Link to print-friendly version


Collection Development Policy Statement: Main Library Reference et. al.

A) Introduction

A1. Mission of the collection

Main Library Reference serves MSU Libraries users by offering a place (physical or virtual, for which purpose PCs are on hand) where readers can find, browse and use information resources that are both general and specialized, in a mix of electronic (through PCs available there) and printed formats, and as part of an extensive collection offering several approaches to most topics. This is a shared collection for the community that should be available on demand: for that reason materials are either offered as non-circulating items that don't leave the building or online. The collection also is meant to relieve individuals from the burden of acquiring on their own unusual, expensive or specialized works, or a whole body of related works. Public service in reference connects users with the collection by making readers aware of the offerings, helping them choose among available options, and coaching them on successful use of the content. The 1-East desk is also the principal service point for government documents-related public service.

A2. Concepts behind the collection

The contents and design of the collection should promote independent use of both print and digital resources by library users, coaching of users by reference desk staff, and research by bibliographers/subject specialists who use reference publications as tools.

To promote traffic, Main Library Reference occupies a highly visible physical space on 1-East, and has major concerns about the presentation of reference material in both MAGIC (the OPAC) and ERASMUS (Electronic Resources) through the library Web site.

The collection is limited in size, extensive enough to cover disciplines and topics of interest in the campus community, but small enough to be understood and browsed independently by most users. Appropriate materials are current, accurate and relevant to users' needs. Because such materials are more likely to be used, we favor those with a clear purpose and good organization, and in English unless there is good reason to feature other languages.

Materials that are no longer current, relevant or likely to be used by patrons (keeping in mind that regular use by a small set of patrons is acceptable) should be transferred to other locations, usually the Main stacks (the Consulting Reference area is being phased out). Volumes of index and abstracting tools that are replaced by online versions in most cases should be transferred to the Main stacks (but in some cases can go into Remote Storage). Space shortages in the Main stacks must be taken into account, and may limit transfers.

Physical design of the area should make it easy for library users to work independently, or to consult with public services staff. Key elements include signs and maps, waist-high shelf units that double as reading surfaces, and a centralize reference desk location with clear lines of sight to all parts of the collection, so that staff and readers (including those using PCs) can see each other. We maintain some "alcoves" (such as Biography Tools) because they allow convenient browsing of items that would otherwise be dispersed, even thouth this introduces multiple call number sequences. Records for reference materials in the OPAC should assist browsers by clearly showing sub-locations and call numbers (or PC numbers, for stand-alone databases running on a single machine). When materials (such as federal documents) have distinct call numbers, separate sub-locations also are necessary.

A3. History of the MSU Libraries Reference Collections

A reference library has existed for the MSU Libraries since inception.

In 1968, when the East wing of the current Main Library was opened, the various subject divisions in the building (which included reference material) were consolidated in the Research Library (for the social sciences and humanities), the Science Library, and the Undergraduate Library. There was also a reference collection, and incorporation of reference materials from several subject divisions considerably enlarged this 'Reference Library' at this time. While it was intended that undergraduate users should be served by the Undergraduate Library and its reference materials, the 'Reference Library' ended up serving users at all levels because it was located in a central spot on the main floor near both entrances. The Undergraduate Library book collection was integrated into the Research and Science Libraries' collections in 1983. Separate Undergraduate Library reference service was terminated at this time.

The Public Services Study of 1983-1984 revealed the need for further reorganization, and it was decided to enhance services specifically aimed at the undergraduate and new user. Information/Reference was created in the location of the former Reference Library to serve basic reference needs in all subjects. The self-study indicated that in-depth reference services were needed as well, and SSHR was set up on the Ground floor to serve these needs. SSHR contained social sciences and humanities reference materials formerly shelved in the 'Reference Library' that had not been chosen for use by Information/Reference. Science Reference remained part of the Science Library as a separate entity.

