Find Articles: Indexes and Databases
To find an article you need to use an index/database. Use the following to help you locate resources on your topic.
- 1st Choice Databases
-
- CAB Abstracts (ISI)
CAB covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, veterinary medicine and much more. Journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports and other sources from more than one country are scanned regularly for inclusion in the database.
- AGRICOLA
Covers every major agricultural subject, including agricultural engineering and marketing, animal breeding, entomology, environmental pollution, farm management, foods and feeds, pesticides, rural sociology, veterinary medicine, and water resources. Citations consist of journal articles, book chapters, monographs, conference proceedings, serials, technical reports, and other materials on a range of agricultural topics.
- Environment Complete
According to EBSCO, Environment Complete™ offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Environment Complete contains more than 1,957,000 records from more than 1,700 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s (including 1,125 active core titles) as well as more than 120 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 680 journals, including many of the most used journals in the discipline, such as Environment (back to 1975), Ecologist, Conservation Biology, etc. Additionally, Environment Complete provides full text for 120 monographs, such as Encyclopedia of World Environmental History (3 volumes), Advances in Water Treatment & Environmental Management, etc.
- GreenFILE
GreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 295,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,600 records. (1973 - present)
- Biological Abstracts
Indexes the biological and medical peer-reviewed journal literature.
- 2nd Choice Databases
-
- Biological & Agricultural Index
Provides information from groundwater pollution to genetic engineering and covers the entire range of sciences related to biology and agriculture. Indexes 226 key periodicals in the life sciences and agriculture. Includes current book reviews.
Find Books
Link to the New Books - Agriculture blog
Books are excellent resources, providing depth and extensive coverage on a huge array of topics. To find books at MSU you use our online catalog.
The online catalog lists all of the materials owned by MSU, both print and electronic, including books, journals, cd's, government documents, videos, and dissertations. Search by author, title, or keyword.
Books are shelved by Library of Congress call number. Here is a breakdown of Library of Congress call numbers for many organic/sustainable agriculture-related subjects:
S
605.5 Organic farming. Organiculture
654-661.2 Organic fertilizers - Including organic wastes as fertilizers
661.5 Mulching
661.7 Soil conditioners
SB
324.3 Organic gardening - Vegetables
357.24 Organiculture - Fruit
453.5-.6 Organic gardening
610-615 Organic control of specific weeds, parasitic plants, etc.
974-978 Organic plant protection
Websites of Interest
- Alternative Farming Systems Information Center (AFSIC)
Alternative Farming Systems Information Center (AFSIC) specializes in identifying resources about sustainable food systems and practices in support of USDA's effort to ensure a sustainable future for agriculture and farmers worldwide.
- ATTRA - National Sustainable Agriculture Information Service
ATTRA provides the latest in sustainable agriculture and organic farming news, events and funding opportunities, plus in-depth publications on production practices, alternative crop and livestock enterprises, innovative marketing, organic certification, and highlights of local, regional, USDA and other federal sustainable ag activities.
- Community Alliance with Family Farmers (CAFF)
The Community Alliance with Family Farmers is building a movement of rural and urban people to foster family-scale agriculture that cares for the land, sustains local economies and promotes social justice.
The Agrarian Advocate is the flagship publication of the Community Alliance with Family Farmers. It provides timely reporting on the food and farming issues that are important to you.
- Core Historical Literature of Agriculture
The Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA) is a core electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science,forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science. Scholars have selected the titles in this collection for their historical importance. Their evaluations and 4,500 core titles are detailed in the seven volume series The Literature of the Agricultural Sciences, Wallace C. Olsen, series editor.
- Council Regulation (EEC) No 2092/91 of 24 June 1991 on organic production of agricultural products and indications referring thereto on agricultural products and foodstuffs
- Sustainability in Agriculture
Sustainable food systems integrate many disciplines, goals and agricultural practices. Find guides and links to sustainable agriculture information related to: Definitions and History, Environmental Laws and Policy, Economic and Social Issues, and Food Choices and Food Security. this site is part of the USDA Alternative Farming Systems Information Center (AFSIC).
