Forestry Research Guide |
Forestry Resources
This is a guide to resources in the study of Forestry.
- Dendrology: the scientific study of trees
- Silvicuture: the growing and cultivation of trees.
- 1st Choice Databases
-
- CAB Abstracts (ISI)
CAB covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, veterinary medicine and much more. Journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports and other sources from more than one country are scanned regularly for inclusion in the database. -
- Forest Science Database
The TREECD database includes all the records from the journals Forestry Abstracts, Forest Products Abstracts, and Agroforestry Abstracts from their respective beginnings in 1939, 1978, and 1988, and other records on the various aspects listed above and selected from the CAB ABSTRACTS database. TREECD forms the most comprehensive guide to the international forestry literature.
- Forest Science Database
- TreeSearch
Provides access to publications of the USDA Forest Service - Social Sciences in Forestry
This database indexes publications in 41 subject areas relating the social sciences to forestry. Among them are: legislation, policy and planning, management, economic development, investment and finance.
Covers journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and government documents. Database produced by the U of Minn Forestry Library.
Coverage: 1985 - present, updated weekly. - Trail Planning, Construction, and Maintenance Database
Indexes publications relating to the planning, design, construction, and maintenance of all types of trails. Includes trail use studies.
Covers journal articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents. Database produced by the U of Minn Forestry Library.
Coverage: 1984 - present, updated weekly - Tropical Forest Conservation and Development
Subjects indexed include: Tropical forest resources; deforestation; conservation; indigenous peoples; management; policy; trade and industrial development; nontimber forest products; research, education, and training; and history.
Covers journal articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents. Database produced by the U of Minn Forestry Library.
Coverage: 1992 - present, updated weekly. - UNEP-WCMC Trees Database
This UNEP-WCMC Trees Database contains trees information on threatened trees and other trees of conservation concern. This database was used to generate The World List of Threatened Trees. This information resource is a result of collaboration between individual scientists worldwide, expert opinions derived from three regional workshops, and many organisations, notably the WCMC, and Species Survival Commission of IUCN. - Urban Forestry Database
Indexes publications relating to the history of urban forestry; urban forest legislation; the benefits of urban forests; selection and planting of trees; maintenance of the urban forest; planning and management; and urban forestry programs.
Covers journal articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents. Database produced by the U of Minn Forestry Library.
Coverage: 1980 - present, updated weekly. - UFind - the Urban Forestry Index
UFind is a joint effort of the US Forest Service, Treelink, and the University of Minnesota (UM). UFind indexes some journals and magazines and many government and extension/ experiment station publications, but the great value is in the indexing of other media types including CDs, DVDs, videos, posters, public service announcements, toolkits, PowerPoint presentations, manuals, 3-ring binders, factsheets, booklets and others. coverage begins approximately in the 1990s
- CAB Abstracts (ISI)
- 2nd Choice Databases
-
- AGRICOLA
Covers every major agricultural subject, including agricultural engineering and marketing, animal breeding, entomology, environmental pollution, farm management, foods and feeds, pesticides, rural sociology, veterinary medicine, and water resources. Citations consist of journal articles, book chapters, monographs, conference proceedings, serials, technical reports, and other materials on a range of agricultural topics. - ASABE Technical Library
Online access to all ASABE journals, standards, meeting and conference papers, textbooks, and monographs beginning with 2001. ASABE's journals are refereed publications: Applied Engineering in Agriculture (vol.13/1997); Journal of Agricultural Safety and Health (vol.1/1995) ; Transactions of the ASABE (vol.40/1997); Biological Engineering (vol.1/2008) -
- ASABE Technical Library Contents
A cursory title list to many of the titles available in this database.
