Link to print-friendly version


Lilly Seminar: Web Site Design

Table of Contents:

Library Print Resources

Library Electronic Resources

  • ACM Digital Library

    The ACM Digital Library is a vast collection of citations and full text from ACM journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings. It contains over 30 publications, all full-text Conference Proceedings, publication archives dating back to the 1950s, over 1 million pages of text, and over 50,000 bibliographic citations.
  • Computer Database

    Computer Database provides full-text and image articles for a wide variety of research applications, including competitive analysis of high tech companies and their products; research on software and hardware; research on industry trends in telecommunications, electronics, robotics; and more.
  • Computer Science Index

    Computer Science Index offers abstracting and indexing of academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources at the highest scholarly and technical levels of computer science. The collection consists of more than 500 periodicals and books, with coverage going back to the mid 1960s. It focuses on subjects such as artificial intelligence, expert systems, system design, data structures, computer theory, computer systems and architecture, software engineering, human-computer interaction, new technologies, social and professional context, and much more.
  • IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL)

    Provides full-text access to all of the publications of the IEEE and IET. Coverage is complete from 1988 to the present. More backfiles will be added as content is digitized.
Free Web-based Resources

  • W3C: The World Wide Web Consortium

    The World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) is a forum for information, commerce, communication, and collective understanding related to the development of interoperable technologies to lead the Web to its full potential. The site provides links for news, technologies, and ways to get involved.
  • MSU Web Accessibility Checklist

    A check list portion of the W3C document, "Checklist of Checkpoints for Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 1.0".
  • HTML Dog: The Best Practice Guide To XHTML and CSS

    HTML Dog is a web designer's resource for everything HTML and CSS, the most common technologies used in making web pages.
  • Webmonkey: The Web Developer's Resource

    A site that's been teaching people how to build websites of their own since 1996, Webmonkey provides tips and tools for web developers at all levels of experience.
  • Lighthouse International

    Founded in 1905, Lighthouse International is a leading non-profit organization that helps people of all ages overcome the challenges of vision loss. Through services, education, research and advocacy, the Lighthouse enables people with low vision and blindness to enjoy safe, independent and productive lives.
  • Section 508: The Road to Accessibility

    Section 508 requires that Federal agencies' electronic and information technology is accessible to people with disabilities. Using this web site, Federal employees and the public can access resources for understanding and implementing the requirements of Section 508.
  • Usability.gov

    Official U.S. Government Web site that provides a guide for developing usable and useful Web sites.
Faculty Development Support at the MSU Libraries

The MSU Libraries are pleased to support the Office of Faculty and Organizational Development and to provide resources that can help enhance faculty teaching, research, outreach, and leadership.

For more information on how you can best take advantage of the resources and services available through the MSU Libraries, please contact the subject specialist librarian in your field. If you're unsure who to contact, just ask a librarian -- we offer a variety of ways to reach us.

Page Coordinator: Angela Maycock maycocka@msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=1208
Last updated: 05-18-2008

© 2006 Michigan State University Board of Trustees. MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity institution.