The Libraries' reorganization of 1993-1994 further abbreviated the services of the Information/Reference unit in the interests of efficiency and economy. Information/Reference became the Information and Referral Center (IRC) and virtually all reference resources supporting the social sciences and humanities went to SSHR. Public service for government documents shared a desk with SSHR. The Information/Reference collections were adjusted to meet the needs of the campus community for some "public library" functions such as travel, careers and college guides, and telephone directories. Science Reference continued to function as a separate reference unit. The Fine Arts Library was created in the newly renovated fourth floor of the west wing, combined the Art and Music collections, and took over all reference functions related to those subjects. In the early 1990's, Africana also assumed separate reference responsibilities with its own book collection.

In the reorganization of 1999, a reference presence on the Main Library's first floor again was seen as an effective way to serve users, especially those learning to use rapidly changing library technology for research. As electronic resources became more widely available via Web interfaces and local servers, they replaced many print tools, but users still required assistance by library staff acquainted with the content and coverage of available databases, and with the various interfaces. At the same time, end-user access to a proliferation of computer-based sources on the Web broke down some former distinctions between introductory and advanced research practices. The new plan reflected a belief that more users of all kinds could get appropriate levels of expertise if the reference units were combined and became more visible.

IRC was discontinued. Science Reference and SSHR combined  to form a new Main Library Reference unit. In July 1999 service moved to a new desk on 1-East, still shared with Government Documents. The Main Library Reference print format set (reference books from IRC, Science and Gov Docs/SSHR, plus Microforms guides) was divided. A collection of more frequently used reference books surrounded a new combined Reference Desk on 1-East adjacent to PCs offering computer-based tools. This area included "alcoves" for biographical dictionaries, statistical tools, law reporters, directories, and guides to foundations, grants, scholarships, colleges, careers, and travel.

A second area called "Consulting Reference" was established for books that are less frequently used, such as very specialized works, older works that remain "classics" and print indexes that are being superseded by electronic formats. This collection was moved to separate shelf units (first in WG-7 and later at the south end of 1-East), and intended for "in-depth" or comprehensive research by advanced users, alone or in collaboration with subject specialists. Due to space issues in the building as a whole, over time some COR volumes have been transferred to Main, some older encyclopedias and national bibliographies to the CyberCafe, and some journal indexes to storage when online equivalents are available.  

A4. General guidelines for materials in the Main Library Reference collection

This collection consists of both printed reference books and digital tools (accessible from PCs in the area) that support ready reference, introductory research, more extensive investigation of topics, and the daily work of librarians performing tasks in reference, bibliography and instruction.

Representative types of resources [examples of titles in brackets] include:

Works in English are preferred: exceptions include works in other languages in common use in the curriculum [Nouveau Larousse universel].

The collection may include more advanced materials within limits (available space, browsable extent):

Works generally not found in Main Library Reference include:

A5. Circulation of Main Library Reference materials

Circulation policies for reference materials support the mission and concept of the collection. "Building-use only" is the rule because checking out books for home use undermines the concept of a consistently available shared collection to which all members of the community can turn for access on short notice. Rare exceptions are allowable at the discretion of library staff (the appropriate bibliographer, if possible) when users have unusual needs and the books will be gone for a brief period of time (usually several hours, at most a few days).

The Closed Reference (CLR) shelves behind the Reference Desk counters act as a "reserve" area for materials that are likely to be needed by desk staff [almanacs], are at risk for theft [expensive handbooks], would be difficult to replace [census volumes], or are needed often by large numbers of students [citation manuals]. These items circulate on a building-use only basis for two-hour periods, and are secure when the Desk is closed.

Note: Government documents in CD-ROM format are kept in cases behind the Desk, but circulate for longer periods using specific procedures. These document circulation rules do not imply similar circulation of other reference materials.

A6. Staffing in Main Library Reference

Staffing of the Reference Desk supports use of the collection. Service hours reflect hours of anticipated use by the community, including weekend and evening shifts. The Desk is staffed by experienced library personnel (professionals and support staff, but not student workers) who take part in ongoing training. All reference staff are expected to have foundation levels of knowledge about tools in all disciplines: advanced expertise in a specific area is handled on a referral basis and appointments with bibliographers (referral is the appropriate response to some inquiries). The desk is usually double-staffed, which allows lengthier consultation with users, or trips to the stacks to answer certain questions. We offer assistance with computer or network problems within limits: deep mastery of unusual situations is not expected, and acceptable service can consist of: referral to written guides and computer-oriented service points on campus (including LDLS and ACNS). Reference public service has a "teaching" component, and the design of the desk area makes it easy for staff to move to a PC or shelf area with a library user. High levels of traffic can limit how long we spend with a researcher. Good judgement is assumed.

