Link to print-friendly version


Collection Development Policy Statement: Packaging

Table of Contents:

I. PURPOSE OR SCOPE OF COLLECTION


A. Curricular/Research/Programmatic Needs

With the establishment of the School of Packaging in 1952, Michigan State University became the first university in the world to institute packaging as a discipline; in 1996 the School was the first to offer a doctoral program in packaging. As the oldest and largest packaging educational institution in the world, The MSU School of Packaging is an internationally-recognized leader in packaging research; its faculty and graduates have made and continue to make significant contributions to every sector of the industry.

The packaging collection of the Michigan State University Libraries serves the instructional and research needs of faculty and students in the School of Packaging as well as those in other disciplines concerned with packaging and its environmental impacts.

The School of Packaging offers both undergraduate and graduate programs leading to Bachelor of Science, Master of Science, and Doctor of Philosophy degrees. The program is designed to prepare graduates for positions in purchasing, production, quality control, package development, research, sales, marketing, testing or technical service. Specialized study may be done in areas such as food, industrial, or medical and pharmaceutical packaging. Graduate programs focus on distribution packaging, the environmental impact and recycling of packaging materials, human factors in packaging, packaging systems development and optimization, barrier characteristics of packaging systems and materials, quality preservation and storage stability of packaged products, the mechanical properties of packaging materials, and product and/or package damage in the physical distribution environment.

B. History of the Collection/Existing Strengths and Emphases

The packaging collection in the Main Library dates back to the founding of the School in 1952; however, a portion of the collection was removed in September of 1963 when the Engineering Library was created. What remained behind appeared to be a rather haphazard assortment of materials; however, more purposeful collecting since 1993 has resulted in a revival of the Main Library=s packaging collection, which is scattered throughout the building in a number of call number classifications, depending upon the packaging material (e.g., paperboard, plastics, glass, metal), packaged product (e.g., food, pharmaceuticals, electronics), or focus (package design), although AHF@ and ATS@ are the primary call number areas. Some materials are located in the Business Library (e.g., distribution packaging, warehousing, packaging law) or Engineering Library (polymer science). The School of Packaging Reading Room provides some additional support for the teaching and research needs of packaging graduate students and faculty and complements the Libraries= collections in this area.



II. FACTORS INFLUENCING COLLECTION POLICY

A. Anticipated Future Trends

The doctoral program in packaging will continue to require strong library support, with particular emphasis on food packaging innovations, permeability and shelf life, polymeric packaging materials, and tamper-evident and environmentally sound packaging. The growing number of online courses , including an online Master of Science in Packaging, as well as an overall desire for remote access to library resources, will continue to increase the demand for networked resources and electronic journals.

B. Relationships With Other Resources

1. On Campus Branch or Format Collections, if any.

Materials in the Business, Engineering, and Biomedical & Physical Sciences Libraries help support the needs of the School of Packaging.

2. Regional or Network Resources, if any.

As part of the Michigan Research Libraries Triangle, MSU Libraries maintains reciprocal borrowing agreements with the University of Michigan and Wayne State Libraries. Materials are also obtained via interlibrary loan from other CIC institutions or from commercial suppliers such as Pira International.

C. Relationships to Resources Treated in Other Policy Statements
Business: packaging industry, distribution, logistics
Chemistry: polymer chemistry
Engineering: package engineering, materials science
Environmental Studies: packaging waste, recycling
Fine Arts: packaging design, printing
Law: packaging & environmental law and regulation


II. ANALYSIS OF THE SUBJECT FIELD

A. Chronology of the Subject

The emphasis is on current research and trends in the packaging industry.

B. Languages of Resources Collected

The primary language of acquired materials is English. There is a limited amount of French, Spanish, and German language material.

C. Geography of the Subject

The primary emphasis is on the United States, Canada, and Great Britain; however, since international coverage is highly desired, English-language publications may be purchased regardless of country of origin or geographic treatment.

D. Format of the Resources Collected and Treatment of the Subject

The research journal is very important, but trade publications are also heavily utilized. Because of the undergraduate component, monographs also serve an important function. Emphasis has traditionally been on print materials; however, video and microform formats may be considered. Electronic resources will become even more prevalent in the future.

E. Date of Publication of Resources Collected

The primary focus is on current materials, although some retrospective collection building may be done.



IV. LEVELS OF COLLECTING INTENSITY IN THE MAIN LIBRARY

Packaging resources fall into a number of Library of Congress classification categories depending upon the packaging material (e.g., paperboard, plastics, glass, metal) or packaged product (e.g., food, pharmaceuticals, electronics), although AHF@ and ATS@ are the primary call number areas. While every effort has been made to be as inclusive as possible, some areas of interest (e.g., shipping and warehousing, packaging law and regulation) have been omitted because they are treated in other policy statements (see Section II, C). Collection in most areas is at the instructional (3) or research level (4).

Conspectus Call # Ranges Subject Level
HF 5770 Packaging Industry 4
NC 997-1003 Commercial Art (including packaging graphics & design) 3
RS 159.5 Pharmaceutical Packaging 3
TA 1215 Transportation Engineering--Freight 3
TD 195.P26 Special Environmental Pollutants--Packaging Goods Industry 3
TP 374 Food Packaging 4
TP 866 Glass Packaging 3
TP 1080-1185 Polymers, Plastics and their Manufacture 3
TS 195-198.8 Packaging Engineering 4
TS 1200.A2-.Z Paper (bags, boxes) 3


V. COLLECTION MANAGEMENT ISSUES

Specific policies, if any, on replacement, de-selection, out of print acquisitions, preservation, etc.

Multiple copies may be purchased for high demand titles and/or titles authored by MSU faculty.

Replacement copies, if available, are usually ordered for high circulation material or that which is important to the completeness of the collection.

Out-of-print materials may be considered for purchase when there is a compelling need for a unique item that has been officially classified as missing or damaged beyond repair.

Preservation decisions follow the general guidelines established by the Main Library.



Page Coordinator: Anita Ezzo ezzoa@msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=1700
Last updated: 03-12-2008

© 2006 Michigan State University Board of Trustees. MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity institution.