Link to print-friendly version


Collection Development Policy Statement: Cesar E. Chavez Collection on Chicano/Boricua Studies

Written by Diana Rivera
Rev. 4/13/07

Table of Contents:

I. DEFINITION:

This circulating collection is comprised of newer publications, classics and some reference materials. It will be periodically reviewed for currency, to accommodate additions to the collection, and weeding as required based on weeding guidelines established for this collection



II. PURPOSE:

In combination with other Chicano and Puerto Rican (Boricua) Studies material in main and its branches, the Chavez Collection will support the courses of study offered by the University at the undergraduate and graduate levels in the areas of Chicano Studies and Puerto Rican Studies, and will provide resource material needed to support independent scholarly research.



III. GENERAL COLLECTION GUIDELINES:

A. Languages: English is the primary language of the collection. Works published in German, French and Italian are purchased when available in English or Spanish translation.

B. Chronological Guidelines: Materials from the early Spanish explorers of the sixteenth century to the present are acquired.

C. Geographical Guidelines: Inclusive of United States boundaries and the United States-Mexico borderlands. Titles pertaining to the experiences of Chicanos and Boricua's abroad will also be included.

D. Treatment of Subject: All materials dealing with any aspect of Chicanos and Puerto Ricans in the United States at any level are acquired. Exceptional juvenile titles may be included based on the importance of the author's standing in Chicano/Boricua Studies. Works which treat historical, social, cultural, and political aspects of Chicanos and Puerto Ricans in the U.S. are especially of interest. In particular, material dealing with Chicano/Boricua migrants, farm workers and Cesar Chavez, will be collected.

E. Types of Materials: In addition to the monographs and serials, the Libraries acquires conference proceedings on Chicano or Boricua issues, publications of Chicano and Latino research centers, reports of private or quasi-public agencies, publications of Chicano and Latino professional organizations and all types of audiovisual materials-sound recordings, videocassette, slides etc. (especially those unique and locally produced items) -posters, theses and dissertations, relevant government documents (especially state and federal), and ephemeral. Non-book materials/titles will be housed in the appropriate locations (audio-video in DMC, ephemera in SPC, etc.)

F. Date of Publication: Emphasis is on current works, but retrospective works are also acquired.

G. Duplicate copies will be given consideration based on title, cost, use and availability.



IV. COOPERATIVE COLLECTION BY SUBJECT AND LC CLASSIFICATION:

[NOTE: Materials relating to Chicano and Boricua studies in any and all subject areas and subject subdivisions are also collected by the Ethnic Studies Bibliographer and Latin American Studies Bibliographer. In addition, subject specialists such as the Fire Arts Librarian; Music Librarian, Special Collections Librarian, etc. contribute to the overall development of the Chicano and Boricua Studies collection. The classification numbers listed below are those at which substantial quantities of materials are found; however, due to the scope of the collection, the listing is not all-inclusive. The location and pertinent bibliographer is also noted.]

Subject: L Class Location Bibliographer/ CDP @ Research Level
Mexican Americans
General Works
E 184.M5 MAIN DHR
Mexican Americans in Michigan/Midwest F 395.M5 MAIN DHR
U.S./Mexico border lands (Primary U.S. imprints) F 786-787 MAIN MJZ/DHR
Art N 6538.M4 FINE ARTS MBD/TW/DHR
Theater PN 2270.M48 MAIN MR/DHR
Literature (includes literary history and criticism; Mexican American authors; poetry; drama PS 153.M4
PS 508.M4;
PS 3551-3576
PS 591.M4
PS 628.M4
MAIN MR/DHR
Public Health RA 448.5 M5 MAIN JC/DHR
Bibliography Z 1361.M4 MAIN MAT/DHR
Puerto Ricans on the mainland E 184.P85 MAIN DHR
Literature (including Latino authors-Puerto Rican authors) PS 508.H57;
PS 3551-3576
MAIN DHR
Religion (Primarily the history of Christianity in the U.S. and Catholicism as it relates to Chicanos, Puerto Ricans and other Latinos BR 563;
BX 1407
MAIN AW/DHR
Genealogy (Particularly that of Southwestern U.S. and the U.S./Mexico borderlands; includes works dealing with research methodology) CS 1-110 MAIN MEU/DHR
Folklore (Primarily Chicano and Puerto Rican folklore of the U.S.) GR 111 MAIN DF/DHR
Labor (Generally limited to U.S. imprints of works on Chicano, Puerto Rican and Latino migrants and agricultural Laborers, and Hispanic alien and minority labor in the U.S.) HD 1525
HD 1527
HD 8081
MAIN LL/DHR
Immigration (Generally limited to U.S. imprints of works on Latin American migration to the U.S., and Hispanic American immigrant communities) JV 6200-7539 MAIN JH/DHR
Education (includes the education of Mexican Americans and Puerto Ricans and the bilingual education of Spanish speaking children) L 2667-2698
L 3701-3740
MAIN KC/DHR


Page Coordinator: Diana Rivera huizarri@msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=1226
Last updated: 05-01-2007

© 2006 Michigan State University Board of Trustees. MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity institution.