Link to print-friendly version


Resources in Human Nutrition

Table of Contents:

Finding Books

To locate books on specific topics, search the Library Catalog. Begin with a keyword search (e.g. "dietary supplements," "mediterranean diet," "obesity and children"); click on a title of interest and follow the subject hotlinks in the cataloging record to locate other books on the same topic.

Finding Articles

To locate journal articles, search one or more of the following indexes:
  • PubMed

    The premier resource for searching the world's scholarly and professional biomedical and health sciences literature (including human nutrition).
  • CAB Abstracts

    The world's leading agricultural research database, covering agriculture in the very broadest sense and including food science and human nutrition. British spellings and terminology are used (e.g. flavour, fibre, sulphate, maize vs. corn, food supplements vs. dietary supplements, etc.).
  • Health & Wellness Resource Center (including Alternative Health Module)

    Provides access to an integrated collection of general interest and fitness magazines, medical and professional periodicals, reference books and pamphlets, including ADA Journal, JAMA, Food Chemical News, Topics in Clinical Nutrition, Prevention, and Vegetarian Journal. Many of the articles are available full-text.
  • AGRICOLA

    U.S. National Agricultural Library's index to the scholarly and trade agricultural literature, including food science and human nutrition. Recently re-scoped to focus primarily on U.S. Department of Agriculture publications and articles/chapters authored by USDA personnel.
Systematic Reviews / Filtered Resources

  • Cochrane Library

    A compilation of five databases designed to provide evidence to help health care providers decide on the best treatment for a condition or disease by identifying all controlled trials of interventions for a particular condition and reviewing the results to see which work best. The included databases are: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness, Cochrane Controlled Trials Register, Cochrane Review Methodology Database, and the Cochrane Collaboration.
  • Essential Evidence Plus (formerly InfoPOEMS/Inforetriever)

    Database of filtered, synopsized, evidence-based information, allowing you to simultaneously search multiple databases across all subjects or by browsing categories such as "Endocrine/Nutritional/Metabolic."
Reference Resources

Encyclopedias/Dictionaries

Dictionary of Food and Nutrition. Oxford Reference Online

Dictionary of Nutraceuticals and Functional Foods. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 2006.
QP 144 .F85 E85 2006 Reference

Diets and Dieting: a Cultural Encyclopedia. New York: Routledge, 2008.
RM 214.5 .G55 2008 Reference

Encyclopedia of Fad Diets. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2003.
RM 222.2 .B535 2003 Reference

Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition. 2nd ed. Boston: Elsevier/Academic Press, 2005.
QP141 .E526 2005 4v. Reference
Major reference work, providing comprehensive coverage of nutritional topics.

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture. New York: Scribner, 2003.
GT 2850 .E53 2003 3v. Reference
Focuses on food habits/sociocultural aspects of food. Also available online.

Encyclopedia of Junk Food and Fast Food. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2006.
TX 370 .S63 2006 Reference

Food and Fitness: a Dictionary of Diet and Exercise. Oxford Reference Online
Includes information on diet methods, food supplements, energy-related terms, exercises for improving weight control, and the calorie requirements of different activities.

Nutrition and Diet Therapy Reference Dictionary. 5th ed. Ames, IA: Blackwell Pub., 2004.
RM 217 .L34 2004 Reference

Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America. New York: Oxford University Press, 2004.
TX 349 .E45 2004 2v. Reference
History and culture of food and drink, covering topics ranging from airline food to fad diets and popular foods such as Kool-Aid, Twinkies, and Spam.

Wiley Encyclopedia of Food Science and Technology. 2nd ed.
This online encyclopedia features A-to-Z coverage of all aspects of food science, including: the properties, analysis, and processing of foods; genetic engineering of new food products; and nutrition.

Food Composition/Nutrient Analysis Information

Bowes and Church's Food Values of Portions Commonly Used. 18th ed. Philadelphia: Lippincott, 2005.
TX551 .F6 Reference Desk
Authoritative data on the nutritional values of foods (e.g. caloric, fat, protein, sugar, cholesterol, vitamin, & mineral content) based on common portion size. Supplementary tables for alcohol content, amino acids, caffeine, iodine, purines, etc.

