Link to print-friendly version


Holly's Maternity Leave Manual

Last updated July 6, 2006

Introduction


I will be on maternity leave from approximately July 10, 2006 until September 25, 2006 (i.e., I will be off for twelve weeks after having the baby). This manual explains what I normally do on a daily basis, how it might be handled when I am gone, and to whom questions should be referred. You will not be asked to do any of my normal duties, and I will remain in contact by email and phone for the duration of my leave.


Contacts


Holly Flynn: flynnhol@msu.edu 517-XXX-XXXX (home)

I am available by email (first preference) and telephone. If you are not sure who to refer a particular question or issue to, please email me and I will deal with it. However, I will probably only check my email every other day or so. If it is urgent, please call.

Tom XXXXXXX: XXXXX@msu.edu XXX-XXXX

Tom is available to answer math and statistics reference questions (email, in person, telephone).

Anita XXXX: XXXX@msu.edu XXX-XXXX ext. XXX

Anita is available to help with collections issues. This involves questions about buying or cancelling books and journals.

Nancy XXXXX: XXXX@msu.edu XXX-XXXX

Nancy is available to help with facilities issues and management issues. This involves anything concerning the day-to-day operations of the Math and IC Libraries.


Reference


Tom XXXX has agreed to be my reference back-up while I am away. Please refer all math and statistics reference questions to him. These could come via email, phone call or drop-in patron.

I normally do one email reference shift per week for Main Library Reference. I will not be doing this while on leave. However, sometimes people write in with a math question that is referred to me. I will let Main Library Reference know to refer these types of questions to Tom.

Math and statistics questions can be answered with the assistance of these research guides:

http://www.lib.msu.edu/branches/mth/resources.shtml

There is one for math, one for statistics, one for mathematician biographies, etc. The research guide for math includes instructions on how to use MathSciNet, the major database for research in mathematics.

Typical reference questions I receive:

1. Why can’t I get to this journal article online? (usually happens for Elsevier/ScienceDirect titles. Remind them that we only have access to 1995-present).
2. Do you have this journal article in English? (use the MathSciNet journals database to see if we have a translation journal).
3. I need a biography of a famous mathematician. (Use the research guide. We have many books on reference that can help with this).
4. I am a PhD student in some other discipline. I have collected all this data for my thesis and now have no idea how to analyze it. (Refer them to CSTAT. We also have lots of statistical analysis books on reserve).
5. How many times has my paper been cited? (Use Web of Science).
6. I don’t understand how to use this feature in Lon-CAPA. (Refer them to http://loncapa.msu.edu/student/ ).
7. Do you have this book/journal? (often asked by older faculty who haven’t learned how to use MAGIC. Check MAGIC for them, then check WorldCat to see if U of M has it. Some of them go there several times a month to browse. Tell them about ILL, but they may ignore you).
8. Can you help me find this citation? (Many math citations use a journal abbreviation. Use the journal database in MathSciNet to figure out the full journal title).
9. MAGIC says we’re supposed to have electronic access to this journal but I can’t access it. (Try for yourself, then refer to Diane XXXXX. Or sometimes they are working from home and don’t have the proxy turned on).
10. I need a table of [prime numbers, Fibonacci numbers, etc.]. (Use the CRC Handbook of Mathematical Tables in reference).


Collections


I hope to keep up with some of my collections work while I am at home, but here are a few things that might come up:

Buying Books: If a faculty member requests that a particular book be purchased, please email me and I will order it from home.

I periodically get small yellow slips from Yankee Book Peddler. I pass these out to the members of library committee, who rank them and let me know which ones they think I should buy. By the time I leave, I will have all outstanding yellow slips out to the library committee. Should they return them to me before I return from leave, I will come in and retrieve them and order them from home.

Journal Cancellations: Journal cancellations are normally done during the summer months. I do not anticipate needing to cancel any titles this summer so this should not be an issue.

Occasionally, a proposal comes up to switch from print to electronic-only journals from a particular publisher. Steve XXXXX doesn’t anticipate anything like this coming up this summer. If something does, I can deal with it from home. I will email the library committee to get their views on it and make the appropriate decisions from there.

Real Analysis Exchange: MSU Press publishes a journal called Real Analysis Exchange, which is edited by Clifford XXXXX, associate chair of the Math Department. We send this journal out to about 50 foreign universities, and they send us their locally published math journal in exchange. In late May, I help prepare a JVE for Acquisitions in order to make this happen. However, sometimes MSU Press calls with questions. If this happens, please tell them that I am on maternity leave, and refer them to Cliff XXXXX (XXX@math.msu.edu) and Kay XXXXX (XXX@msu.edu). They should know what to do.

