This research guide is to help identify basic dictionaries, handbooks, encyclopedias and online databases and indexes on the APA experience. It includes primary and secondary print, digital, microform and audio/visual resources available at the MSU Libraries. The scope of the contents include current and historical materials.
[Return to Top]
Indexes & Full Text Databases
There are several major indexes and full text databases that include the experiences of this diverse group. In addition to FIRSTSEARCH, JSTOR, PROQUEST AND WilsonSelectPlus these other titles are useful:
- Expanded Academic ASAP
Expanded Academic ASAP� provides coverage of 3,000 indexed and 1,900 full-text titles in a wide variety of disciplines including: social science journals, humanities journals, science and technology journals, national news periodicals, general interest magazines, newswires, The New York Times and many others. More than 1,400 journals are peer reviewed, and more than 20 years of backfile coverage are included.
- ERL (WebSPIRS/SilverPlatter)
Includes the following databases and files:
AGRICOLA
AGRIS
Allied and Complementary Alternative Medicine (AMED)
Atlantes (Sport Discus)
BA (Biological Abstracts)
Biological Abstracts
BIOSIS
CAB Abstracts
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Fulltext Reference
Catalogue du Musée Olympique (Sport Discus)
CINAHL
Criminal Justice Abstracts
ERIC
Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA)
GeoRef
Heracles (Sport Discus)
International Political Science Abstracts
MEDLINE
MLA Directory of Periodicals
MLA International Bibliography
National Association of Social Workers Clinical Register
Philosopher's Index
PsycARTICLES via PsycINFO
PsycINFO including PsycARTICLES
RSP Funding for Graduate Students
RSP Funding for Postdoctorates and Professionals
RSP Funding for Undergraduates
Serline
Social Work Abstracts Plus
SPORT Discus
Tree-CD
Zoological Record
- LexisNexis Academic
The LEXIS service contains major archives of federal and state case law, continuously updated statutes of all 50 states, state and federal regulations and public records from major U.S. states. The NEXIS service is a leading news and business information service which contains more than 7,100 sources, of which 3,700 provide their entire publications online.
- Periodicals Index Online
Periodicals Contents Index (PCI) contains more than 1 million citations to articles in more than 3,000 journals from 1770-1995. These journals represent popular and scholarly titles in the humanities and social sciences. 1,000,000 citations are added annually. Although it is not yet complete, PCI Full Text is a growing repository of full-text articles enabling one to go directly from the bibliographic citation to the full text article.
- Web of Science
Includes the Institute for Scientific Information Citation Indexes - Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. It indexes science, social sciences, and arts and humanities information from nearly 9,300 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
Additional newspaper resources (indexes, bibliographies and unionlists) can be found in the MSU Library catalog using the following keywords:
JAPANESE AMERICAN NEWSPAPERS or KOREAN AMERICAN NEWSPAPERS, etc.
In addition, use the Center for Research Libraries link or other libraries. For assistance, contact a reference librarian.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Coverage begins in 1990.
- America History and Life
Provides access to articles, book reviews, and dissertations in American and Canadian history.
- Trial Resources
Remember to also check for resources of interest at this site.
[Return to Top]
Microformats
There are several microfilm titles on the Asian American experience. They can be found by searching the Libraries catalog or databases such as WORLDCAT as a title search, or part of a subject or key word search. Microfilm may also be available to you as part of an Inter-Library Loan request through the Center for Research Libraries. Please check with the reference desk or the Ethnic Studies Bibliographer.
[Return to Top]
Audio Resources
The G. Robert Vincent Voice Library is a collection of over 40,000 hours of spoken word recordings, dating back to 1888.
[Return to Top]
Video Resources [Digital & Multi-media Center & Services]
The DMC multimedia collection features computer software packages, videocassettes, CD-ROMs, videodiscs, DVDs, LP records, audio cassettes, audio CDs and reel-to-reel audio tapes. There are about 10,000 items, acquired as purchases or gifts, over the past thirty years. Use the KEY WORD "videorecording" with searches PARTICULAR POPULATIONS such as "Japanese Americans videorecording", or "Filipino Americans videorecording". Use the KEY WORDS "ASIAN AMERICANS VIDEORECORDING" for general recordings on the larger group.
- Services
SCANNING AND OPTICAL CHARACTER RECOGNITION
DMC staff provide free assistance with scanning to MSU library patrons.
TEXT ENCODING AND AUDIO TRANSCRIPTIONS
DMC staff have hands-on experience with using several varieties of markup languages to prepare text and audio transcriptions for dissemination on the web. In particular, we use two SGML/XML tagsets: TEI (Text Encoding Initiative), designed for literary works and primary historical materials, and Trans-13, which was developed for transcriptions of audio files.
Anyone with questions about copyright law should consult with the director of the the Digital and Multimedia Center. These are purely informational consultations: we cannot provide legal advice.
