Readings for Berkes (TEK)
Week of September 22nd.
- Politics of Co-Optation: Community Forest Management Versus Joint Forest Management in Orissa, India
By: Nayak, Prateep; Berkes, Fikret.
Environmental Management, May2008, Vol. 41 Issue 5, p707-718, 12p
- Adaptive Management of the Great Barrier Reef and the Grand Canyon World Heritage Areas.
By: Hughes, Terence P.; Gunderson, Lance H.; Folke, Carl; Baird, Andrew H.; Bellwood, David; Berkes, Fikret; Crona, Beatrice; Helfgott, Ariella; Leslie, Heather; Norberg, Jon; Nyström,, Magnus; Olsson, Per; Österblom, Henrik; Scheffer, Marten; Schuttenberg, Heidi; Steneck, Robert S.; Tengö, Maria; Troell, Max; Walker, Brian; Wilson, James.
AMBIO - A Journal of the Human Environment, Nov2007, Vol. 36 Issue 7, p586-592, 7p, 3 color;
- Fisher knowledge as expert system: A case from the longline fishery of Grenada, the Eastern Caribbean
By: Grant, Sandra; Berkes, Fikret.
Fisheries Research, Apr2007, Vol. 84 Issue 2, p162-170, 9p
Students: You will need to locate the article by clicking your way though the volume (84) and issue (2) links in the left column of the page.
- Scale and Cross-Scale Dynamics: Governance and Information in a Multilevel World
By: Cash, David W.; Adger, W. Neil; Berkes, Fikret; Garden, Po; Lebel, Louis; Olsson, Per; Pritchard, Lowell; Young, Oran. Ecology & Society, 2006, Vol. 11 Issue 2, p181-192, 12p
The link for the pdf format (with the figures/illustrations embedded) is at the bottom of the page.
- The Role of Participatory Governance and Community-Based Management in Integrated Coastal and Ocean Management in Canada.
By: Kearney, John; Berkes, Fikret; Charles, Anthony; Pinkerton, Evelyn; Wiber, Melanie.
Coastal Management, Jan-Mar2007, Vol. 35 Issue 1, p79-104, 26p, 1 chart, 2 diagrams, 1 map
This page takes a long time to load. Please be patient.
- Collaborative Integrated Management in Canada's North: The Role of Local and Traditional Knowledge and Community-Based Monitoring
By: Berkes, Fikret; Berkes, Mina Kislalioglu; Fast, Helen.
Coastal Management, Jan-Mar2007, Vol. 35 Issue 1, p143-162, 20p, 4 charts, 2 maps
This page takes a long time to load. Please be patient.
- Knowledge, Learning and the Evolution of Conservation Practice for Social-Ecological System Resilience.
By: Berkes, Fikret; Turner, Nancy J.
Human Ecology: An Interdisciplinary Journal, Aug2006, Vol. 34 Issue 4, p479-494, 16p, 1 diagram
- Indigenous Knowledge of Ecological Variability and Commons Management: A Case Study on Berry Harvesting from Northern Canada
By: Parlee, Brenda; Berkes, Fikret.
Human Ecology: An Interdisciplinary Journal, Aug2006, Vol. 34 Issue 4, p515-528, 14p, 5 charts, 2 diagrams, 1 map, 1 bw
Readings for Partnerships
Week of Sept 29.
Readings for Community Forestry
October 6
- Where Is "Community" in Community-Based Forestry?
Flint, C. G., A. E. Luloff, and J. C. Finley. Society & Natural Resources, vol. 21 (6):526 - 537. 2008.
- Why is Community Forestry a Social- and Gender-blind Technology? The Case of Nepal
Marlène Buchy and Suman Subba
Gender, Technology and Development, Vol. 7, No. 3, 313-332 (2003)
- Local community training and education in southern Tanzania—a case study
Howe, V.
Marine Policy, vol. 25 (6):445-455. 2001.
The link goes to the Marine Policy homepage. You will need to follow the links in the left column to the proper volume (25) and issue (6). Then you can click on the pdf icon for the article.
- New Perspectives on Forest Dynamics and the Myth of 'Communities': Reconsidering Co-Management of Tropical Rainforests in Cameroon
Biesbrouck, Karen
IDS Bulletin, vol. 33, no. 1, pp. 55-64, Jan 2002
- RECOMMENDED Readings
-
- Who Represents Who? Organizational Choices, Social Identities and the Formation of an Elite Forestry in Cameroon
Oyono, Phil Rene; Efoua, Samuel
Africa Development, vol. 31, no. 2, pp. 147-182, 2006
Shelf location: Main Library, 3 East - HC501 .A527 [not available electronically]
- Implications of Indian foresters' perspectives of Joint Forest Management
Sood, K. K.; Gupta, H. K.
