Link to print-friendly version


Collection Development Policy Statement: Human Resources and Labor Relations

Date Drafted: July 1996 (NBY)
Revised: October 2004 (NBY), November 2007 (LL)

Table of Contents:

I. Purpose and Scope of the Collection

A. Purpose

The purpose of this collection is to support the research and curricular needs of faculty and students enrolled in or affiliated with the Michigan State University School of Labor and Industrial Relations (SLIR) as well as the many other departments interested in the employment relationship or the workplace. The collection also serves practitioners representing both management and labor, as well as the community at large.

B. Scope

Call numbers covering the majority of the LR/HR subjects include:

HD 30.3, 50, 58.7-.9, 62, 66 -- scattered areas of management concerned with human resources, organizations and organizational behavior

HD 4801-7269, 7790-8085 -- labor, general and U.S. (not HD 7285-7780.8 -- housing rather than labor)

HD 8101-8943 -- labor, non-U.S.

HF 5548.7-5549.5 -- personnel management/human resources

K 1701-1841 -- labor law (comparative law and international uniform law)

K 2390-2405 -- negotiated settlement and arbitration

KF 3301-3580 -- labor law (U.S. federal law)

KD-KE, KG-KW -- scattered areas of labor law in other countries


II. Factors Affecting Collection Policy

A. Anticipated Future Trends

Human Resources and Labor Relations will continue to be an area of strength at MSU, both within the College of Social Science and as a subject covered across the University. The School is expected to remain a signature program at MSU and will be expanding its course offerings domestically and internationally within the next several years. This multi-disciplinary and inter-disciplinary subject deals with all aspects of the employment relationship and touches almost every other subject to some extent. The discipline is constantly changing and being enlarged by conditions and events in the economy, legislation, case law, technology, social forces, and international affairs. The current interest in international human resources management and labor relations as well as strategic human resource management are currently and will continue to be important areas of interest in the field.

B. Relationship to Resources Treated in Other Policy Statements

1. On Campus

The MSU Library collections that hold materials relevant to human resources and labor relations include Business (human resources, management, leadership, executives, organizational behavior), the Cesar Chavez Collection, Communications, Economics (unemployment,labor markets, social security, pension financing), Gender Studies (gay and lesbian employees, women in the workplace, sexual harassment, work-life balance), Government Documents, History (labor history - primarily U.S. and U.K.), International Area Studies (international human resources, globalization), Law (labor law, employment law, dispute resolution), Political Science, Psychology (industrial and organizational psychology, employee motivation), Special Collections (the American Radicalism collection in particular) and Sociology.

2. Regional or Network Resources

Due to the specialized nature of its holdings, the HR/LR collection in the MSU Libraries is presently the only one of its kind in the State of Michigan. However, within the state, the Reuther Library and Archives at Wayne State University contains very rich holdings of mostly primary source materials related to the labor movement and labor unions. Within the CIC, the University of Illinois, the University of Minnesota and the University of Wisconsin have substantial LR/HR collections.

III. Analysis of the Subject Field

A. Chronology of the Subject

Because the curriculum is directed toward developing and supporting current professionals in the specialized fields of human resources and labor relations, collection emphasis has been and remains on current materials. However, historical materials are also selected, with an emphasis on the 19th and 20th centuries.

B. Languages of Resources Collected

English is the primary language for the collection. Materials in other languages are only selectively purchased.

C. Geography of the Subject

United States coverage is primary, however, other English-speaking and/or developed countries are also covered. More emphasis is currently being placed on collecting international material from emerging markets (Brazil, Russia, India and China, for example) as well as the comparative treatment of LHR subjects.

D. Types of Materials and Formats

All appropriate formats, including print, electronic and video recordings, are collected.

E. Date of Publication Resources Collected

With the exception of essential historical works, important classics or reprints as needed, only materials published within the immediate past five years should be collected.


IV. Levels of Collecting Intensity

HD 30.3, 50, 58.7-.9, 62, 66 -- management, organizations and organizational behavior -- LEVEL 4

HD 4801-7269, 7790-8085 -- labor, general and U.S. (not HD 7285-7780.8 -- housing rather than labor) -- LEVEL 4

HD 8101-8943 -- labor, non-U.S. -- LEVEL 3

HF 5548.7-5549.5 -- Personnel management/human resources -- LEVEL 4

K 1701-1841 -- labor law (comparative and international)-- LEVEL 3

K 2390-2405 -- negotiated settlement and arbitration -- LEVEL 4

KF 3301-3580 -- labor law (U.S. federal law) -- LEVEL 3

KD-KE, KG-KW -- scattered areas of labor law in other countries -- LEVEL 3


V. Collection Management Issues

Decisions about replacements are made on case-by-case basis. Multiple copies of outdated monographs are usually not retained. Through appropriate collection renewal activities, including deselection, relocation and replacement, the collection is regularly reviewed.

Page Coordinator: Laura Leavitt leavitt9@msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=1548
Last updated: 11-15-2007

© 2006 Michigan State University Board of Trustees. MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity institution.