Link to print-friendly version


Collection Development Policy Statement: Osteopathic Medicine

Written by: Leslie Behm
Revised by: Arlene Weismantel (2004), Marilia Antunez (2006), Susan Kendall (2009)
Initial Draft: August 3, 1998

Table of Contents:

I. PURPOSE OR SCOPE OF COLLECTION


A. Curricular, Research and Programmatic Needs

The primary purpose of the collection is to provide the information resources specifically in osteopathy needed to support the teaching, research and clinical practice of the faculty and students in the College of Osteopathic Medicine. The College of Osteopathic Medicine provides educational programs leading to the Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (DO) degree as well as master's and PhD programs in its basic science departments. The College also offers a dual degree program, the Medical Scientist Training Program, for students who wish to pursue a DO and PhD degree simultaneously. In 2009, the College expanded medical education to two locations in southeast Michigan (Macomb County and Detroit) besides the original location in East Lansing. All three sites provide the first two years of medical school, after which students go to hospital sites around the state for their 3rd and 4th years. The College of Osteopathic Medicine is integrated with approximately twenty Michigan community hospitals in a Statewide Campus System for both 3rd and 4th year undergraduate (D.O.) and graduate (residency) education.

The basic science departments jointly owned by the College of Osteopathic Medicine and other MSU Colleges are Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Microbiology and Medical Genetics, Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Physiology. The clinical departments include Family and Community Medicine, Internal Medicine, Neurology and Ophthalmology, Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine, Osteopathic Surgical Specialties, Pediatrics, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Psychiatry and Radiology. Many of the clinical departments are also jointly owned by MSU's College of Human Medicine

The vast majority of resources used by faculty and students in the College of Osteopathic Medicine for research, teaching, or study are covered by other collection policies. Students studying for the DO degree study most of the same preclinical and clinical medical topics as those studying for the MD degree. Research materials used by faculty would fall under the policies for basic biomedical sciences or clinical medicine. This policy covers only those few materials published specifically in osteopathy.

B. History of the Collection and Existing Strengths and Emphases

The existing collection builds upon a gift from Donald Seihl, D.O. The MSU Libraries owns approximately 38% of the recommended titles in the American Osteopathic Association’s Osteopathic Medical Literature in Print (2004) and approximately 50% of the titles in the Medical Library Association’s Osteopathic medicine: an annotated bibliography and guide to the literature (1998).



II. FACTORS INFLUENCING COLLECTION POLICY


A. Anticipated Future Trends

Collecting should follow and anticipate, when possible, major trends and developments in osteopathic medicine. Publishing in osteopathic medicine seems to have decreased in recent years. There are only a few books in osteopathic medicine published per year and few journals are currently active. Wherever possible electronic resources are purchased so that they are accessible remotely and to distance students.

B. Relationships to Resources Treated in Other Policy Statements

The following policies cover many of the resources used by College of Osteopathic Medicine faculty and students that are not specifically osteopathic in nature:

  • Medicine
  • Biological/Biomedical Sciences
  • Psychology
  • Social Work
  • Education
  • Chemistry

C. Relationships with Other Libraries and Resources

  1. The Kobiljak Resource Center (KRC) and the Kobiljak Computer Center (KCC)
  2. The Kobiljak Resource Center (KRC) and the Kobiljak Computer Center (KCC) are interactive educational facilities within the College of Osteopathic Medicine. The centers were funded by a generous gift from the family of Dr. Stefan Hans Kobiljak, Jr. The Resource Center houses selected osteopathic textbooks and journals, class readings, and audiovisual materials. The Kobiljak Computer Center (KCC) provides technical support and access to computer-based instructional software.

  3. Hospital Libraries
  4. The College of Osteopathic Medicine provides clinical experiences to DO students at affiliated base hospitals and to residents at hospitals that are a part of the Statewide Campus System, therefore, affiliated hospital libraries play a significant role in the delivery of information services to our faculty and students.

  5. Regional and Network Resources
  6. The osteopathic medicine bibliographer has a cooperative working relationship with local health sciences librarians and organizations because programs are hospital-and community-based. Relationships with local and state librarians can be maintained through participation in organizations such as the Michigan Health Sciences Libraries Association (MHSLA) and the Mid-Michigan Health Sciences Libraries (MMHSL).

    The collection is a component of the National Network of Libraries of Medicine, Greater Midwest Region (NN/LM GMR). The MSU Libraries have signed agreements committing us to serve as a NN/LM GMR Resource and Outreach library. The role of the Resource Library is to meet the information access needs of health professionals in the region through resource sharing. Resource Libraries support the network by participating in DOCLINE and providing Loansome Doc service. Outreach Libraries fulfill all the obligations of Resource Libraries and, in addition, participate in the implementation of outreach programs to unaffiliated health professionals and consumers, and provide Loansome Doc service to Affiliate Member libraries. MSU is the only Committee on Institutional Cooperation institution member with a College of Osteopathic Medicine.



III. ANALYSIS OF THE SUBJECT FIELD

A. Chronology of the Subject

The emphasis is on current practice and policies.

B. Languages of Resources Collected

Osteopathy originated in the United States and is presently an American profession; therefore, English language material dominates. Key texts or translations in other languages may be purchased.

C. Geography of the Subject

Because osteopathy originated in the United States, the overwhelming majority of the literature is produced in the United States.

D. Format of the Resources Collected

Serials, encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, directories, proceedings, government publications, bibliographies, and materials related to certification, licensure and specialized education/training are collected.

Not collected: Theses from other institutions, catalogs, audiovisuals, programmed texts, laboratory manuals, examination review materials, ephemera, clinical software.

E. Date of Publication of Resources Collected

The emphasis is on current publications, though all material from the beginning of osteopathy in 1865 may be considered.

IV. LEVELS OF COLLECTING INTENSITY

Using the Collection Depth Indicators (from the Columbia University Libraries):

0) Out-of-Scope, not collected

1) Minimal information level

a. Minimal information level, uneven coverage (1a)

2) Basic information level

3) Study or instructional support level

4) Research level

5) Comprehensive level

RZ 221-232 Chiropractic 1a
RZ 320-399 Osteopathic Medicine 4


V. COLLECTION MANAGEMENT ISSUES


A. Replacement

Major texts, heavily circulated, high-interest or one-of-a-kind items should be replaced when appropriate.

B. Multiple Copies

Added copies of high-interest material may be purchased.

C. Out of Print

Out of print materials are seldom pursued.



Page Coordinator: Susan Kendall skendall@msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=1710
Last updated: 01-07-2009

© 2006 Michigan State University Board of Trustees. MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity institution.