B) Procedures for selection of reference materials

B1. Fund accounts for Main Library Reference

There are two sets of accounts that pay for reference materials are under the supervision of the Head of Main Library Reference: 'refmo/refbl' for social sciences and humanities (and often general works) and 'scrmo/scrbl' for the sciences. The Head takes care of one account, and the other is delegated to a second librarian. Amounts over $____ require the Head's initials, over $____ required the AD for Collections to approve, and networked choices are reviewed by the Collection Coordinators. Bibliographers submit orders to one of these two people, who sign off to show that reference funds can be used to buy the item and that it will be shelved in Reference (with rare exceptions such as branches or Z call numbers in Main). Very expensive purchases, including most networked databases, are approved by the Collection Coordinators meeting chaired by the AD for Collections (with input from Systems about technical and licensing issues) and sometimes will tap other accounts..

The refmo account purchases books bought for several sub-locations (alcoves) on 1-East: travel, careers, college guides, and funding sets; law tools with K call numbers. The sub-location for these books and most serials is obvious, but most monographs are examined by the Head of MLR during processing, and assigned to a sub-location: 1-East, Closed Reference, various alcoves (biography, statistics), or Consulting Reference. When new reference books reach 1-East, they may supercede other volumes or editions: so that the collection retains its focus and size, transfers may be needed.

B2. Responsibility for choices

All library bibliographers (with some exceptions for branches) are expected to identify titles for the collection. The Head of MLR has the final authority to approve use of reference funds (by delegation, so does the librarian managing the science reference fund). Expensive items above a set price require approval by the Assistant Director for Collections. Networked electronic materials are reviewed for cost, technical and licensing purposes at the Collection Coordinators' meeting. Not every "reference" work has to be paid for or shelved in Main Library Reference: some are appropriate for Main or a branch. If space allows, books purchased with other funds can be shelved in Reference. Some topics are covered in the branch libraries: beyond introductory works wanted for 1-East, Main Library Reference should not pay for books to be shelved in branches except by special agreement.

The Head of Main Library Reference should make sure that we buy general works, such as language dictionaries, general encyclopedias, and biographical publications. S/he also seeks balance in the collection, buying from lists in Library Journal and retrospectively from annual "best" lists, and filling apparent gaps.

B3. Electronic resources

We offer electronic reference materials in three ways: as stand-alone resources available on one (or a few) PCs in the reference area, as networked resources (preferably available by IP range to the whole campus), or as individual CD-ROMs checked out to users in Software (except some Government Documents CDs kept on 1-East). Licensing, technical or price issues play a role here.

Selection decisions for electronic resources not only need to take in to account relevance, use, cost and accuracy, but also acceptable licensing language, compatibility with other software on the campus and library network, the number of simultaneous users, ease of use, the availability of MARC records for the content, archiving for preservation, and the relative advantages of renting vs. buying content (including retention of text if subscriptions lapse).

C) Content in the collection

The following kinds of tools are particularly well represented:

The collection is strong in the following fields of study:

Reference materials in some fields of study are found primarily in the external branch libraries: business, mathematics, engineering, the biomedical and physical sciences, planning and design, geology, and law (through the College of Law library). Internal branches within the Main Library support work in Africana, music and fine arts, labor and industrial relations, turfgrass, and maps.

The following sections are more or less in LC call number order.

C1. Library catalogs

We no longer have to buy facsimile catalogs, and don't pay for RLIN access. The catalog of the MSU Libraries is freely available on the Internet: MAGIC. That OPAC also includes records for the MSU College of Law and the state-run Library of Michigan in Lansing. MAGIC offers links to some other library OPACs, especially within the CIC (Big Ten) and in the state of Michigan (including the MeLCat shared state system). Library users have access to OCLC's WorldCat database. See also C28: National Bibliographies.

