Finding Articles
- Landscape Design
-
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
The most comprehensive index to journal articles on architecture and design in the United States, including many not indexed by any other source. More than 700 scholarly, popular, professional, regional, and
international journals are included to cover architectural design, history and practice, landscape architecture, historic preservation, interior design, city planning and more.
- ARTstor
ARTstor is a digital image database containing approximately 700,000 images. Images are grouped into collections and represent the canon of art history (as defined by major art history survey texts) as well as specialized collections such as the MoMA Architecture and Design Collection and the Huntington Archive of Asian Art. Additional collections are planned.
- Turfgrass Information Center
- Turfgrass Information File (TGIF)
TGIF provides access to professional, technical, scientific, and popular materials, both print and electronic, relating to turfgrass science, culture, and the design and management of turfgrass-based facilities, such as golf courses, parks, sports fields, lawns, sod farms, roadsides, institutional grounds, and other managed landscapes, on a worldwide basis. Over 30% of TGIF records directly link to full-text content.
- Landscape Plants
-
- Garden, Landscape and Horticulture Index
The Garden, Landscape and Horticulture Index is a popular and scholarly index to over 300 journals on gardening, horticulture, landscape design, botany, ecology, plant conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy.
- Biological Abstracts
Indexes the biological and medical peer-reviewed journal literature.
- CAB Abstracts
CAB covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, veterinary medicine and much more. Journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports and other sources from more than one country are scanned regularly for inclusion in the database.
- Web of Science
Includes the Institute for Scientific Information Citation Indexes - Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. It indexes science, social sciences, and arts and humanities information from nearly 9,300 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
Finding Books
- Online Catalog
To locate books, search the MSU Libraries' online catalog, http://magic.msu.edu.
When looking for a book, pay particular attention to the book's location as stated in the online record. It could be located at the MSU Planning and Design Library, at Main in the Fine Arts collection, or in the general collection.
The subject headings and call numbers listed below are a good starting point for researching architectural topics.
- Suggested Subject Headings:
Arboriculture
Architecture - Environmental aspects
City planning - Environmental aspects
Community development, Urban - Environmental aspects
Golf Course Architects
Golf Course Design And Construction
Knot gardens
Landscape architects
Landscape architecture
Landscape architecture in water conservation
Landscape contracting
Landscape design
Landscape gardening - Michigan
Landscape gardening - Water conservation
Landscape irrigation
|
Landscape plants
Landscape plants - Michigan
Maze gardens
Natural landscaping
Native plants for cultivation
Native plant gardening
Ornamental shrubs
Ornamental woody plants
Plants - Ornamental
Stone in landscape gardening
Trees in cities
Urban ecology
Urban plants
Water in landscape architecture
Xeriscaping
|
- Call numbers:
GV 421-427 Playgrounds. Play spaces
GV 975-975.5 Golf courses. Greens. Driving ranges
NA 2542.35 Environmental aspects of architecture
NA 2542.36 Sustainable architecture
SB 433-433.34 Lawns and turf, management of
SB 463 Topiary work
SB 469-469.35 General Landscape Architecture
SB 469.37-469.386 Landscape architects
SB 469.75-469.78 Exhibitions
SB 470.5-470.55 History and conditions
SB 470.7 Symbolism of gardens
SB 472.3-472.32 Practical works on landscaping. Handbooks, manuals, etc.
SB 472.45 Landscape design (General). Garden design (General)
SB 472.5-472.565 Landscaping industry
SB 472.7 Urban landscape architecture. Urban vegetation management
SB 472.8 Historic preservation and restoration
SB 475.8-475.83 Water in landscape architecture
- Recomended Books
-
- Landscape Design
-
- Landscape Plants
-
Recommended Online Resources
- ASGCA Architect's Gallery
This source includes digitized video interviews, sample architectural plans, golf course listings, and architect-specific biographies and bibliographies for selected members of the American Society of Golf Course Architects.
- Forest History Society Photograph Collections
Photographs from the first half of the Twentieth Century on a surprisingly wide range of subjects including Forestry Practices, the "Real" Smokey Bear, Bridges and Trestles, Christmas Trees, the San Francisco Earthquake, the Boy Scouts, Farming, and Forestry School pictures, 17 of which are from the Michigan Agricultural College, submitted by Professor A. K. Chittenden in September of 1923.
- Forest Service Landscape Architects
Forest Service Landscape Architects are involved in a wide range of planning and design activities for over 150 National Forests and Grasslands, covering over 192 million acres.
- History of Landscape Architecture
History of Landscape Architecture is a bibliographic research guide to UC Berkeley library and Internet resources for the history of landscape architecture. It includes selected reference titles and historical surveys of landscape architecture history, as well as strategies for locating periodical articles, books, images, etc.
- Landscape Architecture Foundation
A site dedicated to the Landscape Architecture profession.