Tomber Endowment: The Math Library has an endowment, and each year we are allowed to spend some money from it on books and other materials. Normally in the summer months Belinda asks me to write up a list of materials purchased with this money so that she can send a thank you note to Beanie Tomber. I will draw up this list before I go and leave it with the Main Office, but if any questions come up, please just tell them that I am on maternity leave and give them my email address.

Gifts: Occasionally, people want to donate books to the Math Library. If this happens, the standard thing to tell them is that we need a list of the books that they want to give us. Once they give us a list, I usually check it against MAGIC and cross off any duplicates. I tell them that we cannot accept duplicate titles, but that we do have a “free books” shelf in the Math Library if they would like to give the books away. Books that are not duplicates should be put in my office on the shelf marked “gifts.”

Vendors: Occasionally vendors will call, trying to sell me a particular electronic title or book. Please just tell them that I am on maternity leave and will return in mid-October.


Instruction


In August, I give a tour of the Math Library to new teaching assistants in the Math department. This year, the Math Department is allowing me to give a “virtual tour” of the library using a Breeze presentation. This will be shown in the seminar room on the third floor. I will arrange with Steve XXXXX (XXX@math.msu.edu ) to set it up and run it.

During the summer, I often help with AOP fairs. I won’t be doing that this year. If anyone asks if I can work for them, I cannot. The same applies to the fall Study Abroad fair.

I also normally conduct a B.I. for six sections of WRAC 110: Issues in Science and Technology. If any professors stop by or call to arrange this, please tell them I am on maternity leave and will be available for B.I.s after October 2nd. Then please give them my email address and refer them to Stephanie XXXX in Library Instruction.

I also normally teach several sessions of EndNote for LCTTP during each semester. I will not be available to teach any sessions until at least October. Occasionally, I get a phone call from someone who had a class with me in the past, when they have a question about using EndNote. Please refer these questions to Leslie XXXX.


Faculty Liaison


In the fall, I send out a letter to all new faculty, visiting instructors, and visiting scholars in the Department of Mathematics and in the Department of Statistics and Probability. I will try to get a list of these names and send them out before I leave. If any of them come in with questions, please give them my card and I will try to answer them via email.


Facilities Issues


If it is possible, try to get Denise to clean the carpet sometime in August, so that it is fresh for the new school year.

If something goes wrong with the 3M system, please call 1-800-XXX-XXXX. Select option #1. Our service agreement number is XXXX, the model number is XXXX, and our serial number is XXXX.

If any designers come in asking about the carpeting and shelving estimates for next summer, please refer them to Susie XXXX.

We may be getting a new circulation desk this summer. If this happens, please consult with Nancy XXXX and give me a call.

Otherwise, facility issues should be copied in an email to Nancy XXXX.


ICL Issues


The art display is supposed to be changed out in August. I will follow up with Jay XXXX (XXX@msu.edu) to make sure this is done. He may need access to the ICL during this time.

The lobby of the International Center is supposed to be remodeled this summer. This includes removing the small display cases from outside ICL and installing soft seating. If there are any questions about this, please refer them to Nancy XXXX.

We normally meet with the ICL Future Use Committee in the fall semester. If anyone asks, I am on maternity leave until October and we will convene a meeting then.

We are looking into getting fake plants and new trash bins for the entrance. If anyone comes to deliver these, they will need access to the room.

The roof of the International Center is being repaired. If it is not done by the end of the summer, the crew will need to be reminded not to make any noise near ICL during class time.


Writing


I normally write book reviews for E-Streams and ARBA. If any books are delivered while I am away, please email me and I will come pick them up.

I will also be working on a self-paced indexing class while I am at home. If the instructor calls with questions, please give her my email address.


Committee Work


I am on the following committees:

Math Library Committee
ICL Future Use Committee
Disaster Mitigation Committee
Branch Safety Committee
SLA local chapter Board of Directors

I will notify all of these people to let them know when I will be gone. If anyone should call with a question, please remind them that I am on maternity leave and give them my email address.

Our local SLA chapter is dissolving and merging with the larger Michigan Chapter. Some members of our chapter may call with questions about this procedure. Please refer them to our president, June XXXX (XXXX@usdoj.gov).

The Branch Safety Committee usually conducts safety training for students and staff in early September. I will not be available for that this year.


Web Work


This will mainly consist of keeping the Math Library news blog up to date. I can do some of this from home. You can also update it if anything comes up, such as special hours during the first week of classes, etc.

http://blogpublic.lib.msu.edu/index.php?blog=9

The user name and password are both XXXX


Management Issues


I normally do Christine’s annual evaluation over the summer. If I get the form on time, I will do this before I leave. If not, perhaps Nancy XXXX can assist with this. I will leave notes of anything I think is pertinent.



Page Coordinator: Holly Flynn flynnhol@msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=1230
Last updated: 06-01-2007

© 2006 Michigan State University Board of Trustees. MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity institution.