- ASABE Technical Library Contents
- Biological Abstracts
Indexes the biological and medical peer-reviewed journal literature. - CAB Abstracts
CAB covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, veterinary medicine and much more. Journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports and other sources from more than one country are scanned regularly for inclusion in the database. - AgBioForum
AgBioForum publishes articles which enhance the on-going dialogue on the economics and management of agricultural biotechnology. The purpose of AgBioForum is to provide unbiased, timely information and new ideas leading to socially responsible and economically efficient decisions in science, public policy and private strategies pertaining to agricultural biotechnology. - AGRIS
Covers all aspects of agriculture, including forestry, animal husbandry, the aquatic sciences and fisheries, and human nutrition. The database is produced by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN (FAO) in cooperation with participating countries and international organizations. - AgBib: Agriculture and Rural Life in the United States, 1820-1945
A searchable database of references to books, pamphlets, serial publications, and theses and dissertations related to agriculture and rural life and published by state and local entities prior to 1946. Excludes references to Federal publications, legislative documents, compilations of laws, maps, county histories, and manuscripts and archival materials. Contains references from multiple states. - American Periodical Series (APS) Full-Text
Full-text database of American periodicals published between the 1700's and 1899. - Biological & Agricultural Index
Provides information from groundwater pollution to genetic engineering and covers the entire range of sciences related to biology and agriculture. Indexes 226 key periodicals in the life sciences and agriculture. Includes current book reviews. - FAOSTAT (MSU only)
FAOSTAT is an on-line and multilingual database currently containing over 1 million time-series records covering international statistics in the following areas: Production, Trade, Food Balance Sheets, Food Aid Shipments, Fertilizer and Pesticides, Land Use and Irrigation, Forest Products, Fishery Products, Population, Agricultural Machinery. The service provides extended on-line query and download limits (10,000 records per query) and unlimited access to FTP bulk download files. A copy of this data is also available on CD-ROM in GD/SSHR of the Main Library. - Garden, Landscape and Horticulture Index
The Garden, Landscape and Horticulture Index is a popular and scholarly index to over 300 journals on gardening, horticulture, landscape design, botany, ecology, plant conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy. - Springerlink
SpringerLink is the platform for access to almost 1,200 journals in the scientific, technical, and medical fields. It provides access to content from 1997 and onward. A search engine is included, as well as the ability to set up table of contents alerts and other personalized features. Journals formerly published by Kluwer are now part of SpringerLink, as the companies have merged. - ScienceDirect
Provides access to full text of over 600 journals to which MSU Libraries have subscriptions, from 1995 to present. Also includes access to abstracts of articles in non-subscribed journals and pre-1995 issues. - Web of Science
Includes the Institute for Scientific Information Citation Indexes - Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. It indexes science, social sciences, and arts and humanities information from nearly 9,300 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. - Plant Management Network
The Plant Management Network is a unique cooperative resource for the applied plant sciences. Designed to provide plant science practitioners fast electronic access to proven solutions, the Plant Management Network offers an extensive searchable database comprised of thousands of web-based resource pages from the network's partner universities, companies, and associations. In addition, the network's three peer-reviewed citable journals, Applied Turfgrass Science, Crop Management, Forage and Grazinglands, and Plant Health Progress, provide credible current information in areas important to practitioners, policy makers, and the public. - Plant Management Network Plant Science Database
- Directory of open access journals: DOAJ
Links to the forestry titles in the DOAJ. - Forestry Environmental Program News
From the National Council for Air and Stream Improvement, Inc. (NCASI), an independent, non-profit research institute that focuses on environmental topics of interest to the forest products industry.
- AGRICOLA
- Full Text Online Documents in the Agricultural Sciences
This research guide compiles documents that are full text and are freely available over the Internet. This site does not include online books/documents that are subscription based and/or require passwords or payment. - Forestry - an AgNIC site
This is THE forestry Research site! Start here when looking for Web-based forestry information. Forestry AgNIC, compiled by University of Minnesota, is a guide to quality forestry and natural resources information on the Internet with over 1500 links. - Agricultural Communications Documentation Center
Searchable database of over 30,000 references including articles, books, theses and dissertations, and unpublished studies. Many of the references are not cited in the Agricola database. Created and maintained by the Agricultural Communications Documentation Center, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. - Agriculture Network Information Center (AgNIC)
Source of agricultural information in electronic form over an international network of networks. Agricultural information includes basic, applied, and developmental research, extension, and teaching activities in the food, agricultural, renewable natural resources, forestry, and physical and social sciences. - Agriculture Glossary - House committee on Agriculture
A Glossary of Agricultural Terms, Programs and Laws - A product of the Congressional Research Service, Library of Congress at the request of the U.S. House Committee on Agriculture - Bibliography of Dendrochronology.