- USDA - Organic Production
Organic production is a system that integrates "cultural, biological, and mechanical practices that foster cycling of resources, promote ecological balance, and conserve biodiversity." (Source: NOP) Find subject guides and links related to:
- Crops and Gardening
- Livestock
- Standards and Certification
- USDA Programs
- World of Organic Agriculture - Statistics and Emerging Trends
The following editions are available online (in pdf format):
World of Organic Agriculture - Statistics and Emerging Trends 2007
World of Organic Agriculture - Statistics and Emerging Trends 2006
World of Organic Agriculture - Statistics and Emerging Trends 2005
World of Organic Agriculture - Statistics and Emerging Trends 2004
World of Organic Agriculture - Statistics and Future Prospects 2003
World of Organic Agriculture - Statistics and Future Prospects 2002
World of Organic Agriculture - Statistics and Future Prospects 2001
World of Organic Agriculture - Statistics and Future Prospects 2000, I
World of Organic Agriculture - Statistics and Future Prospects 2000, II
Notable Print Resources - Reference Works
Reference books provide a brief overview of a subject and are a good place to start your research. They are shelved in the Reference Collection at the Main Library, first floor, East wing. They cannot be checked out (because too many people need them on a regular basis).
Notable Resources - Electronic and Circulating
These are works that can be checked out from the library or are fully available online.
- Current Evaluation Procedures for Plant Protection Products Used in Organic Agriculture
Proceedings of a workshop held September 25 - 26, 2003 in Frick, Switzerland. by Speiser, Bernhard and Otto Schmid (editors). FiBL, FiBL-Report, 1. Auflage, 2004, ISBN 978-3-906081-55-7. 107 Pages, in pdf format.
The articles in this volume describe the evaluation procedures for plant protection products used in organic agriculture. They summarize the situation in various (mainly European) countries and the evaluation procedures and criteria for international institutions.
- Development of a European Information System for Organic Markets - Improving the Scope and Quality of Statistical Data
Proceedings of the 1st EISfOM European Seminar held in Berlin, Germany, 26-27 April, 2004. by Guido Recke, Helga Willer, Nicolas Lampkin and Alison Vaughan (Editors). FiBL, FiBL-Report, 1. Auflage, 2004, ISBN 978-3-906081-53-3258. Pages, pdf format.
The proceedings of the first EISFOM* seminar held in Berlin in April 2004 include more than 50 papers, covering aspects of organic farming related to farm structures and production; to farm incomes and prices; to the supply chain and trade; to retailers and consumers: to supply balances and policy evaluation. The papers were written by representatives of the European Commission, Eurostat, the Food and Agriculture Organisation (FAO), of the International Federation of Organic Agriculture Movements (IFOAM), of statistical offices and competent authorities, as well as researchers and stakeholders of the Organic Sector. * Project European Information Systems for Organic Markets.
- Organic Fruit and Vegetables from the Tropics: Market, Certification and Production Information for Producers and International Trading Companies
UNCTAD, 2003, Bestellnr. 230 pages, in pdf format [Alt title: Marketing Organic Tropical Produce]
The United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) has published a compendium on “Marketing Organic Tropical Produce” with major substantive input from FiBL on a broad range of themes. The book covers the production, certification and conditions for market access of organically produced fruit and vegetables in the tropics.
- Organic Action Plans. Development, implementation and evaluation
by von Otto Schmid, Christopher Stopes, Nicolas Lampkin, Victor Gonzálvez. FiBL, 1st Edition, 2008, 105 Seiten, Bestellnr. ISBN 978-03736-022-4. 114 pages, in pdf format
In 2004, the European Action Plan for Organic Food and Farming was launched. Many European countries have also developed national Organic Action Plans to promote and support organic agriculture. As part of the EU funded ORGAP project (European Action Plan of Organic Food and Farming - Development of criteria and procedures for the evaluation of the EU Action Plan for Organic Agriculture) a toolbox to evaluate and monitor the implementation of national and European Action Plans was developed. In order to communicate the results of this project as widely as possible, a practical manual for initiating and evaluating Organic Action Plans has been produced. The manual was created to inspire the people, organisations and institutions involved, or with an interest in the organic food and farming sector to engage in the initiation, review, revision and renewal of regional, national and European Organic Action Plans.
- Organic Agricultural Products: Marketing and Trade Resources - a series of seven guides
About this Series - This series is comprised of seven Guides. Each guide is a subject-oriented compilation that focuses on a separate type of information or research source. Sources cited in each guide were selected based on their applicability to U.S. organic production and enterprises; ready availability, especially those that are free and online; and timeliness - most sources were created or updated within the past five years.
