRnet) database.

Sports Business Research Network. (2004, June 21). Fifth bowl game for college football. SportsPipe.
     Retrieved January 10, 2007, from Sports Business Research Network (SBRnet) database.

TableBase

BPI Communications, Inc. (2006, June). Colas, energy drinks swing for fences. Brandweek,
      47
(25), S30. Retrieved January 10, 2007, from TableBase database.

Wilson Business Abstracts

Garfield, B. (2001). Super Bowl ads score. Advertising Age 72(5), 50-51. Retrieved January
     30, 2008, from WilsonSelectPlus database.

World Development Indicators

World Bank. (2006). Statistics retrieved January 10, 2007, from World Development Indicators
     database.

Page Coordinator: Kara Rawlins gustk@msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=1025
Last updated: 01-26-2009

© 2006 Michigan State University Board of Trustees. MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity institution.