Link to print-friendly version


Economics Research Guide

Table of Contents:

Articles and Working Papers

This is a select list of select indexes to articles and working papers in Economics.
  • Primary Indexes

    • EconLit

      Contains citations, with abstracts, to articles from more than 400 economics journals. In addition, subject indexing and abstracts of books and subject indexing of dissertation titles are included. Corresponding printed sources are: Journal of Economic Literature, Index of Economic Articles, and Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics.
    • EconPapers

      EconPapers provides access to RePEc, the world's largest collection of on-line working papers, journal articles, books, chapters and software components in economics.
  • Related Indexes

    • Fed in Print : an Index to Federal Reserve Economic Research

      The index includes both complete bibliographic citation and a link to an electronic version if available. Indexes publications 1985 - present.
    • National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Working Papers

    • IMF Publications

      Includes Policy Discussion Papers, Working Papers and World Economic and Financial Surveys.

      The MSU Libraries also has a large collection of IMF publications. Search for these in the MSU Library Catalog.
    • World Bank Documents and Reports

      Holds over 15,000 free, downloadable documents, including operational documents (project documents, analytical and advisory work, and evaluations), formal and informal research papers, and most Bank publications.

      The MSU Libraries also has a large collection of World bank publications. Search for these in the MSU Library Catalog.
    • ABI/INFORM (on ProQuest Direct)

      ABI/INFORM provides citations with abstracts (since 1971) and some full text of articles (since 1988) appearing in approximately 1,400 international periodicals covering business and management as well as related functional areas including market trends, corporate strategies, and product information.
    • Business Source Complete

      Business SourceĀ® Complete contains content from peer-reviewed, business related journals, including the Harvard Business Review. Coverage is in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Connect to these documents more easily using the Business Searching Interface.
    • General Business File ASAP

      General BusinessFile ASAP provides access to: 200,000 company profiles, more than 50,000 full-text Investext reports, current news and event coverage on companies, industries, products and executives, current business theory, economics and favored practices.
    • International Bibliography of the Social Sciences

      International Bibliography of Social Sciences, from the British Library of Political and Economic Science of the London School of Economics and Political Science, indexes the information contained in over 2,600 social sciences journals and 6,000 books each year. Coverage includes both core and specialized material from over 100 countries in more than 90 languages. Approximately 70% of the records are in English, and articles in other languages are displayed with both the original language title as well as with an English translation. The comprehensive coverage provided in the database, while based on the core disciplines of anthropology, economics, political science and sociology, also reflects the increasingly interdisciplinary nature of the social sciences.
[Return to Top]

Reference Tools

Reference books (both in print and electronic versions) include dictionaries, encyclopedias, manuals, handbooks, and much more. Reference books can help you explore a topic and find definitions and references to other books and articles on the topic.
  • Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

    • Dictionary of Economics

      This is an online version of an Oxford University Press reference book, one of more than 100 titles in the Oxford Reference Online set. Single books, all books in the set dealing with one subject area, or the entire set can be keyword searched or browsed.
    • Encyclopedia of Law and Economics

      From University of Ghent.
  • Other

    • Blackwell Reference Online: Economics

      Includes Handbook of Applied Econometrics. Volume I: Macroeconomics, A Companion to Theoretical Econometrics, A Companion to Urban Economics, A Companion to the History of Economic Thought, A Companion to Urban Economics, A Companion to Economic Forecasting and A Companion to Theoretical Econometrics.
    • STATSnetBASE: Statistics for Business, Finance and Economics

      Online library on statistical theory and methods. Includes Diagnostic Checks in Time Series, Computational Methods in Statistics and Econometrics, Computer-Aided Econometrics, Time-Series Forecasting and more.
[Return to Top]

Books and Dissertations

  • MSU Library Catalog


    Advanced Search: Catalog

    To search for books in the MSU Libraries on a topic, use the library catalog. The catalog is a searchable listing of materials owned and located in the MSU Libraries, including: books, journal titles, newspaper titles, government documents, movies, CDs, etc.
    NOTE: You cannot use the library catalog to find individual articles within a journal or newspaper - you must use a periodical index for that.
  • WorldCat (OCLC)

    WorldCat is the OCLC Online Union Catalog, containing more than 35 million records describing items owned by MSU Libraries and libraries around the world; each record indicates library holdings. It is produced by the OCLC Online Computer Library Center and describes books, manuscripts, computer data files, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films and slides, newspapers, journals, sound recordings magazines, and videotapes.
  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses

    With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is a central resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350- word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.
  • E-Book Collections

    This is a selected list of e-book collections. Many more e-books are available and can be found by searching the library catalog.
    • Springer: Business and Economics E-Books

      Collection of full-text e-books and journals. To search only within the Business and Economics collection, select "Within these results" in the top right corner.
[Return to Top]

Data and Statistics

  • Economagic

    Over 200,00 economic time series.
  • EconData.Net

    Guide to regional economic activity with 1,000 links to socioeconomic data sources, arranged by subject and provider.
  • U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis

    International, national, regional and industry accounts data.
  • FRED: Federal Reserve Economic Data

    Database of 20,038 U.S. economic time series. See also ALFRED (ArchivaL Federal Reserve Economic Data) and FRASER (Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research).
  • International Financial Statistics Online

    Data cover more than 200 countries and country groupings. Topics include: balance of payments, interest rates, national accounts, prices, production, trade, and population. Updated monthly.
  • Global Development Finance

    Access to statistical data for the 136 countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt to the World Bank Debtor Reporting System. The database covers external debt stocks and flows, major economic aggregates, and key debt ratios as well as average terms of new commitments, currency composition of long-term debt, debt restructuring, and scheduled debt service projections.
  • SourceOECD Statistics

    OECD Statistical Data cover the broad range of OECD activities including finance, sustainable development, social issues, food and agriculture, education, employment, information technology, nuclear energy, transport, and lots more!

[Return to Top]

Useful Websites

[Return to Top]

News and Data Releases



[Return to Top]

Contact

  • Ask A Librarian

    Contact a librarian online or in person for help with your research questions.
  • Hui Hua Chua

    Economics, Agricultural Economics, U.S. Documents and Journalism Librarian
    517-432-6123 x109
    chua@msu.edu




[Return to Top]



Page Coordinator: Hui Hua Chua Chua@msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=200
Last updated: 02-26-2009

© 2006 Michigan State University Board of Trustees. MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity institution.