MSU Budget and Salaries
MSU
Budgetary Information & Salary Schedules (2
parts)
LD3245 .M03 M53
(Latest edition in Closed Reference)
|
Use
when looking for… |
| Contains
the university's entire budget and salaries for the year (summaries
for each organizational unit as well as university totals).
Does NOT contain the most recent salary adjustments/raises
for the following: faculty and academic staff, executive management,
and clerical technical (which go into effect October 1 of
the year). Arranged by unit, faculty, and then non-faculty. Link to Catalog Record |
- The
current university budget (university totals) after its
approval, usually in July
- Budget
summaries for each organizational unit
- Salaries
of MSU employees (until library receives the MSU
Faculty and Academic Staff Salary List)
|
MSU
Faculty and Academic Staff Salary List
LD 3245 .M03 M532
(Latest edition in Closed Reference)
|
Use
when looking for… |
| Contains
the salaries of faculty and academic staff. Names are listed
alphabetically within rank in their respective departments.
This contains the most current information on the salaries
of the faculty and academic staff since it contains the
salary adjustments/raises instituted after October 1 of
the academic year. (Although figures go into effect on October 1, the Library does not usually received copies of the new budget for several months.) Link to Catalog Record |
- The
most current salaries of faculty and academic staff
|
MSU
Budgetary Information & Salary Schedules
Special Edition (2 parts)
LD3245 .M03 M53
(Latest edition in Closed Reference) |
Use
when looking for… |
| Published
as a supplement to the MSU Budgetary Information &
Salary Schedules in early spring (usually sometime
after February). Contains updates to support staff salaries
not available when the MSU Budgetary Information &
Salary Schedules was published (in late summer). Does
NOT contain faculty and academic staff information or salaries. Link to Catalog Record
|
- Updates
to support staff salaries
|
Faculty Compensation: Nationwide Trends
- American Association of University Professors (AAUP) Salary Survey
Lists average faculty salaries "arranged by academic rank at more than 1,400 colleges, universities, and multicampus systems." Data is available from 1999-2004. Users may search the lists by keyword. Also allows users to search by state, type of institution, and by year.
- Bureau of Labor Statistics: Wages, Earnings & Benefits
The BLS provides a large amount of information on the wages, earnings, and benefits of workers, including postsecondary educators. Information is categorized by geographic area (national, regional, state, metropolitan area, or county data), occupation, industry, and additional categories such as age, sex, or union membership in some cases. National estimates, along with industry, state, and metropolitan profiles provide the top paying industries, states, and metropolitan areas for each occupation, as well as the areas and industries of highest concentration for each occupation. Customized tables are also available.
- CQ's State Fact Finder
Provides salary averages of associate professors at "Flagship State Universities." Information is presented alphabetically by state. Also provides a separate list that ranks states in order by average salary.
- Digest of Education Statistics
Based mostly upon surveys and activities carried out by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), provides numerous data on full-time and part-time instructional faculty at two-year and four-year degree-granting institutions. Salary data includes average base and annual salaries of full-time instructional faculty on 9-month contracts by various characteristics such as age, sex, rank, institution, field of instruction, and state. Average salaries available from 1970-2000.
- Professional Pay: Resources on Higher Education Faculty and Staff Salaries
Resources, reports, and surveys from the National Education Association (NEA) Almanac of Higher Education containing summaries and extensive analysis of recent data on college and university faculty salaries. Issues covered include gender discrimination, the relationship between salary and rank, and the relationship between salary and academic specialization.
- Salary Wizard at Salary.com
The Salary Wizard provides access to average salaries of jobs in many categories, including higher education. Provides average salaries (in graph and table formats), bonuses, and benefits by state/metro area and job category/job title. Also allows comparison of state/metro averages to national averages. Data is proprietary and is based on employer-reported data found in "the most current compensation survey reports," which Salary.com purchases from "well-recognized, reputable compensation consulting firms."
- Employees in Postsecondary Institutions, Fall 2005, and Salaries of Full-Time Instructional Faculty, 2005-06
Produced by the National Center for Education Statistics, this report includes "data on the number of staff employed in Title IV postsecondary institutions in fall 2005 by primary occupational activity, length of contract/teaching period, employment status, salary class interval, faculty and tenure status, academic rank, race/ethnicity, and gender. Also included are tables on the number of full-time instructional faculty employed in Title IV postsecondary institutions in 2005-06 by length of contract/teaching period, academic rank, gender, and average salaries."
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
The U.S. Census Bureau compiles a wide variety of education statistics from various sources, including average salaries for college faculty members by rank at public and private institutions.
Selected Discipline-Specific Salary Surveys
- American Psychological Association (APA) Center for Psychology Workforce Analysis and Research (CPWAR)
Provides several reports of salaries in the field of psychology, including faculty salaries.
- Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) Salary Survey Report
"This report provides detailed statistical information (mean, median, maximum, minimum, percentiles) about the business school faculty and administrative salaries by rank/position, field, accreditation status, and institutional control (public vs. private). The report also provides separate information for new hires. Currently available: US version and Canadian version (in cooperation with the Canadian Federation of Business School Deans)." The Executive Summary is available online for free. The entire report and reports from previous years can be purchased from this site.
- Association of Research Libraries (ARL) Annual Salary Survey
Provides data and summary information about recent salary trends for ARL U.S. and Canadian university libraries, ARL medical and law libraries, and non-university ARL libraries. Includes variables such as (among others) years of experience, job title, library size and geographic area.
- Report on Medical School Faculty Salaries
Provides extensive data on medical school faculty salaries by type of school (public vs. private), departments, regions of the U.S., and degree and rank.
Page Coordinator: Kara Rawlins gustk@msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=1240
Last updated: 12-28-2007
|