C2. General encyclopedias and handbooks

The reference area includes recent editions of major multi-volume American encyclopedias [Britannica, World Book, Americana, Academic American]. We try to buy one set in paper each year, but some print sets are not published annually any longer. Online versions tend to be priced by FTE: that pushes our cost so high, that it has not been justifiable relative to use of general encyclopedias (we offer some one-volume encyclopedias in online form: see also C3). The collection includes a few general encyclopedias in major Western languages [Brockhaus], but because there isn't much use we don't buy recent editions very often.

In addition to subject area encyclopedias, the collection includes handy compilations of facts for various fields of study [CRC Handbook]. We buy handbooks to provide quick access to facts [World almanac], or introduce themes in research for a library user unfamiliar with a topic [Animal behavior desk reference]. Current content, scope, design, and publication in English (in some cases in other major world languages) are factors in deciding whether to place such a book on 1-East.

C3. Subject area encyclopedias

The collection includes a wide variety of one-volume or multi-volume encyclopedias supporting specific disciplines or topics of study [Dictionary of American history, Grzimeks] as sources that can answer factual questions or introduce major themes and issues. Similar works may be collected in foreign languages to support the study of foreign languages and literatures [Dictionnaire des écrivains français]. The trend is to publish these works in an online form too: the pricing is often high, relative to expected use.

C4. Biographical dictionaries

The collection is strong on English-language biographical dictionaries, shelved together in the Biography Tools alcove (with older editions in Main). Some are current in coverage[Who's who in America], some are historical [Dictionary of scientific biography]. The online Biography and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI) serves as a personal name index to many of these books. Some sets [Contemporary Authors] have been superceded by online versions [Gale Literature Research Center], and then may be transferred. Good choices are not exclusively in English [Wer ist wer]. For literature, works that combine biographical and critical comment should be assigned to Biography Tools if the biographical content strongly dominates (entries by personal names rather than themes). Membership rosters are not collected. Works about a single figure or titles that cover only a few individuals go to Main. "Biography" of fictional or mythical beings [Dictionary of Celtic mythology] belongs with other reference titles about literature or mythology. Biography Tools are distinguished from the separate area for Directories [Directory of history departments]: these tend to have mainly contact information.

C5. Indexing and abstracting tools

The collection is strong on indexes that analyze the content of periodicals in various disciplines (covering also dissertations, book reviews, conference proceedings, etc). Online tools have replaced a large proportion of the print versions of these sets: many older printed volumes have been transferred to the Main stacks or Remote storage. However, if databases fail to cover some years, volumes for those years are retained [Index Medicus], sometimes in Reference itself.

Some printed index and abstract titles remain on 1-East. In some cases we have online equivalents [Reader's Guide for years outside those with online indexing, red New York Times Index] but like the convenience of print. Sometimes the print tool remains convenient. Sometimes MSU opted not to pay for online access and relies on print [Religion index].

Library users are expected to perform their own online searches, but public services staff are expected to teach library users how to pick the right databases and about searching techniques for specific interfaces.

Annual reviews in the social sciences [Annual review of sociology] also cover the scholarly literature, and some of these sets are shelved in 1-East at the recommendation of the selectors.

C6. Directories

The collection includes a Directories alcove for a diverse set of name and address publications, covering associations, government units, and the local area. We provide current telephone books from all parts of Michigan because we can get them free from the phone company: these sit together and are not cataloged in the OPAC. For national and international telephone directory information, we rely on free Web sites. Most business directories in paper are available only at the Business Library. Encyclopedia of Associations is available as a database.

Volumes in the Directories alcove should consist almost completely of information such as names, addresses, and phone numbers and perhaps some table-of-organization content. Other considerations:

When a new edition arrives, the older edition should be transferred (or withdrawn if permitted). When these directories are weeded from 1-East, they should go to Main (unless they can be withdrawn), not go to Consulting. Directories with substantial biographical content should be handled as biographical tools, not withdrawn.

