Link to print-friendly version


Collection Development Policy Statement: Botany

Written by: Emily Barton
Date Drafted: 12/5/2005
Date Revised: 6/2006
Date Revised: 3/2009 by Suzanne Teghtmeyer

I. PURPOSE OR SCOPE OF COLLECTION

A. Curricular, Research and Programmatic Needs:

The MSU Libraries support the research and teaching needs of faculty and students through the doctoral level in the plant sciences. MSU offers degrees in plant biology through the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources. In addition, this collection will support the research needs of the W. J. Beal Botanical Garden and the MSU Herbarium.

B. History of the Collection /Existing Strengths and Emphases

Michigan Agricultural College was established in 1855, and soon after the Department of Botany and Vegetable Physiology in 1859. The department has evolved and continues the study of plant science and pathology. Some areas of collection that are emphasized are basic plant science; structural botany; local, regional and international studies of flora and individual plant species; systematics; plant communities; and physiological ecology. All of the related collections are considered to be historical collections.



II FACTORS INFLUENCING COLLECTION POLICY

A. Anticipated Future Trends

Collecting should follow and anticipate, when possible, major trends and developments in the botanical sciences. An example is the shift in plant taxonomy from the traditional floristic classification system to a molecular-based system. The collection should also reflect significant curricular changes, and adapt with content, format and accessibility considerations.

B. Relationships with Other Resources
Regional or network resources:

There are significant collections in the area of botanical sciences at both the University of Michigan Libraries and at Wayne State University, as well as other CIC institutions.

C. Relationships to Resources Treated in Other Policy Statements

The resources collected in the botanical sciences have a direct relationship to two other collection development policies, Biological Sciences, and Agricultural Sciences. Botany overlaps very closely with plant science as well as other areas covered under Biological Sciences. Overlap will also occur with many agricultural sciences, most especially horticulture and forestry. There is some overlap, as well, with Turfgrass. [The Turfgrass Information Center http://www.lib.msu.edu/tgif/ (TIC), a specialized unit at the Michigan State University Libraries (MSU), contains the most comprehensive publicly available collection of turfgrass educational materials in the world.]



III. ANALYSIS OF THE SUBJECT FIELD

A. Chronology of the Subject:

The collection currently emphasizes newer research, trends, and regional floristic studies. Historical material is purchased to a small degree with endowment funds, although the historical literature in the collection is maintained. Journal literature covers all aspects of the field.

B. Languages of Resources Collected:

Primarily English language materials are currently collected. Historical literature is in a variety of languages, mostly European.

C. Geography of the Subject:

No specific geographic considerations are made when forming this collection. An effort is made, in fact, to have botanical materials for all parts of the world.

D. Format of the Resources Collected:

Professional journal literature (both print and electronic), monographs, government publications, websites, field guides, bibliographies, and other print formats are all collected. There are no restrictions on non-print resources. Due to the high demand for convenient access to information electronic journals are given priority whenever possible.

E. Date of Publication of Resources Collected:

Current research is emphasized. Presently, there is little retrospective collecting.



IV. LEVELS OF COLLECTING INTENSITY

QK 1-989 Botany

Call # Range Subject Level
QK 1-100 General, History, Conservation 3a
QK 101-474 Geographical Distribution 3b
QK 475-495 Seed-Producing Plants - General Aspects 3a
QK 504-635 Seedless Plants - General Aspects 3b
QK 640-899 Plant Anatomy 3b
QK 900-999 Plant Ecology; Evolution 3a


V. COLLECTION MANAGEMENT ISSUES

Specific policies, if any, on replacement, de-selection, out of print acquisition, preservation, etc.
  • Replacement will occur when appropriate for heavily used or high circulation items.
  • Multiple copies are rarely purchased.
  • Rare or out-of-print items are no longer regularly purchased due to lack of funds.
  • Preservation occurs as needed, following the general guidelines established by the MSU Libraries.


This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=1211
Last updated: 03-12-2009

© 2006 Michigan State University Board of Trustees. MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity institution.