Link to print-friendly version


Collection Development Policy Statement: Nursing

Written by: Judy Coppola
Date Drafted: 7/6/89
Date Revised: 3/27/98 by Michael Simmons; 9/22/04 by Arlene Weismantel; 2/28/06 by Jaime Blanck; 10/8/07 by Marilia Antunez; 3/30/09 by Heidi Schroeder

Table of Contents:

I. Purpose of Collection


A. Curricular, Research and Programmatic Needs

The primary purpose of the collection is to provide the information resources needed to support the teaching, research and clinical practice of the faculty and students in the College of Nursing. The nursing profession encompasses health promotion, health maintenance, crisis care and rehabilitation; and the goal of nursing is to facilitate optimal health throughout the life span. As a theory-based discipline, nursing strives to improve the quality of care through the application of knowledge learned through research. The College of Nursing offers the Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN), Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) and Doctor of Philosophy in Nursing (Ph.D.) degree programs. The focus of the undergraduate program is on basic professional education. There is a traditional BSN program, a RN to BSN program, and an accelerated second degree BSN program. The MSN program consists of three concentrations, Nurse Practitioner, Clinical Nurse Specialist-Education, and Nurse Anesthesia. The Nurse Practitioner concentration provides two options: adult and family. The Clinical Nurse Specialist-Education concentration prepares RNs for the advanced practice role of clinical nurse specialist (CNS) and equips them with the skills to become nurse educators. The Nurse Anesthesia concentration prepares nurses for advanced practice with the knowledge and skills to deliver safe and effective anesthesia care and assume leadership roles in the practice setting. In addition, the College of Nursing offers Post Master's Certificate Programs to meet the needs of Registered Nurses who hold a clinical master's degree in nursing and are seeking certification for advanced practice in Adult or Family Nursing and Nursing Education. A Post Master's Certificate Program in Gerontological Nursing is also offered if enough applications are received. The Ph.D. program emphasizes health status and health outcomes research within the context of community-based primary care. Required courses guide the student in the principles and methods of research for the evaluation, testing and development of theories relevant to nursing. The acquisition of remotely-accessible digital library resources is emphasized as the College of Nursing offers several online and distance courses at both the undergraduate and graduate levels.

B. History of the Collection and Existing Strengths and Emphases

The nursing collection originated in 1950 when Michigan State College authorized a Department of Nursing Education based in the Division of Biological Sciences in the then so-named College of Science and the Arts. In 1980 the School of Nursing achieved college status. The nursing collections have been community-based in the absence of a university hospital and the physical collection is located in the Main Library, as is the medical collection.

From its inception, the nursing program has reflected the University's land grant philosophy and a commitment to innovative and broadly-based health care programs. The cross-disciplinary aspects of nursing are heavily emphasized and interest in the social and psychological aspects of health care are especially strong. Collection policies for nursing, therefore, address wide-ranging issues and topics related to nursing and materials are found among all medical call numbers and in the social sciences. The collection particularly reflects a demand for material to support nursing education, nursing research, nursing theory, and transcultural nursing. Materials related to practical and vocational nursing are collected at a minimal level, if at all.

II. Factors Influencing Collection Policy

A. Anticipated Future Trends

Collecting should follow and anticipate, when possible, major trends and developments in nursing. The collection should also reflect significant curricular changes, the nature of ongoing research and the establishment of new services or products, such as the continued growth of online nursing programs and courses.

B. Relationships with Other Libraries and Resources

1. Hospital Libraries

Because clinical nursing programs are hospital and community-based, various hospital libraries play a significant role in the delivery of information services to our faculty and students.

2. Regional and Network Resources

The nursing bibliographer has a cooperative working relationship with local health sciences librarians and organizations because our programs are hospital- and community-based. Relationships with local and state librarians can be maintained through participation in organizations such as the Michigan Health Sciences Libraries Association (MHSLA) and the Mid-Michigan Health Sciences Libraries (MMHSL).