C7. Tests and measures

Many researchers need to identify tests, scales and instruments that measure behavior in the social sciences. The collection is strong on guides to educational and psychological tests [Mental Measurements Year Book], including sources that help users obtain the actual test instruments. The instruments themselves usually are not available.

C8. Collections of current or historical texts

The collection includes handy sets with authoritative texts in English of major political or historical documents [Annals of America] and current major speeches. Some of these materials qualify as "primary sources" for historical research: the collection also includes indexes to primary source materials, sometimes with integrated online contents [American Civil War: Letters and Diaries].

C9. Guides to microform sets

Microform material is not found in Reference (exception: statistical fiche), but the collection includes a number of guides so that staff can assist researchers find relevant material in microformats. These include guides to microform sets that are owned by the MSU Libraries [American periodicals, 1741-1900], or to evaluate microform collections found in other libraries. The annual New York Times Index in paper is useful for many reference purposes as well as working with  microfilmed newspapers.

C10. Genealogy guides

The MSU Libraries do not collect genealogical primary sources. Our catalog now shows many titles at LM, and users can borrow some titles through MeLCat. Through MeL we have the strong database AncestryPlus. Our reference collection includes introductory guides and core handbooks to the practice of genealogical research however[Cyndi's List]. There is a genealogical research guide for users.

C11. Atlases

Most atlases and maps are kept in the Map Library, but reference offers a small selection of basic atlases covering world and United States geography [Rand McNally Commercial Atlas], and some specialized atlases that function as handbooks in certain disciplines [Atlas of the Middle East].

C12. Travel guides

Guides for tourists can be valuable sources for geographic or historical information too. Reference collects current books for Michigan, the United States, and the nations of the world in a separate Travel Guide alcove [Blue guide: Scotland]. These are non-circulating materials: older editions go to the Main stacks.

For more detail see the separate collection development statement for the travel materials.

C13. Statistical series

In a separate Statistical Tools alcove, reference collects statistical time series [Historical statistics of the United States] or works offering aggregate data on topics [Uniform Crime Report] or countries [Statistical Abstract of Israel]. Except for works about Michigan, works that cover areas smaller than an entire country, such a single province or state, are not collected in Reference. We have access to Lexis-Nexis Statistical Universe and also the paper indexes (IIS, ASI and ___) that preceded it, and the microfiche to which those indexes refer. Older statistical publications may be located in Government Documents, Consulting, or Main. Census publications are shelved separately.

A separate collection development statement for the statistics alcove provides additional detail and examples.

C14. Career guides

In a separate Career Guides alcove, Reference collects work about job-seeking, employment prospects nationally and in specific fields of study, guides to interviewing, and books of sample resumes. Reference books in this sub-location circulate for three days: these are the only books in Reference that normally circulate.

For more detail, see the separate collection development statement for the career guides.

C15. College guides

In a separate College Guides alcove, Reference collects works about colleges and universities in the United States, major world universities, comparisons between institutions and programs, the application process, and financial aid. Many publications about grants and scholarships are also found in the Funding Center.

For more detail see the separate collection development statement for the college guides.

C16. Government publications

Most reference works available on 1-East that deal with government documents are selected and maintained by the Government Documents unit. The largest share are U.S. federal publications (we are a depository), with an effort to also provide guides to international organizations, Canada, and the state of Michigan. The government documents stacks are on 3-West, but there is no service point there.

Michigan state government manuals are collected and the latest edition kept on 1-East. We no longer collect government manuals of other states (relying on the Web instead).

C17. Law

Reference collects materials that summarize American law and general reference works about legal systems. These include not only encyclopedias but law reporters and digests for the United States and the state of Michigan. Increasingly, we rely on databases [Lexis Nexis] for law reporters, and the holdings of the MSU College of Law library for coverage in depth, but retain an interest in works that will be of wide interest for political science, U.S. history and general queries [United States Reports]. We are reducing our commitment to law purchases.

For convenience, all legal reference publications with K call numbers are shelved together in a non-circulating collection on 1-East, at a short distance from the reference desk and reference collection.  No K call numbers are shelved in Consulting or Open Reference (ss), and all stacks books in the Ks are at Business.