Food Composition and Nutrition Tables. 7th rev. ed. Boca Raton: CRC Press, 2008.
TX551 .S735 2008 Reference Desk
Provides information on approximately 800 food items with 260 constituents. Contains data on food allergens and pseudo-allergens, trans-fatty acids and special bioactive phenolic compounds.

USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference.
Release 21. A searchable nutrient database for over 7,412 different foods.

Handbooks, Textbooks, Etc.

The Cambridge World History of Food. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2000.
TX353 .C255 2000 2v. Reference
A hefty collection of 170 original essays and some 4,000 entries related to the history of food and nutrition. In Volume 1, significant information is provided for specific staple foods (both domesticated plants and animals), dietary liquids (including breast milk), and nutrients (along with deficiencies, surfeits, and food-related disorders). Volume 2 examines the history and culture of food around the world, nutrition and health, and contemporary food-related policy issues (such as subsidies, RDA's and dietary guidance, food labeling, additives, food safety and biotechnology, and dietary supplements) and provides an historical dictionary of the world's plant foods.

Dietary Guidelines for Americans 2005. U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, 2005.

Dietary Reference Intakes. Tables for elements and vitamins available in PDF form from the National Academy of Sciences Food and Nutrition Board.

Modern Nutrition in Health and Disease. 10th ed. Baltimore: Williams & Wilkins, 2006.
QP141 .M64 2006 Reference
A comprehensive text and reference source for topics in basic and clinical nutrition. Click here for access to latest online edition.

Nutrition and Well-Being A - Z . Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2004.
Examines the relationship between food and health on a historical, national, and personal level.

Nutrition Care Manual . Online from the American Dietetic Association
Research-based nutrition information and clinical tools for dietitians, dietetic technicians, and other health care professionals.

The Oxford Companion to American Food and Drink . New York: Oxford University Press, 2007.
TX 349 .O94 2007 Reference

Herbs and Supplements

The Complete German Commission E Monographs: Therapeutic Guide to Herbal Medicines. 1st ed. Austin; Boston: American Botanical Council; Integrative Medicine Communications, 1998.
RM666 .H33 C66 1998 Reference
Regarded as the authoritative compendium on therapeutic medicinal herbs for health-care professionals, with information on the approved uses, dosage, contraindications, side effects, drug interactions, and pharmacological actions given for 380 herbs and herbal combinations.

Herbal Medicine: Expanded Commission E Monographs. 1st ed. Newton, MA: Integrative Medicine Communications, 2000.
RM666 .H33 H37 2000 Reference
Augments the original German text for approximately 100 herbs commonly sold in the U.S. Includes helpful introductions to and color photographs of each herb, as well as several indices arranged by use, contraindications, and side effects.

International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS) Database
A database of published, international, scientific literature on dietary supplements, including vitamins, minerals, and botanicals. Produced by the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements.

Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database. A source of clinically reliable information on more than 1000 natural medicines, including herbs, dietary supplements, vitamins, minerals, etc.

PDR for Nonprescription Drugs, Dietary Supplements, and Herbs: the Definitive Guide to OTC Medications. 29th ed. Montvale, NJ: Thomson PDR, 2009.
RM671 .A1 P48 Reference
Includes section on natural remedies and nutritional supplements marketed under the DSHEA of 1994. Product information has been prepared by the manufacturer and includes all information designed for informed use.

Review of Natural Products. St. Louis: Facts and Comparisons, 2009.
A comprehensive and up-to-date source of referenced, evaluated, factual information about natural products: history, chemistry, pharmacology, uses, abuses, and toxicities. Searchable online via STAT!REF Medical Library. Select title from textbook list.

Analytical Methods

Approved Methods of the American Association of Cereal Chemists. 10th ed. St. Paul: The Committee, 2000.
TX557 .A54 2000 v. 1-2 Reference

Official Methods and Recommended Practices of the AOCS . 5th ed. Champaign, Ill.: American Oil Chemists' Society, 1998.
TP671 .A49 1998 Reference

Official Methods of Analysis of AOAC International. 18th ed. [Gaithersburg, Md.] : AOAC International, 2005.
S583 .A73 Reference Desk



Useful Web Sites

Other Useful Research Guides



Page Coordinator: Anita Ezzo ezzoa@msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=1161
Last updated: 02-16-2009

© 2006 Michigan State University Board of Trustees. MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity institution.