Small-scale Forestry. 2007. vol.6 no. 3, pp. 291-308
Readings for Actor Network Theory
Week of October 13
- Researching rural conflicts: hunting, local politics and actor-networks
Woods, Michael
Journal of Rural Studies, 1998, Volume 14, Issue 3, pp. 321-340.
The link goes to the Journal of Rural Studies homepage. You will need to follow the links in the left column to the proper volume (14) and issue (3). Then you can click on the pdf icon for the article.
- After ANT: Complexity, Naming and Topology
Law, John
Sociological Review, 1998, Vol. 46 Iss. S, pp. 1 - 14
NOT AVAILABLE ELECTRONICALLY - CONTACT DR. GASTEYER OR STEVEN FULLER.
- Some Elements of a Sociology of Translation: Domestication of the Scallops and the Fishermen of St. Brieuc Bay
Callon, Michel
Sociological Review Monograph,1986, vol. 32, pp. 196-233
NOT AVAILABLE ELECTRONICALLY - CONTACT DR. GASTEYER OR STEVEN FULLER.
Readings for Water Policy
Week of October 20
- Water Policy Networks in Egypt and Ethiopia
Samuel Luzi, Mohamed Abdelmoghny Hamouda, Franziska Sigrist, and Evelyne Tauchnitz
The Journal of Environment & Development, 2008 17: 238-268.
- History of co-operation in the Nile basin
AbdelFattah Metawie
International Journal of Water Resources Development, Mar2004, Vol. 20 Issue 1, p47-63
- Integrated water resources management
Anil Agarwal ... [et al.]
(TAC background papers ; no. 4)
- Hydro-politics in South Asia: the domestic roots of interstate river rivalry
Robert G. Wirsing.
Asian Affairs: An American Review. 34.1 (Spring 2007): p3(20).
- Politics, Plurality and Problemsheds: A Strategic Approach for Reform of Agricultural Water Resources Management
MOLLINGA, Peter P.; MEINZEN-DICK, Ruth S.; MERREY, Douglas J.
Development Policy Review, Nov. 2007, Vol. 25 Issue 6, p699-719
Readings for Ecosystems and the Human Dimension
Week of October 27
- Adaptation, adaptive capacity and vulnerability
Barry Smit, Johanna Wandel.
Global Environmental Change. Volume 16, Issue 3. pp. 282-292.
The link goes to the Global Environmental Change homepage. You will need to follow the links in the left column to the proper volume (16) and issue (3). Then you can click on the pdf icon for the article.
- Rethinking Sustainable Cities: Multilevel Governance and the 'Urban' Politics of Climate Change
Bulkeley, Harriet. ; Betsill, Michele M.
Environmental Politics. v. 14 no. 1 (February 2005). pp. 42-63.
- Assessing retrospective and prospective landscape change through the development of social profiles of landholders: A tool for improving land use planning and policy formulation
Bohnet, Iris
Landscape & Urban Planning. Oct2008, Vol. 88 Issue 1, pp. 1-11
The link goes to the Landscape & Urban Planning homepage. The proper volume (88) and issue (1) comes up as the current issues, so you can just click on the pdf icon for the article.
- ADDITIONAL READINGS
-
- Green Common Ground
Robert Kuttner interviewing Frances Beinecke and Bart Harvey.
American Prospect, v. 18 no. 1 (January/February 2007) pp. A1-A22
Readings for Sand Dune Conservation and Development
- Property Concepts, Ecological Thought, and Ecosystem Management: A Case of Conservation Policymaking in Vermont
Janet M. Hurley; Clare Ginger; David E. Capen
Society & Natural Resources V. 15 Issue 4. April
2002. p. 295 - 312
- Environmental Ethics and Coastal Dunes in Western Lower Michigan: Developing a Rationale for Ecosystem Preservation
Harman, Jay R. ; Arbogast, Alan F.
Annals of the Association of American Geographers v. 94 no1 (Mar. 2004) p. 23-36
- 'Our shared responsibility': Participation in ecological projects as a means of empowering communities to contribute to coastal management processes
Evans, Stewart M.; Gebbels, Susan; Stockill, Joanna M.
Marine Pollution Bulletin, v 57, n 1-5 (2008) p 3-7
The link goes to the Marine Pollution Bulletin homepage. You will need to follow the links in the left column to the proper volume (57) and nos. (1-5). Then you can click on the pdf icon for the article.
- Coastal dune conservation on an Irish commonage: community-based management or tragedy of the commons?
McKenna, John. ; O'Hagan, Anne Marie. ; Power, James.