The MSU College of Law Library has primary responsibility to assist its own faculty and students, but is committed to reference assistance as needed for the rest of the community.

C18. MSU-related titles

The Reference collection includes a variety of official university publications, including annual budgets and salary information. We attempt to own several copies of all the standard histories of the university. We rely on the university archives for unpublished materials, and work with the archives staff.

C19. Funding, grants and scholarships

In a separate Funding Center alcove, Reference collects works about scholarships and internships, grants and the grant-seeking process, foundations, and grant-making bodies. We are an affiliate of the Foundation Center, and offer a variety of interactive and online tools for finding scholarships and other kinds of grants. A special effort is made to track grant-making sources in Michigan and the Lansing area.

For more detail see the separate collection development statement for the Funding Center.

C20. Dictionaries and thesauri: English language

The collection is strong on English language dictionaries. These include unabridged editions, collegiate and other one-volume sets (often in multiple copies to support simultaneous demand from many students), and special slang, illustrated, regional, historical and etymological dictionaries. A digital version of the OED is available as a stand-alone CD-based tool, but is not available in networked form due to the high FTE-based cost. We point to a variety of free online dictionaries through the Ready Reference pages, as well as to licensed sets (ORO and xreferplus).

C21. Style and citation manuals

There is strong demand for these manuals, and as a result they are secured in Closed Reference and signed out to avoid loss. Our offerings include the Chicago Manual of Style, Turabian, and the APA and MLA guides. Our ready reference pages point to online sources.

C22. Dictionaries for other languages

Reference collects a wide range of dictionaries emphasizing English, but including other major world languages (especially those taught on campus), and bilingual dictionaries in an even larger number of languages for translation. Our collection includes descriptive, historical and etymological dictionaries [the OED], illustrated dictionaries, and dictionaries of slang and non-standard speech. As dictated by demand, some one-volume collegiate and bilingual dictionaries should be available in  multiple copies or versions for use by students around the building.

Related works such as style manuals [English usage] and thesauri [Random House thesaurus] are also collected.

C23. Books of quotations (including concordances)

Reference collects general and specialized collections of quotations, primarily in English [Oxford dictionary of quotations] but also for major world languages [Grand dictionnaire des citations francaises], and reflecting a range of themes [Political quotations].

Concordances in paper are generally no longer collected for reference, due to the growing availability of self-indexing electronic full text files. Exceptions are recent concordances to the Bible in English [NRSV concordance] and to the works of Shakespeare [Shakespeare concordance] but not other authors, because these books also fulfill a role as quotation sources.

C24. Criticism and summaries of literature

Reference collects indexes that point to critical writing about works of literature, and in some cases offers the full text of the criticism in print [Contemporary literary criticism] or electronic [Gale literature resource center] format.

Works that summarize works of literature [Masterplots] are collected and shelved in 1-East. So are anthologies of literary criticism [Contemporary literary criticism].

Titles dealing with authors in which the biographical content dominates [American writers] belong in the Biography Tools alcove.

C25. Medical textbooks

In general, the MSU Libraries do not collect textbooks assigned on campus. In medicine, however, books assigned as textbooks are often reference sources in their own right, and we acquire these (in some cases, they have to be kept in Closed Reference to avoid loss).

C26. Reviews of books, films and dramatic performances

Reference collects indexes that point to review of books, movies and theatre.

C27. Bibliographies by subject

Because end-users can now create custom bibliographies for themselves in online tools, and because printed bibliographies become out of date so quickly (and because of lack of space), most bibliographies are specific topics are no longer collected for Reference, but instead go to Main. Exceptions should have wide appeal and utility [World bibliographical series] and offer added value through selectivity, evaluation and/or annotation. Also exceptions, because they are working tools for librarians: bibliographies about collection development in a subject or discipline and bibliographies about reference titles [Guide to reference books]. See also C28: National bibliographies, as another exception.

