Link to print-friendly version


Overview: Collections, Location, Circulation, Policies

The Government Documents Library is the Main Library location for publications of the United States government, the Canadian government, the State of Michigan, the United Nations and many other international intergovernmental organizations. It contains over 3 million documents in paper, microformat, and electronic formats. A portion of the collection is presently uncataloged and, therefore, does not appear in the Libraries' catalog.

Table of Contents:

Collections

  • Canadian Documents

    In 1967, the library became a selective depository of Canadian federal documents to support the Canadian-American Studies Program. The library selects a general range of publications from science to foreign policy and labor relations. It is particularly strong in agriculture, demography and population, fisheries and wildlife, forestry, and history. The collection includes Canadian censuses, statutes, and proceedings and reports of the Canadian Parliament.

  • European Union Documents

    As a participating European Union Depository Library, users are provided free access to the official publications containing information ranging from policy developments in all sectors of EU activity to statistics on trade, demographics, agriculture, transport, energy and economic indicators.
  • Michigan Documents

    After nearly two decades as a permanent depository for official publications of the State of Michigan the MSU Library ceased being a depository in 2007. Materials received throughout the years dating back to statehood include House and Senate Journals, reports on a variety of subjects, statistical reports and annual reports of various state agencies will continue to be available. Prospective publications will be mostly available online and can be located via the MSU Library Catalog.

  • U.S. Documents

    The library has been a U.S. federal depository since 1907 and currently receives approximately 80 percent of the publications made available to depository libraries.

    An extensive range and variety of subjects are covered in the U.S. documents collection. It is particularly strong in the areas of agriculture, demography and population, education, environmental sciences, international relations, labor, and law. The collection is arranged by Superintendent of Documents call number which organizes publications by issuing agency rather than by subject.

    There are over 7,000 serial titles, many of which are complete from early dates, including Foreign Relations of the United States from 1861, Geological Survey Professional Papers from 1896, U.S. Geological Survey Water-Supply Papers from 1902, and the Bulletin of the United States Bureau of Labor Statistics from 1913.

  • United Nations Documents and Publications

    The collection includes documents and publications issued by the main United Nations organs since 1946. It also includes materials issued by various UN programmes and bodies including, but not limited to, the UN Conference on Trade and Development, the UN Development Programme, UNICEF, UNRISD, UN University, and the UN Environment Programme.

    The collection also contains publications issued by most of the UN specialized agencies and autonomous organizations. These include the Food and Agriculture Organization, General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade/World Trade Organization, International Fund for Agricultural Development, International Monetary Fund, International Telecommunication Union, United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization, United Nations Industrial Development Organization, World Bank Group, and the World Intellectual Property Organization. Materials issued by several UN specialized agencies (International Atomic Energy Agency, International Labour Organization, World Health Organization) are housed in the main stacks.

  • Other International Intergovernmental Organizations

    The Government Documents Library also collects materials issued by other international intergovernmental organizations including, but not limited to, the Asian Development Bank, Organization of American States, Council of Europe, NATO, Association of South East Asian Nations, and the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development.

[Return to Top]

Location

The Government Documents collections are located on the Third Floor of the West Wing of the Main Library. Reference service is provided through the Main Library Reference Desk (1st floor Center). The Government Documents Library reference collection is comprised of print and electronic indexes, abstracts, catalogs and bibliographies to help patrons gain access to the various collections and to the publications of individual departments, agencies and organizations.

For reference assistance away from the Library, visit the Ask a Librarian page.



[Return to Top]

Circulation

With the exception of reference materials and periodicals less than 10 years old, paper government documents may be checked out. Materials should be taken to one of the check-out desks on the first floor. Microfiche, microprint and microfilm do not circulate. CD-ROM products are available for circulation.



[Return to Top]

Policies



[Return to Top]



Page Coordinator: Hui Hua Chua Chua@msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=1306
Last updated: 08-04-2008

© 2006 Michigan State University Board of Trustees. MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity institution.