The Geographical Journal v. 173 pt. 2 (June 2007) p. 157-69
Readings for Community-based Ecotourism
Week of Nov. 17
- Community-Based Tourism: A Pathway to Sustainability for Japan's Protected Areas
Lisa Hiwasaki
Society & Natural Resources. September 2006. Vol. 19, Iss. 8. pp. 675 - 692
- Community-based collaborative team ethnography: A community-university-agency partnership
Diane E Austin
Human Organization. Summer 2003. Vol. 62, Iss. 2; pp. 143-152
- Does Community-Based Conservation Shape Favorable Attitudes Among Locals? An Empirical Study from Nepal.
Mehta, Jai N.; Heinen, Joel T.
Environmental Management. Aug2001, Vol. 28 Issue 2, pp.165-177.
- From Nature Tourism to Ecotourism? The Case of the Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Susan Charnley
Human Organization, Spring 2005. Vol. 64, Iss. 1; pg. 75, 14 pgs
- RECOMMENDED READINGS
-
- Tourism in the great Limpopo transfrontier park
Spenceley, Anna
Development Southern Africa, Dec 2006, vol. 23 no. 5, pp. 649-668
in print only, CALL # HC900.A1 D58 [3 East)
- Sustainable Tourism: Sustaining Biodiversity?
Schloegel, Catherine
Journal of Sustainable Forestry, 2007, Vol. 25 Issue 3/4, p247-264
- Linking linkage concepts from diverse fields to build a community-based tourism planning framework: the case of Shuri, Japan
Miyakuni, Kaoruko; Stoep, Gail A.Vander. Affiliations: Michigan State University
Tourism geographies. Aug 2006 Vol. 8 no. 3, pp. 286-309
- Ecotourism as a mechanism for sustainable development: the case of Bhutan
Rinzin, Chhewang; Vermeulen, Walter J. V.; Glasbergen, Pieter.
Environmental Sciences. Apr 2007, Vol. 4 Issue 2, p109-125
- Community involvement in marine protected areas: the case of Puerto Morelos reef, Mexico
Rodriguez-Martinez, R.E.
Journal of environmental management. Sep 2008. vol. 88 no. 4, pp. 1151-1160
The link goes to the Journal of environmental management homepage. You will need to follow the links in the left column to the proper volume (88) and no. (4). Then you can click on the pdf icon for the article.
Readings for Forestry and Cultural Values
Week of December 1
- A question of value: What do trees and forests mean to people in Vermont?
O'Brien, Elizabeth.
Landscape Research, Jul2006, Vol. 31 Issue 3,pp. 257-275
- Interrupting the telos: locating subsistence in contemporary US forests
Emery, Marla R.; Pierce, Alan R.
Environment and planning A, vol. 37 no. 6, pp. 981-994, Jun 2005
- A review and synthesis of social indicators for sustainable forest management
Harshaw, H. W., Sheppard, S. R. J., Lewis, J. L.
BC Journal of Ecosystems and Management, 2007. Vol. 8 Iss. 2 pp. 17-36
- Human dimensions of forest management: an empirical study of stakeholder perspectives
Kearney, Anne R.; Bradley, Gordon.
Urban Ecosystems, Sept. 1998. Vol. 2 Issue 1, p5
Article Databases and Research Guides
- Article Databases
-
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
International Bibliography of Social Sciences, from the British Library of Political and Economic Science of the London School of Economics and Political Science, indexes the information contained in over 2,600 social sciences journals and 6,000 books each year. Coverage includes both core and specialized material from over 100 countries in more than 90 languages. Approximately 70% of the records are in English, and articles in other languages are displayed with both the original language title as well as with an
English translation. The comprehensive coverage provided in the database, while based on the core disciplines of anthropology, economics, political science and sociology, also reflects the increasingly interdisciplinary nature of the social sciences.
- Environment Complete
According to EBSCO, Environment Complete™ offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Environment Complete contains more than 1,957,000 records from more than 1,700 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s (including 1,125 active core titles) as well as more than 120 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 680 journals, including many of the most used journals in the discipline, such as Environment (back to 1975), Ecologist, Conservation Biology, etc. Additionally, Environment Complete provides full text for 120 monographs, such as Encyclopedia of World Environmental History (3 volumes), Advances in Water Treatment & Environmental Management, etc.
- GreenFILE
GreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 295,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,600 records. (1973 - present)
- Sociological Abstracts
- Provides access to the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences - Includes citations (and abstracts since 1974) for articles in over 1,500 journals
- Draws information from an international selection of journals, serials, conference papers, books, and dissertations
- Social Sciences Abstracts
Covers some 350 core periodicals in the fields of anthropology, economics, geography, law
and criminology, political science, social work, sociology, and international relations.
- CAB Abstracts (ISI)
CAB covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, veterinary medicine and much more. Journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports and other sources from more than one country are scanned regularly for inclusion in the database.
- Research Guides
-
Recommended Books
Helpful Librarians
Page Coordinator: Suzanne Teghtmeyer teghtmey@mail.lib.msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=2049
Last updated: 05-17-2009
|