Find Articles: Indexes and Databases
To find an article you need to use an index/database. Use the following to help you locate resources on your topic.
- 1st Choice Databases
-
- AGRICOLA
Covers every major agricultural subject, including agricultural engineering and marketing, animal breeding, entomology, environmental pollution, farm management, foods and feeds, pesticides, rural sociology, veterinary medicine, and water resources. Citations consist of journal articles, book chapters, monographs, conference proceedings, serials, technical reports, and other materials on a range of agricultural topics.
- Biological & Agricultural Index
Provides information from groundwater pollution to genetic engineering and covers the entire range of sciences related to biology and agriculture. Indexes 226 key periodicals in the life sciences and agriculture. Includes current book reviews.
- CAB Abstracts
CAB covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, veterinary medicine and much more. Journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports and other sources from more than one country are scanned regularly for inclusion in the database.
- Groundwater and Soil Contamination Database
This database published by the American Geological Institute includes over 60,000 references to documents published since 1975. Over 1,000 new references will be added in each quarterly update. Coverage is worldwide, with emphasis on the United States. Journal articles, books, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations are included. Also covered are all relevant reports of the U.S. Geological Survey, and reports of the U.S. Departments of Energy, Defense, Health and Human Services, and the Interior, and the Environmental Protection Agency.
- Web of Science
Includes the Institute for Scientific Information Citation Indexes - Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. It indexes science, social sciences, and arts and humanities information from nearly 9,300 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
- 2nd Choice Databases
-
- ASABE Technical Library
Online access to all ASABE journals, standards, meeting and conference papers, textbooks, and monographs beginning with 2001.
ASABE's journals are refereed publications: Applied Engineering in Agriculture (vol.13/1997); Journal of Agricultural Safety and Health (vol.1/1995) ; Transactions of the ASABE (vol.40/1997); Biological Engineering (vol.1/2008)
- Compendex
Worldwide coverage of journals and conference publications in all areas of engineering.
Find Books
Link to the New Books - Agriculture - Soils & Water blog
S
590-599.9 Soils. Soil science
590.4-.45 Communication in soil science
590.6-.63 Biography
590.7-.73 History
592 Encyclopedias and dictionaries
592.13 Data processing. Computer applications
592.135 Remote sensing
592.14-.147 Soil surveys. For surveys of particular places, see S599-599.9
592.16-.17 Soil classification
592.185 Soil age
592.2 Soil formation
592.5-.6 Soil chemistry and acidity
592.7-.85 Soil biochemistry
593.2 Soil structure
593.23 Soil compaction
593.25 Soil crusts and crusting
593.27 Subsoils
593.3 Soil colloids
593.7 Soil aeration
594 Soil moisture
594.5 Soil temperature
595.5 Irrigated soils
596 Soils and the environment
596.3 Soils and climate
596.5-.53 Soils and nutrition
596.7-597 Soils and crops. Soil-plant relationships. Soil productivity
604.8-621.5 Reclamation and irrigation of farm land. Includes organic farming
622-627 Soil conservation
631-667 Fertilizers and soil improvement
Related call numbers
QH541.5.S6 Soil ecology
TA749 Earthwork
TE208-208.5 Soil surveys in highway engineering
TE210.4-.5 Highway engineering
TD878-880 Soil pollution
Websites of Interest
- Full Text Online Documents in the Agricultural Sciences
This Research Guide compiles documents that are full text and are freely available over the Internet. This site does not include online books/documents that are subscription based and/or require passwords or payment.
- Agri-Briefs: Agronomic News items
Short articles on fertilizer use, soil health, and environmental and human impacts. Issued by the Potash & Phosphate Institute.
- ATTRA Publications on Soils and Composting
NOTE: Many of the following documents are available as Adobe Acrobat PDFs.