C28. National bibliographies

Our holdings in National Bibliographies are strongest for the United States and Great Britain. Some historical bibliographies [American Imprints] are shelved in the Main stacks, not reference. The NUC and related works are shelved at the CyberCafe due to space issues. Holdings for other nations are less complete.

C29. Works about reference service, librarianship, publishing and copyright

Reference collects a core set of works supporting the practice of librarianship, even though MSU does not have a graduate library school. Some of these works support the practice of reference, including techniques such as interviewing or collection development ideas, others deal with publishing and copyright.

C30. Handouts in paper or web form including bookmarks

In addition to books and databases, Reference provides a "collection" of sometimes ephemeral handouts and online Web guides for library users.

D) Locations and sub-locations in Main Library Reference

Most of the Reference collection is in Open Reference, but we maintain several other sub-locations (which are identified in MAGIC) if there is substantial value in bringing together for browsing books that would otherwise be scattered by call number.

D1. Open Reference (ss) is the normal location unless there is good reason to put them in another sub-location. Exceptions: there are no K call number books in 'ss' (they are in the Law alcove), or Ms/Ns (in Music/Fine Arts), and almost no DTs (in Africana Reference on 2-East). Oversize volumes are accomodated by adjusting shelves, or in a few cases, using atlas cases (with wooden blocks to direct users).

D2. Closed Reference (ssqrf) consists of books kept in lockable cases behind the desk, for staff use or to prevent theft.

D3. Biography Tools (ssbio) consists of works with content that is strongly biographical (no entries under other headings except personal names, limited interpretive content), and some indexes to such works.

D4. Statisticsl Alcove (ssstt) consists of statistical time series and compendia, and indexes to such works.

D5. Directories (ssia) consists of directories for individuals, institutions, companies and the like, in which there is no biographical content.

D6. Law Tools (ssml) consists of encyclopedias, reporters and digests, and other legal texts. All books here have K call numbers, and all K call numbers in Reference shelve here.

D7. Funding Center (ssfou) consists of works about grants, scholarships and foundations.

D8. College Guides (ircat) consists of guides to colleges and universities, to the admissions process, and to comparative works.

D9. Career Collection (ca) consists of guides to job seeking, resumes, salaries, and careers in various fields. These books circulate for three days.

D10. Travel Guides (irtrv) consists of guides to destinations, means of travel and attractions. These books do not circulate (refer users to previous editions in the stacks).

D11.Consulting Reference (cr) is being phased out: it has provided overflow space for works that are older or seldom-used or similar to other publications. In coming years, these books (now limited to A-P call numbers) will need to transfer to 'ss' or to Main.

D12. CyberCafe shelving is used for some multi-volume sets that cannot fit into 1-East any longer.

D13. Government Documents reference books are handled by that unit.

E) Reference resources in other units of the Libraries

Reference activity takes place in many other parts of the Libraries. Reference cooperates with these units in terms of services, but those areas almost always are responsible for their own collections (if any). These other units include the Info desk at Circulation, LDLS (refmo on rare occasions buys a few reference books for LDLS use), Africana, LIR, Turfgrass, Maps, Fine Arts/Music, Special Collections, and the external branch libraries. The Writing Center has a satellite center in the Main Library. The MSU College of Law has a library but is a separate institution.

******

This collection development statement is based on earlier SSHR texts prepared by Linda Driscoll in September 1998 (on the Web at http://www.lib.msu.edu/sowards/colldev/sshrcolldev.html), and a draft Consulting Reference text prepared by a committee led by Jane Arnold in March 1999 that was revised during the move and merger in 1999. The previous version of 1999 was based on more extensive use of Consulting Reference space. Changes in the 2005 text reflect current practices.

URL=http://www.lib.msu.edu/sowards/services/colldev/refcds.html [after completion -- .../newrefcds.html until then]
Page editor: Steven Sowards ... the current Head of Main Library Reference is Arlene Weismantel
Created 10 March 2000; last edited 22 December 2005.



Page Coordinator: Arlene Weismantel weisman1@mail.lib.msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=1778
Last updated: 05-08-2008

© 2006 Michigan State University Board of Trustees. MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity institution.