Print Resources
- Catalog
-
- Finding Books in the MSU Libraries
How do I search for books on my topic?
To search for books in the MSU Libraries on a topic, you will need to use the library catalog. The catalog is a searchable listing of materials owned and located in the MSU Libraries, including: books, journals, government documents, microforms, videos/DVDs/CDs, etc.
When should I use the library catalog?
- To find whether we own a specific book, including its location and call number
- To browse for books on a topic
- To find whether we subscribe to a specific magazine, journal, or newspaper
NOTE: You cannot use the library catalog to find individual articles within a magazine-you must use a periodical index for that.
- General Genealogy
The library offers a number of general genealogy resources including:
- Professional genealogy : a manual for researchers, writers, editors, lecturers, and librarians / editor, Elizabeth Shown Mills ; editorial board, Donn Devine, James L. Hansen, Helen F.M. Leary. Baltimore, Md. : Genealogical Pub. Co., 2001.
- Kashuba, Melinda. Walking with your ancestors : a genealogist's guide to using maps and geography. Cincinnati, OH : Family Tree Books, c2005.
- Kemp, Thomas Jay. The American census handbook. Wilmington, Del. : Scholarly Resources, 2001.
- Ancestry's red book : American state, county & town sources / edited by Alice Eichholz ; maps by William Dollarhide.Salt Lake City, UT : Ancestry Publ., c1992, 1989.
- Rose, James M. Black genesis : a resource book for African-American genealogy. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Pub. Co., 2003.
- Schaefer, Christina K. The hidden half of the family : a sourcebook for women's genealogy. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Pub., c1999.
- County Histories
The Library has many county histories for Michian and some for other states and countries. Most can be found in Oversize Books and 3 East. Some examples are:
- City Directories
The library has some city directories including for Lansing, East Lansing, and Michigan State University. These can be found on 3 East.
- Area History Books
Area History Books are books about specific areas. Some examples are:
- Federal Writers' Project (Ky.). Kentucky: A Guide to the Bluegrass State, Compiled and Written by the Federal Writers' Project of the Work Projects Administration for the State of Kentucky ... Sponsored by the University of Kentucky. New York, Harcourt, Brace and Company, 1939.
- Smith, Z. F. (Zachariah Frederick), 1827-1911. The History of Kentucky : From Its Earliest Discovery and Settlement, to the Present Date ... Its Military Events and Achievements, and Biographic Mention of its Historic Characters. Louisville : Courier-journal job printing company ; 1882 [c1885].
- The Encyclopedia of Louisville / John E. Kleber, editor in chief ; Mary Jean Kinsman, managing editor ; Thomas D. Clark, Clyde F. Crews, George H. Yater, associate editors. Lexington : University Press of Kentucky, c2001.
- Ceasar, Ford Stevens. The bicentennial history of Ingham County, Michigan. [Mason, Mich.? : Ingham County?], 1976.
- Adams, Franc L., Mrs. Pioneer history of Ingham County, compiled and arranged by Mrs. Franc L. Adams, secretary of the Ingham County pioneer and historical society. Lansing, Mich., Wynkoop Hallenbeck Crawford company, 1923-.
- Honor roll and war history of Ingham County, Michigan, in the great world war, 1914 to 1918. Lansing, Mich. : State Journal Co., [1919?].
- Edmonds, J. P. Early Lansing history. Lansing, Mich. : F. Dekleine Co., 1944.
- Through the years : a pictorial history of greater Lansing, 1847-1997. East Lansing, Mich. : Visions Sports Management Group, c1997.
- Family History Books
The library has some books on family names including:
- Crimm, A. Carolina Castillo. De Leon, a Tejano family history. Austin : University of Texas Press, 2003.
- Stevens, Archie H. The Stevens family history and their worldwide moving, storage & van lines businesses : 1905-2001. East Tawas, Mich. : Archie H. Stevens, [2001].
- Kilfoy, Helen Hicks. Hicks-Thurber family history : Robert and Zoe. Chicago, Ill. (5000 Marine Dr. 8A, Chicago 60640) : H.H. Kilfoy, c1982.
- Wyndham, H. A. (Hugh Archibald). A family history, 1410-1688; the Wyndhams of Norfolk and Somerset. London, New York [etc.] Oxford university press, 1939.