The Bibliography of Dendrochronology is an archive of printed documents relevant to tree-ring research worldwide, that you can search for free. It was compiled and is constantly updated by Henri D. Grissino-Mayer. It currently contains 11,202 references dating back to 1737. - Biodiversity Heritage Library
Ten major natural history museum libraries, botanical libraries, and research institutions have joined to form the Biodiversity Heritage Library Project. They are digitizing the published literature of biodiversity held in their respective collections, and so far have over 1.124 million pages of key taxonomic literature available on the web. From a scholarly perspective, these collections are of exceptional value because the domain of systematic biology depends -- more than any other science -- upon historic literature. The “cited half-life” of natural history literature is longer than that of any other scientific domain. - Botanicus
Botanicus is a freely accessible, Web-based encyclopedia of historic botanical literature from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library. Botanicus is made possible through support from the W.M. Keck Foundation and the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. - Bugwood Network
The Mission of The Bugwood Work Group is to gather, create, maintain, promote the use of, and economically distribute digital information both as resources and as tools to enhance and complement information exchange and educational activities primarily in the fields of entomology, forestry, forest health and natural resources - Cooperative Forestry Research Unit Publications Database
This database focuses on ecology, economics, and growth and management of Maine forests. Contains the full-text of University of Maine's Cooperative Forestry Research Unit's (CFRU) reports as well as other publications resulting from research by CFRU staff and associates. Searchable by subject category such as hardwood management, harvesting, and thinning. The database can be browsed by author, subject, and title. - Core Historical Literature of Agriculture
The Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA) is a core electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science,forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science. Scholars have selected the titles in this collection for their historical importance. Their evaluations and 4,500 core titles are detailed in the seven volume series The Literature of the Agricultural Sciences, Wallace C. Olsen, series editor. - Current Research Information System
CRIS is the U.S. Department of Agriculture's documentation and reporting system for ongoing and recently completed research and education projects in agriculture, food and nutrition, and forestry. Projects are conducted or sponsored by USDA research agencies, state agricultural experiment stations, land-grant universities, other cooperating state institutions, and participants in CSREES-administered grant programs, including Small Business Innovation Research and National Research Initiative, and the programs administered by the CSREES Science and Education Resources Development unit. CRIS is an application of the CSREES Information Systems and Technology Management unit. - Dendrome: A forest tree genome database
Dendrome is a collection of forest tree genome databases and other forest genetic information resources for the international forest genetics community. Dendrome is part of a larger collaborative effort to construct genome databases for major crop and forest species. A U.S. Forest Service and ARS collaboration. - Fire Effects Information System
FEIS summarizes and synthesizes research about living organisms in the United States —their biology, ecology, and relationship to fire. It contains literature reviews, taken from current English-language literature of about 900 plant species, 7 lichen species, about 100 wildlife species, 17 Research Project Summaries, and 16 Kuchler plant communities of North America. The emphasis of each review and summary is fire and how it affects species. Background information on taxonomy, distribution, basic biology, and ecology of each species is also included. Reviews are thoroughly documented, and each contains a complete bibliography. - Forest Landowner Factsheets
Features include clicking on an individual State or Canadian Province to see trees that naturally grow there, and the tree species factsheets and images. - Forest History Society (FHS)
The Forest History Society (FHS) is a 501(c)3 nonprofit educational institution that links the past to the future by identifying, collecting, preserving, interpreting, and disseminating information on the history of interactions between people, forests, and their related resources -- timber, water, soil, forage, fish and wildlife, recreation, and scenic or spiritual values. Through programs in research, publication, and education, the Society promotes and rewards scholarship in the fields of forest, conservation, and environmental history while reminding all of us about our important forest heritage. - Forest History Society - Environmental History Bibliography
Containing over 35,000 records with approximately 1,500 added per year, this searchable bibliography contains books, articles, and dissertations on a variety of subjects related to forestry. It is maintained by the Forest History Society. Duke University - Forest History Society - Guide to environmental history archival collections.
Describes more than 7,000 collections in 450 repositories in North America. It is maintained by the Forest History Society. Duke University - Forest History Society Photograph Collections
Photographs from the first half of the Twentieth Century on a surprisingly wide range of subjects including Forestry Practices, the "Real" Smokey Bear, Bridges and Trestles, Christmas Trees, the San Francisco Earthquake, the Boy Scouts, Farming, and Forestry School pictures, 17 of which are from the Michigan Agricultural College, submitted by Professor A. K. Chittenden in September of 1923. - Glossary for agroforestry
Compiled and edited by Peter Huxley and Helen van Houten, International Centre for Research in Agroforestry - 1997. - Internet Center for Wildlife Damage Management
The Internet Center for Wildlife Damage Management is a non-profit grant funded site that provides research-based information on how to responsibly handle wildlife damage problems. This site seeks to service the needs of four key constituency groups: homeowners, agricultural producers, professionals (both academic and industry providers) and policy makers, such as government agencies.