COPYRIGHT PERMISSION
The DMC also assists in obtaining permissions from rights holders for MSU faculty who need to use materials in a course or other work-related project. Requests for permissions may be submitted using our Online Permissions Request Form.
-
- SCANNING AND OPTICAL CHARACTER RECOGNITION
DMC staff provide free assistance with scanning to MSU library patrons.
- TEXT ENCODING AND AUDIO TRANSCRIPTIONS
DMC staff have hands-on experience with using several varieties of markup languages to prepare text and audio transcriptions for dissemination on the web. In particular, we use two SGML/XML tagsets: TEI (Text Encoding Initiative), designed for literary works and primary historical materials, and Trans-13, which was developed for transcriptions of audio files.
- COPYRIGHT PERMISSION
The DMC also assists in obtaining permissions from rights holders for MSU faculty who need to use materials in a course or other work-related project. Requests for permissions may be submitted using our Online Permissions Request Form.
[Return to Top]
Maps, Atlases and other Cartographic Resources
- About the MSU Map Library
The Map Library houses a collection of general and thematic maps and atlases for most areas of the world. The collection consists of approximately 200,000 sheet maps and 4,000 atlases, gazetteers and other reference aids including wall maps, globes, CDs and Internet-accessible resources.
The collection is especially strong in Michigan topics, United States, Canada, Africa, Asia, and Latin America, though all areas of the world are collected at some level.
- ATLASES
Atlases of the United States and other countries (Japan, China, Vietnam, Mexico, Cuba, etc.) may include general and/or thematic content. National atlases are a good source for information on the historical, cultural, demographic, political and social experiences of populations. In addition other thematic atlases may provide specific information for populations such as women and children. The following are an example of the more useful atlases to consult. Newer editions may not be available, but these older titles provide a snapshot of numbers, events, etc. for specific time periods.
-
- The National Atlas of the United States of America.
The older editions in paper copy are available in the Map Library. This U.S. Department of the Interior atlas is available via the Internet. According to their website: "the single best Federal source for national maps and geographic information on the Web. The people and places of the United States are here."
- Atlas of American Diversity
Contents African Americans -- Asian Pacific Americans -- Hispanic Americans -- Native Americans -- Non-Hispanic Whites/European Americans. Includes statistical data.
- We the People: An Atlas of America's Ethnic Diversity
Information on race, ethnicity and populations in the 1980's.
Search the Libraries catalog for other atlases on the Asian American experience using the following subject heading: Asian Americans -- History -- Maps.
- Atlas of Asian-American history / Monique Avakian
Coverage includes:
The Asian heritage,short history of a continent, as well as topics such as the Chinese in the 19th Century America, Asian Immigration and the Chinese Exclusion act, citizenship history from 1910-1946; Japanese relocation, the Korean War; the "Red Scare", etc.
- Other Map Sites - Perry-Castañeda Library, U of T - Austin
from the PCL website: "The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection (PCL 1.306) is a general collection of more than 250,000 maps covering all areas of the world. Many of the maps are included in our online catalog, UTNetCAT. More than 5,000 map images from our collection are also available online. " Most CIA maps of countries and regions are copyright free, other maps on this site may not be. In addition links to maps of continents, countries, territories, regions, oceans and seas are also provided.
[Return to Top]
E Resources
- eHRAF: HRAF Collection of Ethnography
A collection of ethnographic and other texts indexed by culture and subject. Cultures covered in this database are of two types: l. traditional cultures 2. North American ethnic groups. Each
annual installment contains about 50,000 pages of text as well as photographs, illustrations,
charts, cultural summaries and bibliographic data.
- Net Library
The MSU Libraries offers more than 10,000 electronic books, or eBooks, through our membership in the Michigan Library Consortium. Trade and university press materials, as well as popular materials are included.
[Return to Top]
Primary Resources and links to other libraries
- Asian America (Special Collections Radicalism File)
Tracing the history of Asian Americans in the U.S., this digital collection includes information about the regulation of Chinese immigration in the late 19th century and, illustrated by impressive photographs, the internment of more than 100,000 people of Japanese ancestry during the World War II. All documents can be found in the MSU Libraries, Special Collections, American Radicalism Collection.
- Life Interrupted: The Japanese American Experience In WWII Arkansas
Those who insist the government would never use mandatory registration of the foreign-born to wrongly imprison visitors to our country need only take a virtual stroll through this Flash
site to see what was, in fact, done to actual American citizens whose only crime was their Japanese descent.
Source: USA Today Hot Site, Jan. 14, 2003
[Return to Top]
Other collections at the MSU Libraries that may be of interest and use include:
[Return to Top]
Fine Arts Library (Visual Arts & Music)
[Return to Top]
Government Documents Library
[Return to Top]
Special Collections Library
[Return to Top]
Useful Web Sites
- Library of Congress
American Memory provides web access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.... materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
from: http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/about/index.html
History
[Return to Top]
Page Coordinator: Diana Rivera huizarri@msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=1237
Last updated: 05-14-2007
|