The collection is a component of the National Network of Libraries of Medicine, Greater Midwest Region (NN/LM GMR). The MSU Libraries have signed agreements committing us to serve as a NN/LM GMR Resource and Outreach library. The role of the Resource Library is to meet the information access needs of health professionals in the region through resource sharing. Resource Libraries support the network by participating in DOCLINE and providing Loansome Doc service. Outreach Libraries fulfill all the obligations of Resource Libraries and, in addition, participate in the implementation of outreach programs to unaffiliated health professionals and consumers, and provide Loansome Doc service to Affiliate Member libraries.

C. Relationships to Resources Treated in Other Policy Statements

  • Human Medicine
  • Osteopathic Medicine
  • Biological Sciences
  • Biomedical Sciences
  • Psychology
  • Social Work
  • Education
  • Anthropology
  • Sociology
  • Chemistry


III. Analysis of the Subject Field

A. Chronology of the Subject

The emphasis is on current practice and policies. The journal literature reflects the cumulative body of nursing knowledge.

B. Languages of Resources Collected

Only English language material is collected. Translations are seldom selected.

C. Geography of the Subject

The emphasis is on North America, although materials from the UK and other English-speaking countries are considered.

D. Format of the Resources Collected

Serials, monographs, encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, directories, proceedings, government publications, bibliographies, and materials related to certification, licensure and specialized education/training are collected.

Not collected: Theses from other institutions, catalogs, audiovisuals, programmed texts, laboratory manuals, ephemera, clinical software. The College of Nursing maintains its own alternative format collection.

E. Date of Publication of Resources Collected

The emphasis is on current publications. Material older than five years is seldom considered unless gaps in significant series are being filled.



IV. Levels of Collecting Intensity


Nursing Administration

2

AIDS/HIV Nursing

1

Alternative, Complementary, Holistic Nursing

2

Cancer Nursing

3b

Cardiovascular Nursing

2

Case Management

2

Communication in Nursing

2

Community Health Nursing

2

Critical Care Nursing

2

Nursing/Laboratory Diagnosis

1

Nursing Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

1

Nursing Education

3b

Emergency/Trauma Nursing

1

Nursing Ethics

2

Family Nursing

3b

Fundamentals of Nursing

1

Geriatric Nursing

3b

Health Promotion

2

Home Health Nursing

1

Infusion Therapy Nursing

1

Legal Aspects of Nursing

1

Long-Term Care

2

Maternal-Child Nursing

2

Medical/Surgical Nursing

2

Neurologic Nursing

1

Nurse Anesthetists

3b

Nurse Practitioner/Advanced Practice

3b

Nursing Profession

2

Nursing Informatics

1

Nursing Theory

3b

Nursing Research

3b

Obstetric and Gynecology Nursing

2

Orthopedic Nursing

1

Patient Education

2

Pediatric Nursing

2

Perioperative Nursing

2

Nursing Pharmacology

1

Practical Nursing

0

Psychiatric Nursing

3b

Rehabilitation Nursing

2

Terminal and Palliative Care

3b

Transcultural Nursing

3b

Transplantation Nursing

1

Urologic Nursing

1



V. Collection Management Issues


Replacement: Major multi-edition texts, heavily circulated, high-interest or one-of-a-kind items should be replaced when appropriate.

Multiple Copies: Added copies are rarely purchased. Certain subject areas such as nursing theory may be represented by more than one copy.

Deselection: The nursing literature does not have a long shelf life. Therefore, older material, especially undergraduate level items, are appropriate for withdrawl. Serial subscriptions should be regularly and carefully reviewed.

Out of Print: Seldom pursued.

Preservation: Items should be carefully evaluated to determine whether deselection is the more appropriate choice.

Page Coordinator: Heidi Schroeder hschroed@mail.lib.msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=1269
Last updated: 03-30-2009

© 2006 Michigan State University Board of Trustees. MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity institution.