Users are encouraged to browse, read, download, save, print, and link to articles or documents found on this site, but are admonished not to re-publish, re-post, mirror, or otherwise re-distribute materials without the permission of the original copyright holders. - Subtropical Forestry - an AgNIC site
This is a part of the an online reference service project coordinated by the Agriculture Network Information Center, hosted by the University of Georgia. - US Forest Service
- Forest Insects and Disease Leaflets, USFS
This is a numeric list to the U. S. Forest Service Forest Insects and Disease leaflets. The site links to those that are available online in PDF format. There is also a link to an alphabetized list, and the Eastern and the Western regional titles. - USDA 2002 Census of Agriculture
- USDA Agriculture Handbooks
This is a Number/Title/Subject list of the USDA Agriculture Handbook series. Many, but not all, link to the FULL TEXT of the document, in pdf format. - USDA Agriculture Information Bulletins
This is a Number/Title/Subject list of the USDA Agriculture Information Bulletins series. Many, but not all, link to the FULL TEXT of the document, in pdf format. - USDA Miscellaneous Publications
This is a Number/Title/Subject list of the USDA Miscellaneous Publications series. Many, but not all, link to the FULL TEXT of the document, in pdf format. - USDA Technical Bulletins
This is a Number/Title/Subject list of the USDA Technical Bulletins series. Many, but not all, link to the FULL TEXT of the document, in pdf format. - Atlas of United States trees / USDA FS
MSU REFERENCE, 1 EAST: QK475.6 .U55 - Concise encyclopedia of wood & wood-based materials / editor, Arno P. Schniewind.
MSU REFERENCE, 1 EAST: TA419 .C64 1989 - Dictionary of tools used in the woodworking and allied trades, c. 1700-1970 / R. A. Salaman ; foreword by Joseph Needham.
MSU REFERENCE, 1 EAST: TT186 .S24 1975 - The encyclopedia of North American trees / Sam Benvie.
MSU REFERENCE, 1 EAST: QK110 .B46 2000 - Encyclopedia of wood : a tree by tree guide to the world's most versatile resource / by John Makepeace ... [et al.].
MSU REFERENCE, 1 EAST: TA419 .E53 1989 - The illustrated encyclopedia of trees / David More, John White
MSU REFERENCE, 1 EAST: QK475 .M67 2005 - Michigan trees : a guide to the trees of the Great Lakes Region / Burton V. Barnes and Warren H. Wagner, Jr.
MSU REFERENCE, 1 EAST: QK167 .B27 2004 - The reference manual of woody plant propagation : from seed to tissue culture : a practical working guide to the propagation of over 1100 species, varieties, and cultivars / by Michael A. Dirr and Cha
MSU REFERENCE, 1 EAST: SB119 .D57 1987 - Seeds of woody plants in North America / James A. Young and Cheryl G. Young.
MSU REFERENCE, 1 EAST: SB170 .Y68 1992 - Vocabulary of Forest Management
IUFRO world series, vol. 1
MSU REFERENCE, 1 EAST SD126 .V63 1990 - Wood technology. North American factbook.
MSU REFERENCE, 1 EAST: HD9764.N7 F67 - Botanicus
Botanicus is a freely accessible, Web-based encyclopedia of historic botanical literature from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library. Botanicus is made possible through support from the W.M. Keck Foundation and the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. - Encyclopedia of Forest Sciences
Packed with valuable insights from experts all over the world, this remarkable online encyclopedia not only summarizes recent advances in forest science techniques, but also thoroughly covers the basic information vital to comprehensive understanding of the important elements of forestry. It also covers relevant biology and ecology, different types of forestry (e.g. tropical forestry and dryland forestry), forest entomology, paper and pulp, wood properties, medicinal and aromatic forest plants, scientific names of trees and shrubs, and the applied, economic, and social aspects of forest management. - Forest genetics in the Lake states; an annotated bibliography [by] William J. Libby, Burton V. Barnes [and] Stephen H. Spurr.
A good resource for older information, as in a Literature Review or for citation tracking.
MSU MAIN LIBRARY: Z5991 .L3 - Michigan manual of forestry / Filibert Roth
Volumes I. Forest regulation, or, The preparation and development of forest working plans
Volume II. Forest valuation. Ann Arbor, Mich., 1914-16
Full text from the Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA)Project. - NetLibrary
The MSU Libraries is pleased to announce that we now have access to more than 10,000 electronic books, or eBooks, through our membership in the Michigan Library Consortium. Trade and university press materials, as well as popular materials are included. To use netLibrary go directly to http://www.netlibrary.com for access into the eBook collection.Once you receive your unique login and password, you will be able to access the collection of eBooks from anywhere you have an Internet connection. -
- NetLibrary - First time user's guide
This guide will help you set up your free account to use the NetLibrary resources.
