Collection Development Policy Statement: General Science |
Table of Contents:
|
I. PURPOSE OR SCOPE OF THE COLLECTION
A. Curricular/Research/Programmatic Needs The general science collection of the Michigan State University Main Library supports the instructional and research needs of faculty and students in Lyman Briggs College, the curricular needs of students doing coursework in Integrative Studies in Physical & Biological Sciences, and the general science interest needs of University faculty and students. Lyman Briggs College is devoted to the study of the natural sciences and their impact on society. Although the College is multidisciplinary and supports many majors in the sciences, it offers a specific major in the History, Philosophy, and Sociology of Science which is emphasized in this collection. Lyman Briggs College and the MSU Department of Fisheries have recently developed a new specialization in Science, Technology, Environment, and Public Policy. Materials to support this new specialization will be emphasized as well.The collection is heavily used by faculty in the History and Philosophy Departments, as well as by those in a broad spectrum of other departments such Economics, Mathematics, Physics, Classics, Biology, etc. II. FACTORS INFLUENCING COLLECTION POLICY A. Anticipated Future Trends There is a growing interest in the philosophy of science. The study of the philosophy of science is divided into two areas of concern: the process of scientific research & discovery and the fruits of that process — the things we discover and the insights we gain. This is an ever-changing area of study that affects science and society topics. New specializations and collaborative relationships in the areas of history and philosophy of science will require library support. In addition, the efforts of the University Committee on Liberal Learning to set competencies and learning outcomes for scientific literacy may impact use of the collection.The growing number of online courses, as well as an overall desire for remote access to library resources, will increase the demand for electronic formats of books and journals, both current subscriptions and digitized archives. B. Relationships to Resources Treated in Other Policy Statement
As part of the Michigan Research Libraries Triangle, MSU Libraries maintain reciprocal borrowing agreements with the University of Michigan and Wayne State Libraries. Materials are also obtained via interlibrary loan from CIC and other institutions. Popular titles may often be obtained from Michigan libraries participating in MeLCat. C. Relationship to Resources Treated in Other Policy Statements History & philosophy of science materials may be included in the policy statements of many scientific disciplines including:
III. ANALYSIS OF THE SUBJECT FIELD A. Chronology of the Subject: Emphasis/Restrictions All Periods B. Languages of Resources Collected; Exclusions/Emphasis/Translations Chiefly English, but materials in German, French, and other European languages are also collected. C. Geography of the Subject; Emphasis, Restrictions International. African materials may be purchased and housed in the Africana Library. D. Format of the Resources Collected; Restrictions, if any All appropriate formats, including print, electronic, audio-visual and microforms, are collected. E. Date of Publication of Resources Collected; Emphasis, If Any With the exception of essential historical works, important classics, or reprints as needed, materials published within the immediate past five years are emphasized. IV. LEVELS OF COLLECTING INTENSITY
V. COLLECTION MANAGEMENT ISSUES Specific policies, if any, on replacement, de-selection, out of print acquisitions, preservation, etc. Multiple copies may be purchased for high demand titles and/or titles authored by MSU faculty. Replacement copies may be ordered, as funds permit, for missing or damaged heavily-used titles or parts of multi-volume works.Out-of-print materials are not normally considered for purchase, unless there is a compelling need for a unique item that has been officially classified as missing or damaged beyond repair. Preservation decisions follow the general guidelines established by the Main Library.Page Coordinator: Emily Alford bartone1@mail.lib.msu.edu This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=1681 Last updated: 02-24-2009 |
