Finding Books in the Online Catalog
Books and non-print materials may be located by using the MSU Libraries' online catalog. You can search by author, title, subject or keyword. In locating materials by topic, subject searches are more precise but require the use of the standardized Library of Congress subject headings assigned by catalogers; keyword searches are often less precise but permit the use of everyday terminology and the combination of two or more concepts (Example: feline and dermatology).
- Searching for books in the Veterinary Medical Center Library
You can limit your search to books that are located in the Veterinary Medicine Center Library. Once in the online catalog you can click on the Search by Location link on the left side of the page or after you've performed your search you can click on the pull down menu button next to Entire Catalog at the top of the page, scroll down to and click on Vet Med Ctr. Library, then click Search.
- Book Delivery
Book delivery is available for MSU faculty, staff, and veterinary medicine students. Any circulating book found in the online catalog can be checked out to MSU faculty, staff, and veterinary medicine students and sent to the Vet Med Library for pickup.
Finding Journal Articles
To locate journal articles you need to search in an online index (subject database) for the journal literature in your field. From the MSU libraries home page, choose E-Resources under Quick Links and then choose Indexes on the left hand side. Under Indexes Arranged by Subject, click on the pull down arrow, scroll down, choose 'Veterinary Medicine' and click 'GO'. There will be a list of Indexes related to Veterinary Medicine. Choose an Index and click on the title of the Index. Once in the Index, enter the key term(s) that you are looking for, or combine terms you would like to find in the article. For assistance with searching please feel free to contact Sheila Bryant at the Veterinary Medicine Center Library or the Reference desk at the Main Library.
- Relevant Veterinary Medicine Indexes
-
- CAB Abstracts
CAB provides comprehensive coverage of research in Veterinary Medicine and covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes: biotechnology, dairy science, economics, forestry, genetics, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, veterinary medicine and much more. Journals, monographs, conference proceedings, books, annual reports and other sources from many countries are scanned regularly for inclusion in the database. CAB indexes a number of veterinary journals. The following titles are just a few of the Vet related journals in CAB: Veterinary Clinics of North America, Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association, Veterinary Radiology & Ultrasound, Journal of Veterinary Medical Science and others.
- PubMed
PubMed (free government sponsored version of Medline) was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
It contains over 16 million citations from life sciences journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. Although PubMed covers mostly Human Medicine, it's coverage of Veterinary Medicine is quite extensive. PubMed provides web access to bibliographic information, which is drawn primarily from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, HealthSTAR, as well as
Publisher-Supplied citations.
Accessing PubMed via the MSU libraries homepage provides direct access to the full text of many of the journals to which MSU subscribes.
- AGRICOLA
Covers every major agricultural subject, including agricultural engineering and marketing, animal breeding, entomology, environmental pollution, farm management, foods and feeds, pesticides, rural sociology, veterinary medicine, and water resources. Citations consist of journal articles, book chapters, monographs, conference proceedings, serials, technical reports, and other materials on a range of agricultural topics.
- Animal Health and Production Compendium
The Animal Health and Production Compendium is a mixed multi-media reference tool, focusing on all aspects of animal health and production, including diseases, nutrition, husbandry, and breeding. Includes modules in poultry, swine, and small and large ruminants, with text, pictures, graphs, maps, diagnostic aids, etc.
- Biological Abstracts
Indexes the biological and medical peer-reviewed journal literature.
- Biological & Agricultural Index
Provides information from groundwater pollution to genetic engineering and covers the entire range of sciences related to biology and agriculture. Indexes 226 key periodicals in the life sciences and agriculture. Includes current book reviews.
- iknowledgenow Veterinary Medicine
iknowledgenow is a veterinary medicine database of full-text journal and conference proceedings articles. Coverage is from 1997 to present and includes Books and Proceedings of the American College of Veterinary Surgeons.
- MEDLINE (ISI)
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Retrospective to 1966, it contains bibliographic citations with author abstracts (since 1975) from over 3,800 international biomedical journals published in the US and 70 other countries.
- Pig News and Information
This fully searchable abstract database is updated weekly, with over 3500 records added each year covering all aspects of pig science, including breeding, genetics, reproduction and production, health, welfare, nutrition, physiology, biochemistry and anatomy, housing and management, environmental aspects of production including waste management, economics, meat science and technology, and the use of pigs in biomedical research. Summaries of key English and foreign language journal articles, reports, conferences and books on the latest in pig research are featured.
- ScienceDirect
Provides access to the full text of over 600 journals to which the MSU Libraries have subscriptions, years of content vary depending on the journal title. Also includes access to abstracts of articles in non-subscribed journals and pre-1995 issues.
- STAT!REF: The Electronic Medical Library
STAT!REF, the Medical Reference Library, is a collection of medical textbooks in electronic format.
- ISI Citation Databases
Includes the Arts & Humanties Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Science Citation Index. This index contains the citation information and abstracts of over 5,000 scholarly journals. Users can determine how many times an author or article has been cited.
- Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
Provides access to the world's largest index of literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. Subjects covered include captive-animal care, parasites/disease, physiology, genetics, and others.
Veterinary Medicine Online Journals
List of Veterinary related Online Full Text Journals available from MSU libraries. Click on the title to access a list of full text journals.
Obtaining Articles Not Available in the MSU Libraries
To obtain journal articles not available in the MSU libraries you can request an Interlibrary loan. First try Article Reach Direct to request an article. If the article is not available via Article Reach Direct it will be automatically submitted to ILLiad. (If you have not registered with ILLiad, Interlibrary services with create an ILLiad account for you) MSU uses the ILLiad system to obtain Interlibrary loans. To request an Interlibrary loan you must first register with ILLiad, (don't worry it's free). From the MSU library's home page or the Vet Med library branch page under "How To" click on "Get Materials from Another Library" then click on "Borrowing Request Form (Illiad login)". If you have already registered with ILLiad enter your MSU Net ID and ILLiad password, choose a request type from the menu options and enter your information. If you have not registered you must do so before you can enter any information. You may contact the Interlibrary Services department at 432-6123 x303 with any questions.
Endnote
EndNote is a reference manager software program that allows faculty and students to organize their bibliographic citations and to create bibliographies. It allows them to either type in or capture bibliographic citations from our Electronic Resources and to use these lists to create bibliographies within Microsoft Word or other word-processors.
Veterinary Reference Sources
The following print resources are housed in the Reserve section of the Veterinary Medical Center Library.
- Black's Veterinary Dictionary - SF 609 .B53 2001
- Keyguide to Information Sources in Veterinary Medicine - SF 610.8 .G53 1990
- Merck Veterinary Manual
SF 745 .M47 2005(Vet Med Library)
This resource is available in both print and electronic versions.
- Plumb's Veterinary Drug Handbook - SF 917 .P58 2005
- Saunders Comprehensive Veterinary Dictionary - SF 609 .B566 1999
- Veterinary Medical Terminology - SF 610 .C48 1997
Related Websites
Page Coordinator: Sheila Bryant bryants@msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=211
Last updated: 03-18-2009
|