- NetLibrary - First time user's guide
- Silvics of North America: 1. Conifers; 2. Hardwoods. Agriculture Handbook 654
The silvical characteristics of about 200 forest tree species and varieties are described. Most are native to the 50 United States and Puerto Rico, but a few are introduced and naturalized. Information on habitat, life history, and genetics is given for 15 genera, 63 species, and 20 varieties of conifers and for 58 genera, 128 species, and 6 varieties of hardwoods. These represent most of the commercially important trees of the United States and Canada and some of those from Mexico and the Caribbean Islands, making this a reference for virtually all of North America. A special feature of this edition is the inclusion of 19 tropical and subtropical species. These additions are native and introduced trees of the southern border of the United States from Florida to Texas and California, and also from Hawaii and Puerto Rico. - The swelling and shrinking of wood : a practical technology primer / Otto Suchsland.
In the MSU Faculty Book Collection, First Floor West (2 copies, do circulate)
MSU FACULTY BOOK COLL, 1 WEST: TA420 .S83 2004 - Wood handbook : Wood as an engineering material
Electronic format and available in Government Documents.
MSU GOV DOCS US FICHE, 3 W: A 13.88:FPL-GTR-113 - The world list of threatened trees
General collection; can be checked out.
MSU MAIN LIBRARY: QK86.A1 O54 1998 - Collections at the University Archives and Historical Collections
These are just a few of the many collections of papers and documents pertaining to the forestry and lumber industries, primarily in Michigan. The collections have library records, but are located in the University Archives in Conrad Hall. They are available to students and researchers; an appointment MAY be necessary to examine the collections. -
- Hackley and Hume Papers, 1859-1955.
Charles Henry Hackley (1837-1905) and Thomas Hume (1848-1920) were prominent lumbermen from Muskegon. As leaders in the timber industry as well as Muskegon, Hackley and Hume significantly affected the economic life of their local community, as well as communities throughout the United States.
University Archives; Finding aid available in 101 Conrad Hall. - Historic Publications of the MSU Extension Service
Archived copies of MSU Extension publications. Do not use for current recommendations; up-to-date information about many topics can be obtained from local Extension offices and the Educational Materials Distribution Center. Clicking on a title will take you to a brief description of the bulletin and a link to the full text document. - Josiah Littlefield Papers, 1879-1958.
This collection contains a portion of Josiah Littlefield's unpublished autobiography, which describes his early life on a farm in Monroe County, Michigan (1850-1865). The collection also contains four ledgers from Littlefield's lumber mill, recording workers' hours and business transactions; tax receipts; biographical information about Littlefield; and a map showing Littlefield property in Clare County, Michigan.
Josiah Littlefield was born in Flat Rock, Michigan in 1845. He graduated with a B.S. from the University of Michigan in 1871, and went to work as a surveyor and civil engineer in Farwell, Michigan. A few years later he joined the logging boom in central Michigan, building his first mill in 1875. Realizing that the depletion of the forests would eventually end the logging industry, Littlefield began to advocate reforestation. Littlefield was also active in local politics in Farwell.
Finding Aid: Josiah Littlefield: An Inventory of His Papers at the MSU University Archives and Historical Collections - MSU Forestry Club records, 1903-1953, n.d.
The MSU Forestry Club was established in 1903 under the name of MAC Foresters. The club's original purpose was to promote the interests of forestry. The group later printed the "Backlog", "Pine Needles" and starting in 1955 the "Michigan State Forester." The club is still active today.
This collection contains a minute book with the constitution and bylaws of the club at its creation, attendance rolls and minutes of the meetings. The minutes for 1912-1913 contain receipts and dues as well as meeting information. The Papers folder contains a financial statement of the club and correspondence with the Intercollegiate Association of Forestry Clubs.
Finding Aid: MSU Forestry Club: An Inventory of Its Records at the MSU University Archives and Historical Collections - Pere Marquette Lumber Company Records, 1860-1912.
The company was established July 29, 1869 by James Ludington, Delos Filer, John Loomis, and Luther Foster. The company owned property located in Mason, Mecosta, Newago, Oceana, Osceola, Muskegon, and Lake Counties. Most of this land was obtained by buying land grants from veterans of the War of 1812. The company went out of existence April 2, 1912.
