Finding Articles
Use the databases listed below to find citations (and sometimes, electronic full text) of journal articles. Most library databases, including PubMed/MEDLINE, OSTMED, and PsycINFO require knowledge of Boolean Operators for effective searching. Click here to access a Boolean Cheat Sheet (PDF).
- MEDLINE (from PubMed)
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Retrospective to the 1950s, it contains bibliographic citations with author abstracts (since 1975) from over 5000 international biomedical journals published in the US and 80 other countries. In order to access the fulltext articles provided by the MSU Libraries, it is important to access PubMed through the MSU Libraries. If located off-campus, you'll be prompted for your NetID and password.
- MEDLINE (ISI)
This version of MEDLINE through the Web of Science contains the same information found in PubMed, but is presented using a different interface.
- MDConsult
A unique and comprehensive electronic collection, MDConsult offers one-stop shopping for much medical information. First, it provides the full-text of 40 well-known medical textbooks covering most of the specialty areas and full-text of over 50 medical journals including many of the Clinics of North America all of them accessible through a journal search engine which sits on top of MEDLINE. Also provided are patient education handouts, clinical practice guidelines, medical news updates for the health professional and the layperson
- OSTMED.DR (Osteopathic Medicine Digital Repository)
OSTMED.DR® is an osteopathic medicine digital library created by a partnership between Edward Via Virginia College of Osteopathic Medicine (VCOM) and VTLS, Inc. OSTMED.DR® builds upon OSTMED®, a bibliographic index to the literature of osteopathic medicine. The goal of OSTMED.DR® is to promote and facilitate research and scholarly activity in the osteopathic profession by providing ready access to the current osteopathic literature and heretofore hard to find resources, including historical documents. Books, core journals, selective journals, video and images will be included.
- PsycINFO including PsycARTICLES (on CSA Illumina)
Contains summaries of the world's journal literature, of dissertations and technical reports, and of English-language chapters and books in psychology and related disciplines. Covers over 1300 journals in over 30 languages from approximately 50 countries. No full text content within PsycInfo, but there are links to full text in other databases, including PsycARTICLES, and through the MSU Libraries' holdings. Also includes psychology articles from related disciplines such as sociology, linguistics, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, and anthropology.
- Global Health
Global Health is a specialist international public health database for academics, researchers, public health practitioners, NGOs, policy makers, clinicians, healthcare professionals and students.
In addition to comprehensive coverage of the core public health literature, it includes significant unique content (compared with the other mainstream health databases) particularly in the areas of tropical medicine, infectious diseases, vector control, food safety and epidemiology.
Medical E-books
- Medical Book Collections
The following online resources offer a variety of medical books in collections where all of the titles contained can be searched all at once. Most of these collections are comprised of 50 or more titles. This is a useful feature when you are not sure which specific title will include the information of interest. These include:
AccessMedicine
AccessSurgery
Lippincott's Clinical Choice
MD Consult
STAT!Ref
- Electronic Medical Books
This is a comprehensive list of medical e-books accessible through the MSU Libraries. Titles are arranged alphabetically by subject or specialty area.
- Digital Collections on Early Osteopathic Works
The MSU Libraries' has 29 digitized early textbooks and collections of articles on osteopathy and the autobiography of Andrew Taylor Still, the founder of osteopathic medicine.
Evidence-Based Medicine Resources
- Guide to Evidence-Based Medicine Resources
This guide, created by librarians at Dartmouth and Yale University & edited for MSU Libraries by John Coffey, explains various Evidence-Based Medicine resources. Start with the resources at the top of the pyramid for the best evidence.
- Cochrane Library
A compilation of five databases designed to provide evidence to help health care providers decide on the best treatment for a condition or disease by identifying all controlled trials of interventions for a particular condition and reviewing the results to see which work best. The most important database is the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.
- Essential Evidence Plus (formely InfoRetriever with InfoPOEMs)
The only database system of filtered, synopsized, evidence-based information, this integrated search engine allows you to simultaneously search, via keyword, multiple databases:
EBM Guidelines, Daily POEMs,Cochrane Abstracts,Selected Practice Guidelines,Decision Support Calculators,H&P Calculators,Diagnostic Test Calculators,Derm Expert,E/M Coding,ICD-9 Lookup Tool
Available via workstation or downladable to PDA. Email John or Abe (see below) if you are challenged for an additional username & password for the PDA version.
- ACP PIER: Physician’s Information and Education Resource
This electronic medical textbook is available from STAT!Ref. PIER© is a collection of over 400 evidence summaries published by the American College of Physicians. Each module provides authoritative guidance to improve the quality of care. Important features of PIER include:
•Truly evidenced-based
•Defines the current standard of care
•Frequently updated (Monthly Content Updates and Module Additions)
•Consistently structured for rapid access
•Search or browse by organ system
•Integrated drug reference (AHFS DI Essentials)
Topics are selected by ACP based upon prevalence in clinical settings. Evidence is then gathered by literature review and evaluated based on formal criteria. The level of evidence for each recommendation is displayed clearly within the application. PIER also includes topics in complementary and alternative medicine, ethical and legal issues, and procedures.
- ACP Journal Club
This Web site comprises the cumulative electronic contents of ACP Journal Club's bimonthly print edition since its inception in 1991, with current weeding of out-of-date articles. The content is carefully selected from over 100 clinical journals through reliable application of explicit criteria for scientific merit, followed by assessment of relevance to medical practice by clinical specialists.
- Clinical Evidence
This resource, produced by the BMJ Publishing Group, provides evidence-based information for clinicians.
- National Guideline Clearinghouse
The Clearinghouse provides access to evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
Patient Information & Consumer Health
The following are excellent resources for Patient Information and/or Consumer Health Information:
MedlinePlus
Patient Education from MD Consult
Patient Information Leaflets from the TRIP database
Consumer Health Internet Resources (prepared by S.Kendall)
- Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database is a source of clinically reliable information on more than 1000 natural medicines, including herbs, dietary supplements, vitamins, minerals, etc.
Library Liaisons
Page Coordinator: John Coffey coffey@msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=103
Last updated: 06-21-2009
|