Link to print-friendly version


Collection Development Policy Statement: Parks and Recreation

I PURPOSE OR SCOPE OF COLLECTION

A. Curricular, Research and Programmatic Needs:

The MSU Libraries supports the research and teaching needs of faculty and students through the doctoral level in Park, Recreation and Tourism Resources. MSU offers degrees in Park, Recreation and Tourism Resources through the college of agriculture and natural resources.

B. History of the Collection/Existing Strengths and Emphases

Michigan State University began and remains agriculturally focused. Parks and recreation are a part of that focus.



II. FACTORS INFLUENCING COLLECTION POLICY

A. Anticipated Future Trends

Collecting should follow and anticipate, when possible, major trends and developments in parks and recreation. The collection should also reflect significant curricular changes. Several purchases made through the CIC for electronic journal packages are available to MSU affiliates.

B. Relationships with Other Resources

Regional or network resources:

There are significant collections in the area of parks, recreation, and tourism at both the University of Michigan Libraries and at Wayne State University, as well as other CIC institutions.

C. Relationships to Resources Treated in Other Policy Statements

The resources collected in the botanical sciences will have a direct relationship to the Agricultural Sciences collection development policy. Overlap may also occur with Hospitality Business.



III. ANALYSIS OF THE SUBJECT FIELD


A. Chronology of the Subject:

Collecting emphasizes current research and trends, not historical material, although historical literature is maintained. The journal literature covers all aspects of the field.

B. Languages of Resources Collected:

Only English language materials are collected.

C. Geography of the Subject:

Mainly North America, but other areas are collected as well.

D. Format of the Resources Collected:

Formats include scholarly (and some popular) journal literature (both print and electronic), monographs, government publications, websites, field guides, and bibliographies. Due to the high demand for convenient access to information, electronic journals are given priority whenever possible.

E. Date of Publication of Resources Collected:

Current research is emphasized. The MSU Libraries does not collect retrospectively in this area, and guidebooks, tourist information, and similar resources are weeded regularly for currency.



IV. LEVELS OF COLLECTING INTENSITY

Call # Range Subject Level
SB 481-486 Parks and Public reservations 3a
Including theory, management, and history
GV1-200 Recreation 2a


V. COLLECTION MANAGEMENT ISSUES

Specific policies, if any, on replacement, de-selection, out of print acquisition, preservation, etc. Replacement of will occur when appropriate for heavily used or high circulation items.

  • Multiple copies are rarely purchased.
  • Rare or out-of-print items are seldom purchased.
  • Preservation follows the guidelines established by the MSU Libraries.


Page Coordinator: Emily Alford bartone1@mail.lib.msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=1705
Last updated: 02-24-2009

© 2006 Michigan State University Board of Trustees. MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity institution.