Link to print-friendly version


Collection Development Policy Statement: Chicano Latin Studies

Table of Contents:

I. PURPOSE OR SCOPE OF COLLECTION

To support the courses of study offered by the University at the undergraduate and graduate levels in the areas of Chicano Studies, Boricua Studies, and the study of other U.S. born Latino populations and immigrant communities;Ethnic Studies, and to provide resource material needed to support independent scholarly research. The MSU Libraries collects as thoroughly as possible all library or archival materials which relate to Chicanos and Latinos in the United States, particularly those in Michigan and the Midwest, or which are written or produced by Chicanos or Latinos. Because of the multi-disciplinary nature of these fields, a number of departments and research centers have an interest in the materials acquired (e.g., the Julian Samora Research Institute, the Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies, History, WRAC, American Studies, Anthropology, etc.).

II. General Collection Guidelines

A. Languages

English and Spanish are the primary languages of the collection. Works published in German, French and Italian are purchased in the original and, when available, in English or Spanish translation. Works published originally in languages other than those mentioned above are generally purchased only when translated into English or Spanish.

B. Chronological Guidelines

Materials for the period of the early Spanish explorers (16th century) to the present are acquired.

C. Geographical Guidelines:

Inclusive of the United States boundaries;the United States-Mexico borderlands and some Puerto Rican (island) materials supporting the mainland Puerto Rican experience and the experiences of Chicanos and Latinos abroad. This does not include the experiences of resident populations in their home countries (e.g.Mexicans in Mexico, Cubans in Cuba, etc.)

D. Treatment of Subject:

All materials dealing with any aspect of Chicanos as well as other Latinos in the United States at any level are acquired. Works which treat historical, social, cultural, and political aspects of Chicanos and Latinos in the U.S. are especially of interest.

E. Types of Materials:

In addition to the usual formats acquired by the Libraries, it will also acquire conference proceedings on Chicano or Latino related issues, publications of Chicano and Latino research centers, reports of private or quasi-public agencies, publications of Chicano and Latino professional organizations, archival material, microforms and all types of audiovisual materials-sound recordings, videocassette, slides etc. (especially those unique and locally produced items)-posters, theses and dissertations, relevant government documents (especially state and federal), children's literature of selected authors bearing a mark on Chicano/Latino literature, and ephemera.

F. Date of Publication:

Emphasis is on current works, but retrospective works are also acquired.



III. OBSERVATIONS AND QUALIFICATIONS BY SUBJECT AND L CLASSIFICATION:

Materials relating to Chicano and Latino studies

in any and all subject areas and subject subdivisions are also collected by the Ethnic Studies Bibliographer, Latin American Studies Bibliographer. In addition, subject specialists such as the Art Librarian, Special Collections Librarian, etc. contribute to the overall development of the Chicano and Latino Studies collection. The classification numbers listed below are those at which a substantial quantity of materials are found; however, due to the scope of the collection, this listing is not comprehensive.]

Subject LC Class. Location CDP Level Selectors
MEXICAN AMERICANS E 184.M5 MAIN/CV 4 DHR
General Works (Michigan/Midwest/US-Borderlands (primary US imprints) F395.M5;F786-787 MAIN/CV 4 DHR
ART N6538.M4 FINE ART/CV 4 TW/DHR
THEATER PN2270.M48 MAIN/CV MR/DHR
LITERATURE (includes literary history and criticism; Mexican American authors; poetry; drama) PS508.M4; PS3551-3576;PS591.M4; MAIN/CV
PUBLIC HEALTH RA448.5M5 MAIN/CV 4 JC/DHR
BIBLIOGRAPHY Z1361.M4 MAIN/SS 4 MAT/DHR
CUBAN AMERICANS E184.C97 MAIN 4 DHR
PUERTO RICANS ON THE MAINLAND E184.P85 MAIN/CV 4 DHR
OTHER LATINOS IN THE U.S.
General works E184.S75 MAIN 4 DHR
LITERATURE (including Latino authors; COMICS) PS508.H57PN6700 MAINSPC 4 MR/DHRRS/DHR
RELIGION (Primarily the history of Christianity in the U.S. and Catholicism as it relates to Chicanos and other Latinos) BR563; BX1407 MAIN 4 AHW/DHR
GENEALOGY (Particularly that of Southwestern U.S. and the U.S.-Mexico borderlands dealing with research methodology) CS1-110 MAIN/CV 3 MEU/DHR
FOLKLORE (Primarily Chicano and Puerto Rican Folklore of the U.S. GR111 MAIN/CV 4 DF/DHR
LABOR (Generally limited to U.S. imprints, but also includes Mexican imprints of works on Chicano and Latino migrants and agricultural laborers, Latino alien labor in the U.S.) HD1525 MAIN/CV 4 LL/DHR
IMMIGRATION (Generally limited to U.S. imprints of works on Latin American migration to the U.S. and Latino immigrant communities JV 6200-7539 MAIN/CV 4 JH/DHR
EDUCATION (Includes the education of Mexican Americans and other Latino groups; the bilingual education of the Spanish speaking L 2667-2698 MAIN/CV 4 KAC/DHR


Page Coordinator: Diana Rivera huizarri@msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=1740
Last updated: 04-09-2008

© 2006 Michigan State University Board of Trustees. MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity institution.