Collection Development Policy Statement: Anthropology |
Drafted by: Denise A. Forro
Date Drafted: November 20, 1998
Date Revised: November 3, 2009
Last Reviewed Date: October 20, 2006
Table of Contents:
|
I. Purpose or Scope of Collection
A. Curricular/Research/Programmatic needs Anthropology, in the narrowest sense of the word, is the science of man. In the current sense of the word, it brings together many disciplines: cultural (social) anthropology, physical anthropology, archaeology and linguistics. In addition, each sub-discipline has numerous subdivisions, of which folklore is one. The Department offers a BA or BS undergraduate degree and two graduate degrees, an MA and a Ph.D. The department offers a new master's degree, Professional Applications of Anthropology, and new materials for this program may be needed. Special program emphases include: "agriculture and the environment; social inequality and social institutions; public policy and cultural impact assessment; systems of communication and meaning; and medical and legal issues". A particular program of importance is the Culture/Resources/Power Concentration in Sociocultural Anthropology. In addition, the Department offers field course work in archaeology. Finally, there is a strong connection between the Anthropology Department and the MSU Museum, with many Anthropology faculty holding adjunct positions on the Museum staff. B. History of the Collection/Existing Strengths and Emphases To support instruction, teaching, and research for undergraduate, graduate, and post-graduate programs in cultural (social) anthropology, physical anthropology, linguistics, and archaeology. Major areas of interest are Africa, Asia, Latin America and the Caribbean, and the North America. Specific subjects areas include: medical anthropology, cultural change, and language. Archaeology and folklore continue to be areas of research interest. II. Factors Influencing Collection Policy A. Anticipated Future Trends Changes in curriculum, changes in faculty, and new interests in the development of the many subdivisions as a strength will influence the Collection. For example, physical anthropology has been subdivided into specialized areas of study, such as, biological anthropology, skeletal biology, and forensic anthropology. Of special note, the Culture/Resources/Power Concentration in Sociocultural Anthopology program needs to be closely monitored. B. Relationships with other resources Anthropology is an interdisciplinary field of study. New and developing fields within other disciplines will require a new method for identifying appropriate tools for selection and evaluation. Working with other related campus resources will ensure strong support for MSU programs. The Anthropology Department currently has links with the following programs and departments: Latin American and Caribbean Studies Center, the African Studies Center, the Center for Women in Development, the Center for Advanced Studies in International Development, the School of Criminal Justice, the Department of Parks, Recreation and Tourism. In particular, a close tie exists between the Department and the MSU Museum.
The MSU Museum with its excellent collections in Folk Art enriches the program. The Anthropology Department's reading room offers students and researchers an in-house resource of materials. Since many of the faculty of the Anthropology Department are adjunct faculty at the Museum, many of the resources selected with Anthropology are valuable tools for the Museum. C. Relationships to Resources Treated in Other Policy Statements
Classical Studies purchases materials on Greek and Roman archaeology. Anthropology funds will handle all other materials and New World archaeology. Any materials on medical anthropology must be purchased through Anthropology funds. Coordinate activities with the bibliographer for Ethnic Studies as necessary. Coordinate activities with the bibliographer for Religion on a title-by-title basis. III. Analysis of the Subject Field A. Chronology of the Subject: Emphasis/Restrictions There are no limitations – all periods are selected. However emphasis is on recent studies and revisions of older theories (e.g., revised editions of older works). In certain cases, reprint or microfilm editions can replace classical works. B. Languages of Resources Collected: Exclusions/Emphases/ Translations English and major Western European languages are preferred. Significant publications in Slavic and non-European languages should be acquired by the specialists in these languages. Materials in vernacular languages from Africa, Latin America, Asia and other areas will be selected by appropriate bibliographers, or by faculty with competence in these areas or languages. For works where an English translation is or becomes available, the English language edition will be favored or acquired as an additional copy. It should be noted that most of the current English language materials are acquired on approval plans using an appropriate profile. C. Geography of the Subject: Emphasis/Restrictions All regions of the world will be considered, and all materials of major importance selected, e.g., general works of various regions in the entire field of Anthropology, as outlined in above. Since Anthropology is interdisciplinary – concerned with all aspects of man – and in view of the division of selection responsibilities, coordination is of utmost importance. Traditional methods of selection may not be adequate to provide adequate inclusion of possible pieces published by other disciplines that may apply. Special consideration should be given for the acquisition of such publications. D. Format of the Resources Collected: Restrictions if any Books and monographs published by major publishing houses, research institutes, university presses, and departments – including such publications as ethnographic reports, theoretical development reports, major site (digging) reports, symposia and proceedings of scholarly societies, biographies and correspondence of famous anthropologists, archaeologists, linguists, etc. Purchase of scholarly reference works and encyclopedias should be coordinated with the selector for the reference collection. Subscriptions for newspapers and periodicals should be carefully considered and purchased if appropriate funding is available. Electronic or Online databases will be considered and purchased as appropriate and if adequate funds are available. Theses, dissertations, textbooks, workbooks, pamphlets (of less than 50 pages), records, tapes, films or slides are not collected. In case of need, such materials could be acquired, if requests and support come from faculty or specific researchers and if funds are available. E. Date of Publication of Resources Collected: Emphases if any Emphases should be on current publications. See also III, C and D. IV. Levels of Collecting Intensity Levels: 0) Not collected 1)Basic layperson 2)Undergraduate 3)Research 4)Comprehensive
V. Collection Management Issues Specific policies, if any on replacement, deselection, out of print acquisition, preservation, etc. A. Replace items that have been lost or stolen if still available. Especially if the item is necessary for one of the fields of study offered by the department. B. Duplicates should not be retained. Determine the usage of the piece and then deselect items that are the most worn. Page Coordinator: Denise Forro forro@mail.lib.msu.edu This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=1229 Last updated: 11-03-2009 |