Guide to U.S. Organic Marketing: Laws and Regulations - U.S. Federal laws and regulations; state laws and regulations pertinent to marketing organic products; other organic-related certification programs; selected background documents about U.S. standards; general Federal food-related labeling and regulatory programs and information; general state food-related labeling and regulatory programs and information; related food safety resources
Guide to International Trade in Organics: Laws and Regulations - Exporting and importing organic products - U.S. regulations and information sources; selected international organic-specific law and policy sites; general U.S. export and import regulations, certifications and information; selected international general food law and policy sites
Guide to Organic Marketing and Trade How-to Publications - Organic-specific marketing publications; related alternative farm marketing publications; publications about international trade; selected business guides and enterprise budgets
Guide to Organic Marketing and Trade Research Tools Online - Internet portals, cyberguides and news services; business directories and commodity trading sites; organic price indexes; literature guides: catalogs, bibliographies and bibliographic databases
Guide to Organic Marketing and Trade Periodicals, Calendars and Trade Shows - Trade and marketing magazines and e-zines; market research journals; selected events calendars and organic food trade shows
Guide to Organic Market, Industry and Consumer Studies (2004-2008) - Bibliography of publications with links to abstracts or full text
Guide to Organic Marketing Support Organizations - Selected national support groups and resources; where and how to find additional support
Series Combined Title and Author Indexes: Guides 1-7
- Organically Produced Foods: Nutritive Content / A Bibliography
From the Introduction:
This bibliography focuses specifically on the nutritive value of organically produced foods: vitamin and mineral content, as well as related chemical constituents. With the exception of a handful of references to publications that deal with the general relationship of soil qualities and crop composition, each document cited contains at least some information about nutrients found in food as related to organic production. Most items deal with research results; several are overviews of literature or research, or are opinion pieces. Many compare organic foods with those conventionally produced.
- Supermarket Study 2002. Organic Products in European Supermarkets
by von Toralf Richter, Gabriele Hempfling. FiBL, FiBL-Studie, 2003, 180 Seiten, Bestellnr. ISBN 978-3-906081-37-3.
The study describes the current situation of the organic markets in 11 European countries and the main development paths of retail chains with regard to organic products. Particulary it should focus the role of the retail chains within the national organic markets. National case studies on the main retailing sellers of organic products point out the currently used marketing approaches and measures to sell organic products as well as the structure of marketing organisation for organic product line within the companies.
Notable Resources - MSU and Michigan
This is a list of sources of forestry information particular to MSU and the State of Michigan.
- Advancing Organic Agriculture - Michigan Dept. of Agriculture
In September 1998, Michigan Department of Agriculture (MDA) Director Dan Wyant created the Michigan Organic Advisory Committee (Committee). The Committee was charged with developing a strategic plan; serving as a framework for advancing a system of production, processing and marketing products of organic agriculture in Michigan. This plan includes background information, a position statement, two key recommendations and related action items. It was designed to introduce several concepts, ideas, and recommendations to MDA and the organic industry and initiate dialogue with MDA and the organic industry about these concepts and ideas.
- MSU Organic Farming Exchange
This site offers: Resources and events to promote organic food production, information to help farmers transition to organic, tips on the process of organic certification, and farming practices that are practical for Michigan organic farmers.
- Michigan Organic Food and Farm Alliance (MOFFA)
The Michigan Organic Food and Farm Alliance (MOFFA) was organized in 1992 as a non-profit organization. We work to create more public awareness about the nature of industrialized food supply and its environmental and social hazards. We teach 'eaters' to value and to choose organically grown food produced in their own locales. MOFFA is a force for generating public awareness about the need for more decentralized food systems that allow for greater participation and choice on the part of all citizens.
- New Agriculture Network
Three universities --Michigan State University, Purdue University, and the University of Illinois -- have joined resources to bring seasonal advice to field crop and vegetable growers interested in organic agriculture. New information is posted twice a month during the growing season and less frequently during winter. Our on-line newsletter features crop updates from organic growers and articles from university specialists about a variety of practices and new findings useful for organic growers. The information serves those interested in transitioning to organic as well as those currently practicing low-input or organic agriculture. We are continually writing grant proposals to support expanded resources.
Additional Research Guides on plant topics
Here is a list of other Research Guides on plant and related topics:
Ask the Librarian
Suzanne Teghtmeyer
Agriculture, Forestry and Botany Librarian
teghtmey@msu.edu
Phone: 517-432-6123 x 325
Library Web page: http://www.lib.msu.edu/teghtmey/
Page Coordinator: Suzanne Teghtmeyer teghtmey@mail.lib.msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=1830
Last updated: 10-07-2008
|