Sustainable Soil Management
El Manejo Sostenible de Suelos
Drought Resistant Soil
Sustainable Management of Soil-borne Plant Diseases
Potting Mixes for Certified Organic Production
Pursuing Conservation Tillage Systems for Organic Crop Production
Soil Management: National Organic Program Regulations
Alternative Soil Amendments
Arsenic in Poultry Litter: Organic Regulations
Alternative Soil Testing Laboratories
Foliar Fertilization
Sources of Organic Fertilizers and Amendments
Farm-Scale Composting Resource List
Notes on Compost Teas
Manures for Organic Crop Production
Overview of Cover Crops and Green Manures
Rye as a Cover Crop
Biodynamic Farming & Compost Preparation
Worms for Composting (Vermicomposting)
Assessing the Pasture Soil Resource
A Brief Overview of Nutrient Cycling in Pastures
Nutrient Cycling in Pastures
Symphylans: Soil Pest Management Options
Soil Moisture Monitoring: Low-Cost Tools and Methods
- FAR Research Projects
Each year the Foundation for Agronomic Research (FAR) and IPNI support approximately 100 research projects across North America, and a similar number in other countries. While most studies are related to crop and soil nutrient management, FAR also supports a broader systems research mission that encompasses ecological, food quality and plant health issues. In most cases, FAR provides funding to initiate a project and helps researchers locate additional support.
- Glossary of Soil Science Terms
- List of Soil Surveys by State
- NRCS Soils Website
“Helping People Understand Soils”
Soils is part of the National Cooperative Soil Survey, an effort of Federal and State agencies, universities, and professional societies to deliver science-based soil information.
- Soil Health Information - The Worldwide Portal (An AgNIC Site)
- Soil Microbiology Terms
Notable Print Resources - Reference Works
Reference books provide a brief overview of a subject and are a good place to start your research. They are shelved in the Reference Collection at the Main Library, first floor, East wing. They cannot be checked out (because too many people need them on a regular basis).
Notable Resources - Electronic and Circulating
These are works that can be checked out from the library or are fully available online.
- Advances in agronomy
MSU MAIN LIBRARY: S405 .A24
- Biological Soil Crusts, USGS Canyonlands Research Station, Moab, UT
Biological soil crusts are the community of organisms living at the surface of desert soils. Major components are cyanobacteria, green algae, microfungi, mosses, liverworts and lichens.
- Biological Soil Crusts: Ecology and Management (large PDF), United States Department of the Interior, Bureau of Land Management
(large pdf - 118 pages)
- Building Soils for Better Crops - a SARE publication
"Building Soils for Better Crops" unlocks the secret of maintaining a diverse ecosystem below ground to foster healthy crops above. Ecological soil management, as detailed by the soil experts who wrote the book, can raise fertility - and yields -while reducing environmental impacts. Building Soils contains detailed information about soil structure and the management practices that affect soils, as well as practical information like how to interpret soil test results.
- Ground-Penetrating Radar Soil Suitability Maps
Soil attribute data contained in the State Soil Geographic (STATSGO) and the Soil Survey Geographic (SSURGO) databases have been used to develop thematic maps showing, at different scales and levels of resolution, the relative suitability of soils for many GPR applications.
- The Health of our Soils: Toward sustainable agriculture in Canada
(Includes a map of the Soils of Canada.)
- Minnesota Soil Management Series
Whether you grow a few acres of vegetables for local markets, or two thousand acres of corn and soybeans for international markets, you depend on top performance from your soil. The Soil Management series is aimed at improving soil performance. Because each farm is unique, the series will not tell you the "best way" to manage your soil. Only you can decide that. Instead, it will help you make more effective use of recommendations from the university, consultants, and other advisors.
Titles include: Soil Management, Compaction, Manure Management, Organic Matter Management, and Soil Biology. (Series is in HTML format)
- Soil Biology Movies
This page contains 18 movies on life in the soil. This page is intended for high speed internet connections and requires macromedia flash player which can be obtained for free. These movies were produced by T. Loynachan and are on a server at Iowa State University.
- Soil and Plant Analysis Laboratory Manual, 2nd ed
by John Ryan, George Estefan, and Abdul Rashid
(Click "Read" at the bottom of the screed to read the chapters in pdf format.)
Notable Resources - MSU and Michigan
This is a list of sources of soils information particular to MSU and the State of Michigan.
Organizations/Associations
Additional Research Guides
Here is a list of other Research Guides on plant and related topics:
Ask the Librarian
Suzanne Teghtmeyer
Agriculture, Forestry and Botany Librarian
teghtmey@msu.edu
Phone: 517-432-6123 x 325
Library Web page: http://www.lib.msu.edu/teghtmey/
Page Coordinator: Suzanne Teghtmeyer teghtmey@mail.lib.msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=1556
Last updated: 10-07-2008
|