Link to print-friendly version


MULTI Workshop: Organizational Culture

Influencing Your Organization's Culture: Strategies and Devices for Fostering Positive Practices will help participants understand the importance of the organizational culture of a workplace and how it can influence work teams as well as the overall success of a department or an organization. This guide contains resources for those interested in exploring these issues in more depth.

Library Print Resources

  • MSU Library Catalog

    The MSU Libraries' online catalog is a searchable listing of items owned by the MSU Libraries (as well as the Library of Michigan). Using the catalog, you can find a number of books, DVDs and videos on a particular topic.
    • SUGGESTED SUBJECT HEADINGS

      • Corporate culture
      • Management -- Psychological aspects
      • Organizational behavior
      • Organizational change
      • Organizational effectiveness
      • Personnel management
      • Work -- Psychological aspects
  • Reference Books

    • The Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Organizational Behavior
      Location: Business Library Reference HD 58.7 .B57 1995
    • Handbook of Industrial and Organizational Psychology
      Location: Labor & Industrial Relations Library Reference HF 5548.8 .H25 1990, 4 vols.
    • Handbook of Organizational Behavior
      Location: Main Library HD 58.7 H355 2001
    • Handbook of Work & Organizational Psychology, 2nd ed.
      Location: LIR Reference HF 5548.8 .H2655 1998, 4 volumes
Library Electronic Resources

  • ABI/INFORM (on ProQuest Direct)

    ABI/INFORM provides citations with abstracts (since 1971) and some full text of articles (since 1988) appearing in approximately 1,400 international periodicals covering business and management as well as related functional areas including market trends, corporate strategies, and product information.
  • Factiva

    Factiva provides full-text access to major titles in the business press. The Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Business Week, Fortune, Forbes and Financial Times are just a few of the 9,000 titles included in this resource. Coverage is international in scope and extends back to the mid-1980's.

  • PsycINFO including PsycARTICLES (on CSA Illumina)

    Contains summaries of the world's journal literature, of dissertations and technical reports, and of English-language chapters and books in psychology and related disciplines. Covers over 1300 journals in over 30 languages from approximately 50 countries. Also includes psychology articles from related disciplines such as sociology, linguistics, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, and anthropology.
  • Sociological Abstracts

    - Provides access to the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences
    - Includes citations (and abstracts since 1974) for articles in over 1,500 journals
    - Draws information from an international selection of journals, serials, conference papers, books, and dissertations
Free Web-based Resources

  • Baldrige National Quality Program

    The Baldrige Award is given by the President of the United States to businesses, education and health care organizations that apply and are judged to be outstanding in seven areas: leadership; strategic planning; customer and market focus; measurement, analysis, and knowledge management; human resource focus; process management; and results. Note: In addition to a number of free publications, there are also a number of free self-evaluation forms on this site that can be used to measure an organization's effectiveness in these areas.
  • Department Chair as Leader

    This American Council of Education page lists a variety of resources designed to help individuals master the position of department chair or head. Materials and resources for women assuming leadership positions are also included.
  • Harvard Business School's Working Knowledge Newsletter

    Cutting-edge research written by Harvard Business School Faculty. For articles and other publications related to corporate culture, organizational behavior and human resources, click on the "Organizations" tab under the Browse by Topic menu on the left hand side of the main page. It is also possible to sign up for email delivery of the weekly newsletter as well as RSS feeds for daily updates.
  • Knowledge@Wharton - Human Resources

    An online business journal published by The Wharton School. The Human Resources section contains articles related to managing change in the workplace, corporate culture and organizational behavior in general. Free registration is required to read the full-text of the articles.
Other Resources at MSU

  • MSU COACHE Survey Results & Analysis

    In the fall of 2005, MSU participated in a national study of pre-tenure faculty led by researchers at Harvard University Graduate School of Education. The purpose of the project was to study attitudes of early career faculty toward features of tenure and promotion; the nature of work; policies and practices; and culture, climate and collegiality at participating institutions and to identify productive and promising practices. Survey data were collected from full-time, tenure-stream faculty beyond their first year of appointment, but prior to attainment of tenure.
  • Resources on Leadership

    A list of resources on leadership published by the MSU Office of Faculty and Organizational Development.
  • Top Ten Lists for New Faculty & Academic Administrators

    Lists of the top ten things every new faculty member and academic administrator should know about the university. Based on a 2004 survey of faculty and academic administrators, and published by the MSU Office of Faculty and Organizational Development.
Faculty Development Support at the MSU Libraries

The MSU Libraries are pleased to support the Office of Faculty and Organizational Development and to provide resources that can help enhance faculty teaching, research, outreach, and leadership.

For more information on how you can best take advantage of the resources and services available through the MSU Libraries, please contact the subject specialist librarian in your field. If you're unsure who to contact, just ask a librarian -- we offer a variety of ways to reach us.

Page Coordinator: Stephanie Perentesis perente1@msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=1046
Last updated: 07-15-2008

© 2006 Michigan State University Board of Trustees. MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity institution.