Finding aid: Pere Marquette Lumber Company: An Inventory of Its Records at the MSU University Archives and Historical Collections
- Hackley and Hume Papers, 1859-1955.
- Hiawatha National Forest
- Huron-Manistee National Forests
- MSU Extension - Forestry Area Of Expertise (AOE) Team
The Forestry Area Of Expertise (AOE) Team is an organization of university and county extension staff working to help private landowners, industry, and communities improve the management and conservation of forest resources through education, outreach programs and research. AoE team members are involved in all aspects of traditional forestry, urban forestry, social and economic issues in resource management, conservation, research, and education. - Michigan Association of Timbermen
The Michigan Association of Timbermen is a non-profit trade association, representing the forest products industry of Michigan. Founded in 1972, MAT has provided effective representation of Michigan's forestry community, including those who grow, harvest and process forest products. - Michigan Big Tree Program of the Michigan Botanical Club
The Big Tree Program of the Michigan Botanical Club started soon after the organization of the club in 1941. Paul Thompson, affiliated with the Cranbrook Institute of Science, became the state's Big Tree Coordinator and served in the capacity for over forty years until his death in 1994. Many individuals, mostly Michigan Botanical Club members, worked with Paul over the years as he set about discovering, measuring, and recording Michigan's biggest trees and shrubs. Champion-sized trees were reported to American Forests, nominated for National Champion status, and subsequently listed in the "National Register of Big Trees" issued every two years by American Forests. - Michigan Botanical Club
- Michigan Christmas Tree Association
- Michigan DNR - Forest Management and Planning
- Michigan Forest Association
- Michigan Forest Pathways
- Michigan Forest Resource Alliance (MFRA)
- Michigan Forest Visitor Center
The Michigan Forest Visitor Center is located at Hartwick Pines State Park, one of Michigan's last stands of majestic old-growth pine forest. - Northern Research Station - USDA FS
North Central Research Station and the Northeastern Research Station have joined to form the Northern Research Station. Our 20-state region spans the Midwest from Minnesota to Missouri and the Northeast from Maine to Maryland. - Society of American Foresters - Michigan Chapters
- Agriculture Research Guide
- Agricultural, Food and Resource Economics Research Guide
-
Botany Research Guide
- Full Text Online Documents in the Agricultural Sciences
- Organic, Sustainable, and Alternative Farming Systems
- Horticulture and Gardening Research Guide
- Biofuels and Bioenergy Resources
- Soils and Agronomy Research Guide
-
Turfgrass Information Center
- Grants for individuals in Agriculture/Forestry/Horticulture
- Research guides in Environmental Studies
- Research guides in Biological Sciences
The New Oxford American Dictionary, second edition. Ed. Erin McKean. Oxford University Press, 2005. Oxford Reference Online. Oxford University Press.
Table of Contents:
|
Find Articles: Indexes and Databases
To find an article you need to use an index/database. Use the following to help you locate resources on your topic. Link to the New Books - Forestry blog Books are excellent resources, providing depth and extensive coverage on a huge array of topics. To find books at MSU you use our online catalog. The online catalog lists all of the materials owned by MSU, both print and electronic, including books, journals, cd's, government documents, videos, and dissertations. Search by author, title, or keyword. Books are shelved by Library of Congress call number. Here is a breakdown of Library of Congress call numbers for many forestry-related subjects: QK474.8-495.Z Spermatophyta. Phanerogams. General treesSD1-668 General Forestry391-409.5 Silviculture 411-428 Conservation and protection, including forest reserves 430-557 Exploitation and utilization, including timber trees, logging, transportation, valuation 434-535.3 Timber trees 561-668 Forest policy and administration TA420 Materials of engineering and construction - Special materials - Wood / lumberWebsites of Interest Reference books provide a brief overview of a subject and are a good place to start your research. They are shelved in the Reference Collection at the Main Library, first floor, East wing. They cannot be checked out (because too many people need them on a regular basis). These are works that can be checked out from the library or are fully available online. This is a list of sources of forestry information particular to MSU and the State of Michigan. Here is a list of other Research Guides on plant and related topics: Ask the Librarian Suzanne Teghtmeyer Agriculture, Forestry and Botany Librarian teghtmey@msu.edu Phone: 517-432-6123 x 325 Library Web page: http://www.lib.msu.edu/teghtmey/ Page Coordinator: Suzanne Teghtmeyer teghtmey@mail.lib.msu.edu This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=1428 Last updated: 02-12-2009 |
