Link to print-friendly version


Collection Development Policy Statement: Allied Health

Written by: Marilia Antunez
Date Drafted: 10/28/2005
Date Revised: 10/8/2007 by Marilia Antunez

Table of Contents:

I. Purpose and Scope of Collection

A. Curricular, Research and Programmatic Needs

The purpose of the Allied Health Collection of the MSU Libraries’ is to support the research, teaching, and information needs of students and faculty in the (1) Department of Communicative Sciences and Disorders, and in the (2) Biomedical Laboratory Diagnostics Program. The collection consists of materials in these allied health fields/degrees and attempts will be made to have a balanced collection of materials appropriate to the mission of the MSU Libraries.

  1. The Department of Communicative Sciences and Disorders offers courses leading to the B.A., M.A., and Ph.D. degrees, with specialization in communicative sciences and disorders. The B.A. in Communicative Sciences and Disorders is not the terminal degree for students wanting to become speech language pathologists. A master’s degree is the requirement for entry-level positions. The Council on Academic Accreditation of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) accredits the M.A. in speech-language pathology. Currently, the Department does not offer the Au.D. degree, the requirement for entry-level audiologists. The Department also offers the Ph.D. degree in Communicative Sciences and Disorders.

    The Department is a unit of the College of Communication Arts and Sciences (CAS) and utilizes and administers its clinical program through the Oyer Speech-Language-Hearing Clinic. The Clinic offers speech, language, voice, and hearing services to the community.

    The curriculum in the Department focuses on all areas directly related with speech and hearing behavior; speech, hearing and language disorders; and the diagnostic and therapeutic management of these disorders at the undergraduate, graduate and research levels.

  2. The Biomedical Laboratory Diagnostics Program, sometimes called Clinical Laboratory Science (CLS) is a division of the College of Natural Science. The program offers the B.S. and M.S. degrees. At the undergraduate level, the B.S. in Medical Technology (MT or CLS) and the Diagnostic Molecular Science degree programs are offered. The Bachelors degree leads to certification by the National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Sciences (NAACLS). At the graduate level, the M.S. in Clinical Laboratory Science and Biomedical Laboratory Operations (BLMO) is offered. The M.S. degree in Clinical Laboratory Science is also available online. In addition to these degree programs, the College offers certificate programs in Molecular Laboratory Diagnostics and Immunodiagnostic and Clinical Flow Cytometry.

    The Biomedical Laboratory Diagnostics Program focuses on the provision of quality medical laboratory tests. The teaching and research effort of the Program is concentrated in the areas of hematology, immunology/immunohematology, hemostasis, clinical microbiology, clinical chemistry and body fluids.

B. Existing Strengths and Emphasis

Research in new areas and continued emphasis on the current areas of research will be emphasized.



II. Factors Influencing Collection Policy

A. Anticipated Future Trends

A major trend influencing the collection development in the Allied Health Collection is the continuing demand for access to electronic scholarly journals as the importance of access to printed journals is diminishes. Online reference works are also increasing in importance and demand over their print counterparts.

B. Relationships with Other Resources
  1. MSU Libraries

    The Biomedical and Physical Sciences Branch Library houses many related materials in the fundamental sciences such as biology and chemistry.

  2. Regional or Network Resources

    Patrons can obtain materials from other Committee on Institutional Cooperation (CIC) libraries and the Michigan Research Libraries Triangle (MRLT) through interlibrary loan services. MSU is a member of the CIC and the MRLT. Access to many journals online in these subject areas is made available through CIC consortia agreements for journal packages. MRLT is a cooperative, which maintains reciprocal borrowing agreements with the University of Michigan and Wayne State University.

C. Relationships to Resources Treated in Other Policy Statements Because of the broad range of subjects that a student searching the Allied Health Collection will find relevant, acquisition policy for materials covered by other collection statements will also be of interest:

The bibliographer for clinical human medicine collects materials concerning otolaryngology, anatomy, and other clinical subjects.

  1. Communicative Sciences and Disorders:

    The bibliographer for linguistics collects materials concerning phonetics, and the syntactic, semantic and pragmatic development of language.

    The bibliographer for education collects materials concerning speech education, deaf education, special education, and speech for prospective teachers.
  2. Medical Technology:

    The bibliographer for the basic biomedical sciences collects materials concerning genetics, biology, physiology, pharmacology and toxicology, and biochemistry.



III. Analysis of the Subject Field

A. Chronology of the Subject
No restrictions, although the emphasis is on current theories and research.

B. Languages of Resources Collected
Most materials are acquired in English.

C. Geography of the Subject
The geographical emphasis is primarily North American, but European, Latin American and other areas are covered when they are important to a particular subject.

D. Format of the Resources Collected
All appropriate formats, including print, electronic, microforms, are collected. Some types of publications such as textbooks, reprints, dissertations, non-print materials (videotapes, slides, films, sound and recordings) are generally not purchased unless requested or needed for particular procedures.

E. Date of Publication of Resources Collected
Emphasis is on current publications at present.

IV. Levels of Collection Intensity

Please note that although the levels of collecting below are very specific to these call numbers, all programs served, especially at the undergraduate level have strong foundations in the biological sciences (e.g. physiology, medicine, chemistry, biology and others) and are supplemented by these collection development policies.


Using WLN/OCLC Conspectus
Levels:

Out-of-Scope, not collected
1) Minimal information level
2) Basic information level
3) Study or instructional support level
4) Research level
5) Comprehensive level

Communicative Sciences and Disorders:
Call number ranges Subject Level
RC 423 – 428.8 Speech and language disorders, including neurological and psychoneurotic disorders 3/4
RC 286-320 Audiology, hearing disorders and deafness 3

Medical Technology:

Call number ranges Subject Level
RB 27 Medical Laboratory Technology 3/4
RB 37-56 Diagnosis, Laboratory 3/4
RB 112.5 Clinical Chemistry 3/4
RB 145 Hematology 3/4


V. Collection Management Issues

A. Multiple Copies
Multiple copies of monographic titles are acquired only when there is a high demand for titles or titles authored by MSU faculty.

B. Preservation, Replacement and Weeding
Policies in effect for preservation, replacement, and weeding for the materials in the Main Library apply to the Allied Health Collection.
  1. Decisions to replace materials missing or damaged beyond repair are made on a case-by-case basis.
  2. Replacements may be purchased if available and affordable for high-demand or important monographs and for journal issues if they are not available also electronically.
  3. Multiple copies of outdated materials may be deselected, but unique materials are retained.


  4. Page Coordinator: Susan Kendall skendall@msu.edu
    This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=1104
    Last updated: 08-21-2009

© 2006 Michigan State University Board of Trustees. MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity institution.