Link to print-friendly version


Agricultural, Food and Resource Economics Research Guide

Table of Contents:

MSU Libraries Agricultural Economics Toolbar




Search the MSU Libraries catalog and Agricultural Economics resources with this free toolbar that works with both Internet Explorer and Firefox, and find quick links to helpful research pages, library information, and more. Developed with Conduit. Conduit's privacy policy.

[Return to Top]

Find Articles

Indexes to the research literature in US and international agriculture, agricultural economics and economics.
  • AgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics

    AgEcon Search is a free, open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics, including Working papers, Conference papers and Journal articles. Includes sub disciplines such as agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development.
  • CAB Abstracts

    CAB covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, veterinary medicine and much more. Journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports and other sources from more than one country are scanned regularly for inclusion in the database.
  • CAB Reviews

    CAB Reviews provides over 3,000 full-text review articles published since 1972 in the area of agricultural biotechnology, animal production, animal breeding, biological control, crop production, forestry, grasslands, human and animal nutrition, post-harvest, soils, and veterinary science.
  • EconLit

    Contains citations, with abstracts, to articles from more than 400 economics journals. In addition, subject indexing and abstracts of books and subject indexing of dissertation titles are included. Corresponding printed sources are: Journal of Economic Literature, Index of Economic Articles, and Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics.
  • AGRICOLA

    Covers every major agricultural subject, including agricultural engineering and marketing, animal breeding, entomology, environmental pollution, farm management, foods and feeds, pesticides, rural sociology, veterinary medicine, and water resources. Citations consist of journal articles, book chapters, monographs, conference proceedings, serials, technical reports, and other materials on a range of agricultural topics.
  • AGRIS

    Covers all aspects of agriculture, including forestry, animal husbandry, the aquatic sciences and fisheries, and human nutrition. The database is produced by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN (FAO) in cooperation with participating countries and international organizations.
  • EconPapers

    EconPapers provides access to RePEc, the world's largest collection of on-line working papers, journal articles, books, chapters and software components in economics.
[Return to Top]

Find Books and Dissertations

  • MSU Library Catalog


    Advanced Search: Catalog

    To search for books in the MSU Libraries on a topic, use the library catalog. The catalog is a searchable listing of materials owned and located in the MSU Libraries, including: books, journal titles, newspaper titles, government documents, movies, CDs, etc.
    NOTE: You cannot use the library catalog to find individual articles within a journal or newspaper - you must use a periodical index for that.
  • WorldCat (OCLC)

    WorldCat is the OCLC Online Union Catalog, containing more than 35 million records describing items owned by MSU Libraries and libraries around the world; each record indicates library holdings. It includes books, manuscripts, computer data files, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films and slides, newspapers, journals, sound recordings magazines, and videotapes.
  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses

    With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is a central resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350- word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.
  • E-Book Collections

    This is a selected list of e-book collections. Many more e-books are available and can be found by searching the library catalog.
    • Springer: Business and Economics E-Books

      Collection of full-text e-books and journals. To search only within the Business and Economics collection, select "Within these results" in the top right corner.
[Return to Top]

Data and Statistics

See also the USDA sites listed in the section below of Other Resources. [Return to Top]

Useful Web Sites

  • U.S. Department of Agriculture

    • Economic Research Service

      Research on the economics of food, farming, natural resources, and rural America.
    • Foreign Agricultural Service

      U.S. foreign service staff dealing with food and agriculture production, consumer trends, and trade issues in about 130 countries. Policies, reports, data, issues, news.
    • Agricultural Marketing Service

      Provides standardization, grading, and market news services for six commodities: cotton, dairy, fruit and vegetables, livestock and feed, poultry, and tobacco.
  • National Agricultural Library

    One of the world's largest and most accessible agricultural information collections.
  • AgNIC: Economics, Business and Industry

    Links to selected web sites in all areas of agricultural and natural resource economics.
  • FAO Corporate Document Repository

    The FAO Corporate Document Repository houses FAO documents and publications, as well as selected non-FAO publications, in electronic format. It enables users to easily access the accumulated knowledge and information produced by FAO directly on the Internet.
  • SourceOECD

    SourceOECD includes three parts: SourceOECD Books, SourceOECD Periodicals, and SourceOECD Statistics.
[Return to Top]

Reference Tools

Reference books (both in print and electronic versions) include dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, directories, manuals, handbooks. They help you explore a topic, define terms, find references to other books and articles on the topic, and find keywords to use in online searches.
  • Handbook of agricultural economics

    v. 1A. Agricultural production -- v. 1B. Marketing, distribution and consumers -- v. 2A. Agriculture and its external linkages -- v. 2B. Agricultural and food policy -- v.3. Agricultural development
    Check catalog.
    Check catalog.
  • STATSnetBASE

    An unparalleled repository of world-class references, this online library meets the needs of statisticians and researchers employing statistical science across a wide range of disciplines. From Frequentist to Bayesian, biostatistics to finance, this fully searchable collection is the perfect tool for any size analysis on all sorts of data. **Access is allowed for only two users at a time.**
[Return to Top]

Related Resources

Links to electronic resources, texts and research guides in related subject areas. [Return to Top]

News




[Return to Top]

Help

  • Hui Hua Chua

    U.S. Documents, Journalism, Economics & Agricultural, Food and Resource Economics Librarian
    100 Library W321B
    517-432-6123 ext. 109
    chua@mail.lib.msu.edu
  • Ask A Librarian

    Contact a librarian online or in person for help with your research questions.


[Return to Top]



Page Coordinator: Hui Hua Chua Chua@msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=201
Last updated: 02-26-2009

© 2006 Michigan State University Board of Trustees. MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity institution.