Collection Development Policy Statement: Biological Sciences/Natural History |
Department: Collections Management, Michigan State University Libraries
Written By: Julia Perez
Date Drafted: 6/30/89
Date Revised: 2/14/00, 10/12/05
|
Purpose or Scope of Collection
Curricular/Research/Programmatic Needs: MSU Libraries supports undergraduate and graduate programs through the Ph.D. level and research in the biological sciences. This includes a broad range of centers and departments such as the W.K.Kellogg Biological Station, the Lyman Briggs School, and the Departments of Entomology, Zoology, Fisheries and Wildlife, Microbiology, Physiology, Anatomy, Botany and Plant Physiology. Although this policy statement does not include the botanical sciences nor the quasi-medical topics as these disciplines have been assigned to librarians, many of the resources in this area are applicable to these topics. Other topics of interest include ecology, animal science, aquatic ecology and toxicology, genetics, evolution, forestry, and pest management. History of the Collection/Existing Strengths and Emphases: Although zoology and animal physiology along with botany and plant systematics were part of the early curriculum in MSU's history, mainly agricultural practices were emphasized. Therefore, early collection development in these areas reflected the agricultural orientation of the institution at the time. The biological sciences eventually grew to be fields of study independent of the agricultural sciences. A tie still exists between the biological sciences and agriculture because of research interests that benefit agricultural practices. MSU is a land grant institution and is affiliated with the Agriculture Experiment Station and Cooperative Extension Service located on campus. This affiliation is reflected in the collecting practices of MSU Libraries. Collection emphases is on primarily acquiring material that deals with Michigan, the Great Lakes area of the United States and Canada, and the Midwest states. The Main Library also has large collections in genetics and evolution, entomology, aquatic toxicology, and a strong collection of materials regarding Darwin. Special Collections also holds material in the biological sciences and natural history. There are numerous works by suck naturalists as White, Bacon, Darwin, Linne, Redi, and Plinius Secundus. The entomology collection is particularly strong and features the small but very fine Ray Stannard Baker apiculture collection. Ornithological holds include the works of Audubon, Bewick, Gould, Grayson, Studer, and Aldrovandi. Many of these holdings have been acquired by gift or purchase throughout the years, but some items have been transferred there from the circulating collection. Special Collections currently purchases selective reprints of the classical works in the botanical or biological field that are currently being published that augment collections already held, otherwise, active purchasing is not being done in this area. Factors Influencing Collection Policy: Anticipated Future Trends: The following are areas of study and research that are and will remain
significant for collection development as these are areas that are stressed
within the departments covered in this policy: genetics, genetically
modified organisms, gene analysis and transformation, neuroscience, Great Lakes
studies, microbial ecology, toxicology, computational ecology, pest management,
environmental monitoring, conservation biology, biodiversity,
environmental studies, natural resources management, limnology.
The Main Library enjoys a reciprocal relationship with the Gull Lake Library at the Kellogg Biological Station. The two libraries' biological collections are shared between them in order to make use of resources not duplicated in one of the libraries or to share extra copies of heavily used items. Special Collections in the Main Library houses older and more valuable biological resources. The Mathematics Library is used to a lesser extent for mathematical biology materials. Regional or network resources, if any:Libraries at the University of Michigan and Wayne State University both have strong biological collections, with the U. of Michigan having the larger collection. Other strong collections in the region include those at Ohio State University, University of Illinois, Indiana University, and University of Wisconsin. Relationships to resources treated in other policy statements:Mathematics: mathematical models Gull Lake: ecology, limnology, fisheries, waterfowl, historical entomology Analysis of the Subject Field Chronology of the Subject; Emphasis/Restrictions: The journal literature is very important. Selected current monographs are also collected. Reprints are selected only if considered classics and important to the collection. Languages of resources collected; exclusions/emphases/translations: Materials are primarily in English, but in the past, material in German, French, and Russian were collected as they were only available in those languages. Geography of the subject; emphases/restrictions:The biological collection emphasizes the study of the Great lakes states, the Midwest, and neighboring Canadian provinces. Materials about other areas of the U.S. and the world are selectively purchased. Format of the resources collected; restrictions if any:Textbooks, laboratory methods texts, and videos are purchased on a limited basis. Software or supplemental material will be sent to the Software Collection in Main Library. Electronic resources in this area will be stored on the Libraries home page, www.lib.msu.edu. Date of the publication of resources collected; emphases if any:For the most part, only current material is purchased. Levels of Collecting Intensity Call # ranges and levels of collection intensity QH 1-83 Natural History—General : 3A QH 84-199 Natural History—Geographical Distribution : 3B QH 90-100 Aquatic Biology : 4 QH 96-100 Freshwater Biology : 4 QH 102-106.2 Natural History--N. America : 4 QH 204-277 Microscopy : 3B QH 305-325 Biology--General : 3B QH 327-344 Biology--Space, Social, Bioethics, Biogeochemical : 3B QH 345 Inorganic Biology, Biophysics, Biochemistry : 4 QH 352 Population Biology : 4 QH 359-390 Evolution : 4F QH 401-425 Variation : 4 QH 540-559 Ecology 4 QH 541.5 Ecology by type of environment : 4 QH 545.Al Influence of special factors in the environment : 4 QH 546 Adaptions : 4 QH 548 Symbiosis : 4 QL 5-79 Zoology--General : 2E QL 81-84 Conservation : 4 QL 120-149 Water : 4 QL 121-138 Ocean : 3A QL 141-149 Fresh Water : 3B QL 150-252 Zoology--Americas : 3B QL 253-298 Zoology—Europe : 3B QL 300-334 --Asia : 3A QL 336-337 --Africa : 4F QL 351-352 Classification, Systematics, Taxonomy, etc, : 3B. QL 365-459 Invertebrates : 3B QL 386-394 Worms : 4F QL 434-599 Parasitology : 4 QL 434-434.8 Arthropoda : 4 QL 435-445.2 Crustacea : 4 QL 451-459.2 Arachnida : 4 QL 473-599.82 Insects : 3B QL 495 Physiology : 4 QL 496 Behavior, Social Life, Instinct : 4 QL 506-509.2 Orthoptera : 4 QL 521-528.2 Hemiptera, Homoptera : 4 QL 531-538.2 Diptera : 4 QL541-562.4 Lepidoptera : 4 QL 563-569.2 Hymenoptera : 4 QL 571-597.2 Coleoptera : 4 QL 606.52-610 Chordates. Vertebrates : 2E QL 618-639.5 Fishes : 3B QL 624-637.5 Freshwater Fishes : 3B QL 651-669.3 Reptiles and Amphibians : 3B QL 671-698.9 Birds : 3B QL 681-682 Birds--North America and U.S. : 4 QL 696.F3 Falconiformes : 4 QL 696.G2 Galliformes : 4 QL 696.P2 Passeriformes : 4 QL 697 Anatomy and Morphology : 4 QL 698 Physiology : 4 QL 708.3-739.2 Mammals : 3B QL 750-795 Animal Behavior. Ethology : 3B QL 799-950.9 Morphology : 4 QL 951-991 Embryology : 4 Collection Management Issues Specific policies, if any, on replacement, deselections, out of print acquisition, preservation, etc. Will provide multiple copies only if material circulates frequently or is in high demand. Will replace materials which are missing or damaged beyond repair if these have circulated frequently or are in demand. Will transfer material to Special Collections for security reasons or if valuable only if Special Collections agrees. Page Coordinator: Julia Perez perezj@msu.edu This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=1123 Last updated: 07-09-2007 |