- Landscape Architecture Image Resource (LAIR)
The LAIR Website has been designed to foster active, collaborative learning and encourage community building across a variety of campuses serving landscape architecture education. This shared image bank is a library of digital images that have been collected from a variety of sources. These images are available to anyone who would like to use them for educational purposes (see Copyrights).
- Landscape Architecture online
Landscape Architecture online lists a few web resources pertaining to landscape architecture, in support of the landscape architecture program at the University of California, Berkeley. Links to more comprehensive link collections are included. Page sections include: Getting Started, Working, Research, and Academic & Research Programs.
- Urban Forestry Resources
Center for Urban Forest Research - CUFR is one of 13 research work units affiliated with the Pacific Southwest Research Station, a USDA Forest Service Organization. "Since 1992 we have provided our customers with reliable scientific evidence that the benefits of urban forests add real value to communities. Our research confirms that trees in our community forests are assets that pay us back."
Urban & Community Forestry - The Urban and Community Forestry Program provides technical, financial, educational, and research services to states, cities, and nonprofit groups so they can plant, protect, maintain, and utilize wood from community trees and forests to maximize environmental, social and economic benefits.
i-Tree - i-Tree is a state-of-the-art, peer-reviewed software suite from the USDA Forest Service that provides urban and community forestry analysis and benefits assessment tools. It s in the public domain and available by request through the i-Tree website.
The i-Tree software suite 2.0 includes the following urban forest analysis tools:
- UFORE (Urban Forest Effects Model) is designed to use standardized field data from randomly located plots throughout a community, along with local hourly air pollution and meteorological data, to quantify urban forest structure, environmental effects and value to communities.
- STRATUM (Street Tree Resource Analysis Tool for Urban forest Managers) utilizes a sample or complete tree inventory to describe tree management needs and quantify the value of annual environmental and aesthetic benefits such as energy conservation, air quality improvement, CO2 reduction, storm water control, and property value increases.
- In addition to the analysis programs, the suite includes several management applications & utilities: MCTI (Mobile Community Tree Inventory), Storm Damage Assessment Protocol, Species Selector (Beta), Integrated Tree Inventory Utilities, and Sample Inventory Generators.
Associations, Organizations
- American Institute of Certified Planners
AICP is the American Planning Association's professional institute, providing recognized leadership nationwide in the certification of professional planners, ethics, professional development, planning education, and the standards of planning practice.
- American Planning Association
The American Planning Association is a nonprofit public interest and research organization committed to urban, suburban, regional, and rural planning. APA and its professional institute, the American Institute of Certified Planners, advance the art and science of planning to meet the needs of people and society.
- American Society of Landscape Architects - Michigan Chapter
SITES Newsletter (present and past issues in pdf format)
LANDonline - current issue, searchable index to the archives
- American Society of Golf Course Architects
Formed in 1946, the ASGCA was the first professional organization of golf course designers in America and, for over 50 years, its members have designed some of the world's greatest courses. Our member designers are among the best in the world and are actively involved in the design of new courses and the renovation of existing courses in the United States and Canada.
- American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA)
Founded in 1899, ASLA is the national professional association for landscape architects, representing more than 18,200 members in 48 professional chapters and 68 student chapters. Landscape architecture is a comprehensive discipline of land analysis, planning, design, management, preservation, and rehabilitation.
- Canadian Society of Landscape Architects (CSLA)
The Canadian Society of Landscape Architects (CSLA) is the national professional association that represents landscape architects in Canada.
- Council of Educators in Landscape Architecture
The Council of Educators in Landscape Architecture is composed of virtually all of the programs of landscape architecture in the United States, Canada, Australia and New Zealand. The members of the faculty of these institutions are invited to participate in the Council. CELA can trace its beginnings to 1920, and for more than seventy years has been concerned with the content and quality of professional education in landscape architecture.
- Golf Course Builders Association of America
The Golf Course Builders Association of America is a nonprofit trade association of the world's foremost golf course builders and leading suppliers to the golf course construction industry. It was founded in the early 1970s, and its members represent all segments of the golf course construction industry.
- International Federation of Landscape Architects
IFLA represents the landscape architectural profession globally, providing leadership and networks supporting the development of the profession and its effective participation in the realization of attractive and sustainable environments.
- PLANET
PLANET, the Professional Landcare Network, is an international association serving lawn care professionals, landscape management contractors, design/build/installation professionals, and interior plantscapers. PLANET emerged on January 1, 2005, when the Associated Landscape Contractors of America (ALCA) and the Professional Lawn Care Association of America (PLCAA) joined forces to become a more encompassing network of green industry professionals.
Additional Research Guides
Here is a list of other Research Guides on plant and related topics:
Ask a Librarian
- Landscape Design
-
- Landscape Plants
-
Page Coordinator: Suzanne Teghtmeyer teghtmey@mail.lib.msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=1630
Last updated: 05-21-2009
|