I. Purpose or Scope of the Collection
II. Factors Influencing Collection Policy
- A. Anticipated Future Trends
Collecting should follow and anticipate, when possible, major trends and developments in environmental science and policy. The collection should also reflect significant curricular changes.
- B. Relationships with Other Resources
Regional or Network Resources
There are collections in the area of environmental science and policy at both the University of Michigan Libraries and at Wayne State University, as well as other CIC institutions.
- C. Relationships to Other Resources Treated in Other Policy Statements
Agriculture, Anthropology, Biological Sciences/Natural History, Engineering, Gull Lake Library, Natural Resources, Political Science/Public Policy, Sociology
III. Analysis of the Subject Field
- A. Chronology of the Subject
The collection emphasis is on current research and trends, but materials that focus on historical topics are also considered.
- B. Languages of Resources Collected
The collection comprises primarily English language materials.
- C. Geography of the Subject
The primary collection emphasis is on North American and regional works.
- D. Format of Resources Collected
All appropriate formats, including print, electronic, and microforms, are considered. Print and electronic materials are the primary formats of the collection. Due to the high demand for convenient access to information, electronic journals are given priority whenever possible.
Textbooks are rarely purchased and only if they provide a valuable current synthesis of a complex or developing area of study; subsequent editions of texts very selectively.
- E. Date of Publications Collected
The collection emphasis is on current publications.
IV. Levels of Collecting Intensity
| Call # Range |
Subject |
Level |
| GE 1-350 |
Environmental sciences (environmental education, environmental policy, environmentalism, environmental justice, environmental management) |
3c |
| GF 1-900 |
Human ecology |
3a |
| HC 79.E5 |
Environmental policy and economic development; Sustainable development |
3a |
| QC981.8.C5 |
Climatic changes |
3a |
| QC981.8.G56 |
Global warming |
3a |
| TD169-171.8 |
Environmental protection |
3a |
| TD172-193.5 |
Environmental pollution |
3a |
| TD194-195 |
Environmental effects of industries and plants |
3a |
V. Collection Management Issues
Policies in effect for preservation, replacement, and weeding for Main Library stacks materials apply to the Environmental Studies collection. Decisions about replacement are made on a case by case basis. Replacements are purchased usually only when appropriate for heavily used or high circulation items.
Multiple copies are rarely purchased unless of extreme importance or MSU faculty publications. Multiple copies of outdated monographs are usually not retained.
Page Coordinator: Jon Harrison harris23@msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=1265
Last updated: 05-15-2008
|