Collection Development Policy Statement: Food Science & Human Nutrition |
|
I. Purpose or Scope of Collection
A. Curricular/Research/Programmatic Needs The food science & human nutrition collection of the Michigan State University Main Library serves the instructional and research needs of faculty and students in the Department of Food Science and Human Nutrition and supports the needs of the Institute for Food Laws & Regulations, the Institute for Food & Agricultural Standards, the National Food Safety and Toxicology Center, and the Food, Nutrition and Health area of MSU Extension. The Department of Food Science and Human Nutrition is jointly administered by the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources and the College of Natural Science and offers majors in the following areas:Food Science (B.S., M.S., Ph.D.), a multi-disciplinary science which applies chemistry, biochemistry, microbiology, physics, engineering, nutrition, toxicology, and other basic and applied sciences to problems related to the production, preservation, processing, distribution, evaluation, safety and utilization of food. Students select one or more concentrations in Food Technology, Food Business and Industry, Food Biotechnology, Food Chemistry, Food Safety, or Food Packaging. The department also offers a Specialization in Food Processing and Technology for non-majors who need an introduction to food science and the food industry to complement business or technical skills acquired in other majors. Nutritional Sciences (B.S., M.S., Ph.D.), a major emphasizing intensive study of biological and physical sciences such as biochemistry, biology, chemistry, mathematics, microbiology, physics and physiology as a basis for understanding the science of nutrition and the relationships between nutrients and human health. Areas of study include energy metabolism, proteins, vitamins, minerals, human development, and clinical and community nutrition.Dietetics (B.S.), one of the largest, oldest, and most highly-ranked programs in the country. The curriculum applies knowledge of nutrition, foods, and management to the maintenance of human health and well-being throughout the life-cycle, with an awareness of the impact of food and nutrition in different cultural, economic and social settings. A Graduate Specialization in Food and Agricultural Standards is administered by the College of Social Science and the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources. Other noteworthy programs include an online Professional Master of Science in Food Safety and an International Food Laws Distance Education Certificate Program.Current faculty research emphases include food safety and toxicology (with a focus on agents affecting human and animal health, including mycotoxins and other natural products; foodborne disease agents and their toxins; and a variety of nutritional factors), food processing and quality enhancement (particularly with regard to meat, fruit, vegetable, dairy and cereal products), biochemical nutrition (including nutrient bioavailability, vitamin and mineral functions, phytochemicals and cancer prevention, and neuroendrocrine regulation of energy metabolism), and community nutrition (prevention of chronic diseases such as obesity, cancer, and cardiovascular diseases and nutritional imbalances due to inappropriate food consumption patterns or underlying socio-psychological factors; identification of nutritional risk factors and predictors; improvement of health promotion programs and nutritional interventions). Extension and outreach programs focus on Marketing Michigan Agricultural Products (including dairy, meat, and muscle foods and fruits and vegetables) and MSU Extension Nutrition Programs such as Project FRESH (an educational program providing participants with coupons to purchase locally grown fruits and vegetables at participating farmers= markets) and the Breast Feeding Initiative.B. History of the Collection/Existing Strengths and Emphases A brief account of the study of human nutrition and foods may be found in Home Economics to Human Ecology: 100 Years at Michigan State University (Margaret Bubolz, 1996). The program has a long and distinguished history and AMSU has been a leader in the field since its inception. When the women=s course was established in 1896, the study of foods was an integral component and included nutrition values, preparation, and food for the sick, children, and adults.@ As early as 1918, Hilda Faust in the Division of Home Economics was conducting food/nutrition research via her investigations into food chemistry and other problems. In 1922 Assistant Professor Dr. Marie Dye organized Research and Graduate Study in Nutrition. By the time the Home Economics (Human Ecology) Building opened in 1924, there were already three food laboratories and three nutrition laboratories. In that same year, an innovative collaboration with Lansing=s Sparrow Hospital led to the offering of a bachelor=s degree in home economics with a major in foods and nutrition and a diploma in nursing. The first Masters degrees in Nutrition were granted in 1927. By the time MSU reached its centennial year in 1955, the Foods and Nutrition Research undergraduate curriculum was well established.The Department of Food Science was founded in 1959. Comprised of faculty from the departments of Agricultural Engineering, Horticulture, Dairy Science, Animal Husbandry and Poultry