- Wyndham, H. A. (Hugh Archibald). A family history, 1688-1837 : the Wyndhams of Somerset, Sussex, and Wiltshire. London ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1950.
- Maps and Atlases
The Map Library is located on 3 West.
-
- Atlases and Plat Books
There are county atlases that show rural land ownership and are popularly known as "plat books" or "plat atlases" though that usually isn't in the title. The best catalog search is [county name, county] and real property. You should limit the search to the Map Library in order to weed out records of things at the Library of Michigan. Example:
Barry County and real property (limited to Map Library).
The Map Library has atlases for all counties of Michigan, usually one atlas every 3-5 years; with maybe 1-3 pre-1950 atlases for most counties. The atlases older than about 1930 are in Maps' Permanent Reserves and can be used with staff assistance.
- Maps
There are also a number of maps including:
- Newspapers
Newspapers can be found on 2 West. Most past issues are on microfilm.
Electronic Resources Available in the Library
These resources can be accessed in the library on the selected resources computers.
- Find E-Resources
Search MSU Library databases, newspapers, and useful websites.
- Michigan County Histories
The Michigan County Histories Collection is projected to provide access to 192 histories dating from 1866 to 1926. There are 202 volumes in 170 titles currently online, including numerous historical county plat atlases. This is a public resource and can be accessed from any computer.
-
- Atlases and Geography
You can find maps from across the country to across the globe.
- Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps of Michigan
The Sanborn Map Company worked from the 1870's to the 1950's to create very large scale maps of thousands of towns in America. They show hard-to-find information about the history of cities and towns. They don't say who owned plots of land (like plat books do for farmland) but they do show all the buildings, their addresses, and in commercial areas the type of business establishment in each building.
- The Making of Modern Michigan: Digitizing Michigan's Hidden Past
It includes local history materials from communities around the state. Michigan's unique heritage is represented through photographs, family papers, oral histories, genealogical materials, and much more. It is fun to browse through the collection!
- New York Times, 1851-2003
Do you have any New York ancestors? If so, check out this newspaper.
-
- Additional Newspapers
You can find additional newspapers from across the globe including Times of London.
- Subject Search on History
There are many area specific resources including Ireland, England, Michigan, and Canada and time specific resources including the Civil War, Eighteenth-Century Life, and America in the 1930s.
- Ancestry Library Edition
Contains coverage of the U.S. and the U.K., including census, vital, church, court, and immigration records, as well as record collections from Canada and other areas. There is a Map Center containing more than 1,000 historical maps; American Genealogical Biographical Index (over 200 volumes), Daughters of the American Revolution Lineage (over 150 volumes), The Great Migration Begins: Immigrants to New England, 1620-1630, Social Security Death Index, WWI Draft Registration Cards, Federal Slave Narratives, and a Civil War collection.
- Heritage Quest Online
This a web site used to search census records, family and local history books, PERSI, Revolutionary War records, and Freedman's Bank records.
Resources Outside the Library
- Web Sites
The web sites are accessible on full application or your personal computers only. They cannot be accessed on the selected resource machines.
-
- GENDIS (Genealogical Death Indexing System)
This is an excellent place to go when looking for death information in Michigan. It currently contains information on 170,000 Michigan death records from 1867-1884. It is done by the Michigan Department of Community Health and is free to the public.
- RootsWeb.com
Great source and it is free!
- US GenWeb
This gives information about the states and counties. One of my favorites! It is run by volunteers and is free.
- U.S. Newspapers
Need to know the newspapers in an area? This will help.
- Multigen
This database searches and provides links to multiple popular databases.
- Census Finder
This web site will help you find census records for the U.S., United Kingdom, and Canada.
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness
This web site has volunteers that will look up information in out of reach areas. You can also volunteer to help people.
- The WorldGenWeb Project
Similar to usgenweb, this web site provides free resources for places across the globe.
- Cindi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet
Cindi's List provides links to tons of other genealogy resources.
- Other Libraries
There are libraries with genealogy collections including:
Finding Assistance in the MSU Libraries
Page Coordinator: Breezy Silver silverbr@msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=1768
Last updated: 05-02-2008
|