Science, the Department was administered by the College of Agriculture. In 1970 the Department of Food Science merged with the College of Human Ecology=s Department of Human Nutrition and Foods (formerly, the Department of Foods and Nutrition, College of Home Economics) to form what is known today as the Department of Food Science and Human Nutrition. Shortly thereafter, the nutrition laboratories were moved to the Food Science Building (now called G. Malcolm Trout Food Science and Human Nutrition Building). For many years the Department was jointly administered by the College of Human Ecology and the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources; it is now officially part of the latter college, and the Nutritional Science faculty and Human Nutrition graduate program are affiliated with the College of Natural Science. The Libraries' collections have grown over the years to keep pace with the university's growth from an agricultural college to a major research institution, the phenomenal changes in food processing and packaging technologies, the shifting trends in eating patterns and food practices, and the heightened interest in food safety and food/health linkages.II. Factors Influencing Collection Policy A. Anticipated Future Trends The presence of the National Food Safety and Toxicology Center on the MSU campus and the heightened interest in food safety and security in general will continue to increase the demand for materials dealing with food safety and toxicology, food microbiology, foodborne illness, Hazard Analysis Critical Control Points (HACCP) for food producers and handlers, food standards and labeling, and food law and regulation, as well as for materials of related interest in the fields of biotechnology and risk assessment. Interest in new processing technologies and new product development (e.g. reduced-fat and reduced-calorie products, functional foods) will remain strong. Emphasis will continue to be placed on the physiology and biochemistry of nutrition, caloric and nutrient requirements throughout the life-cycle and for specific populations, dietary supplements, and nutrition/health linkages. The growing number of virtual coursesBin particular the Professional Masters Program in Food Safety and the International Food Laws Distance Education Certificate ProgramBas well as an overall desire for remote access to library resources, is heightening the demand for networked resources and the move from paper to electronic journals. Archiving issues and costs will continue to be a major concern as the Library moves increasingly into the electronic realm.B. Relationships With Other Resources 1. On Campus Branch or Format Collections, if any.Business Library: food industry, food service, cookery Biomedical & Physical Sciences Library: food chemistry and analysisSpecial Collections: cookbook collection 2. Regional or Network Resources, if any.As part of the Michigan Research Libraries Triangle, MSU Libraries maintain reciprocal borrowing agreements with the University of Michigan and Wayne State Libraries. Materials are also obtained via interlibrary loan from other CIC institutions. C. Relationships to Resources Treated in Other Policy Statements
III. Analysis of the Subject Field A. Chronology of the Subject The emphasis is on current research in food science/human nutrition. B. Languages of Resources CollectedThe primary language of acquired materials is English. C. Geography of the SubjectThe primary emphasis is on the United States, Canada, and Great Britain; however, since international coverage is highly desired, English-language publications may be purchased regardless of country of origin or geographic treatment. D. Format of the Resources Collected and Treatment of the SubjectThe research journal is very important, but many trade publications are also heavily utilized. Because of the undergraduate component, monographs also serve an important function. Lower division college textbooks are not ordinarily purchased; cookbooks are purchased to a limited degree for the circulating collection, with priority given to those used as resources for coursework. Popular or consumer works on diets, food safety, or home processing and brewing are very selectively collected. Emphasis has traditionally been on print materials; however, electronic formats are now preferable for certain resources; video and microform formats may also be considered. E. Date of Publication of Resources CollectedThe primary focus is on current materials, although some retrospective collection building may be done. IV. Levels of Collection Intensity Collection in most areas is at the advanced study (3b) or research level (4).
Collection Management Issues Specific policies, if any, on replacement, de-selection, out of print acquisitions, preservation, etc. Multiple copies may be purchased for high demand titles and/or titles authored by MSU faculty. Replacement copies may be ordered, as funds permit, for missing or damaged heavily-used titles or parts of multi-volume works.Out-of-print materials are not normally considered for purchase, unless there is a compelling need for a unique item that has been officially classified as missing or damaged beyond repair. Preservation decisions follow the general guidelines established by the Main Library.Page Coordinator: Anita Ezzo ezzoa@msu.edu This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=1266 Last updated: 03-11-2008 |
