Link to print-friendly version


Medicine - Collection Development Policy

Written by:Judy Coppola, Date Drafted:January 31,1989
Revised by:John Coffey, Date Revised: December 28, 1999; January 2, 2009

Table of Contents:

I. PURPOSE OR SCOPE OF COLLECTION

A.
Curricular/Research/Programmatic Needs
The primary purpose of the collection is to supply the medical literature to support the teaching, research, and clinical practice needs of faculty and students in the Colleges of Human Medicine (CHM) and Osteopathic Medicine (COM); see also the collection policy for COM. The level of support is through the M.D./D.O. and/or Ph.D. levels including also the post-Doctoral level.

An ancillary purpose is to support the teaching, research, and clinical practice needs of the other health science schools including the Colleges of Veterinary Medicine and Nursing, special programs offered in the College of Human Medicine (CHM), and in those departments with which the College has collaborative or joint programs. These include but are not limited to the Center for Ethics and Humanities in the Life Sciences, Public Health, Psychiatry, and Anatomy and Radiology,and many of the basic Biomedical sciences (see the Biological/Biomedical Sciences policy). The collection is also heavily used by undergraduates and patrons from other disciplines.

B.
History of the Collection/Existing Strengths and Weaknesses
Unlike most academic medical centers, MSU has no separate medical library with a tightly focused mission, nor is there a University hospital. CHM is a community-based medical school which means clinical practice, undergraduate and graduate medical education, and research takes place across six campuses through affiliations with local hospitals, physicians, and other health care providers. Campuses are located in Flint, Kalamazoo, Grand Rapids, Lansing, Saginaw, and Marquette. Each campus has a Community Dean overseeing medical education. In addition, they all have their own Research Director and infrastructure through which research is conducted independent of CHM as well as with CHM units and investigators. Each is a vital component of the unified CHM research system. Students in their clinical clerkships, residents and faculty at the community hospitals rely heavily on their hospital libraries and interlibrary services.

The students and faculty on the main campus utilize the medical collection of the Main Library. The collection originated when the Veterinary College was established in the early 1900's and expanded with the addition of the Schools of Medical Technology and Nursing. A major impetus was the first CHM entering class (1966 - two-year program) followed in 1969 by the establishment of the College of Osteopathic Medicine and a full four-year CHM program in 1971. The Land Grant philosophy has driven the direction of MSU's innovative medical curriculum which was designed to meet the State's unmet needs with an approach different from that of Michigan's two existing medical schools.

Primary care is the major focus of both colleges of medicine and therefore collection efforts are most intensive in the areas of internal medicine, family medicine, pediatrics and obstetrics and gynecology. The biopsychosocial concept of medicine is also of major consideration so the social and behavioral sciences also constitute a major cornerstone of the collection. The entire university and community are viewed as a resource and laboratory by the faculty and students.

The residency and fellowship programs are similarly focused. Residencies are supported in internal medicine, general surgery, pediatrics, physical and rehabilitation medicine, and psychiatry. Fellowships are offered in cardiology,child and adolescent psychiatry, endocrinology, hematology/oncology,infectious disease, interventional cardiology, and neonatology.

As with most of the Life Sciences,the journal literature is the primary resource and is of greater importance/value than the monographic collection.

II. FACTORS INFLUENCING COLLECTION POLICY

A.
Anticipated Future Trends

The literature of medicine is rapidly outdated. Collecting should follow and anticipate, when possible, major medical trends and developments. Collections should also reflect significant curricular changes, the nature of on-going health science research, and the establishment of new services and programs such as, the new online Masters in Public Health. To help answer the anticipated shortage of physicians in future decades, the College of Human Medicine opened a second four year school in Grand Rapids in the Fall of 2008, and in June of 2009 the College of Osteopathic Medicine will open two additional locations in Southeast Michigan.

It should be obvious that the increasingly distributed nature of medical education at MSU dictates the ever increasing expenditure of collection funds for online materials. Because of MSU's community involvements there was a need before there was access. Now, it is imperative that journals and many books be obtained in online format and accessible for all authorized users from wherever they are.

The health science programs of MSU are consistently in the top ranks of recipients of research funds from outside sources and that the University is further benefited by faculty practice plans generating fee-for-service income.

B.
Relationships with Other Libraries and Resources
As was stated above the medical collection on campus is basically the R call number items housed at the Main Library. However, current biomedical materials such as genetics, physiology, biochemistry and microbiology that are not online may be located at the Biomedical & Physical Sciences Library. In addition, and related to the patron's needs, the Mathematics, Engineering, and Veterinary Medicine libraries may also include some useful materials.

The College of Human Medicine operates the Bob Echt Computer and Learning Center in the Clinical Center on the south side of campus. Here, the preclinical medical students will find required course materials, either physically on reserve or online, as well as a number of computers, programs and av materials for their classes.

There are 12 hospital libraries that are part of the current six MSU Community Campuses. These libraries offer major support to the MSU third and fourth year students, residents and faculty that work and study in the affiliated hospitals. Close contacts have been maintained with the librarians and their staff at these locations so that any and all assistance that MSU people there may need can be facilitated. Relationships with the affiliated librarians are maintained through a special listserv managed by the Coordinator for Health Sciences Collections and through participation in organizations such as the Michigan Health Sciences Libraries Association (MHSLA) and the Mid-Michigan Health Sciences Libraries (MMHSL).

The MSU collection is a component of the National Network of Libraries of Medicine, Greater Midwest Region (NN/LM GMR). The MSU Libraries have signed agreements committing us to serve as a NN/LM GMR Resource and Outreach library. The role of the Resource Library is to meet the information access needs of health professionals in the region through resource sharing. Resource Libraries support the network by participating in DOCLINE and providing Loansome Doc service. Outreach Libraries fulfill all the obligations of Resource Libraries and, in addition, participate in the implementation of outreach programs to unaffiliated health professionals and consumers, and provide Loansome Doc service to Affiliate Member libraries.

MSU and its Libraries are a member of the Centers of Institutional Cooperation(CIC). Purchases in consortia with the CIC have added important online resources to the biomedical and clinical collections. Additional consortia purchases with members of the Michigan Health Sciences Libraries have established an electronic collection of some of the most respected current textbooks in medicine. Digitized interlibrary reciprocity with the CIC libraries as well as other renowned research collections is an additional benefit to MSU patrons seeking medical literature.

C.
Relationships to Resources Treated in Other Policy Statements
Biological/Biomedical Sciences
Osteopathic Medicine
Psychology
Veterinary Medicine
Nursing
Allied Health
Food Science & Nutrition
Social Work
Economics
Education
Anthropology


III. ANALYSIS OF THE SUBJECT FIELD

A.
Chronology of the resources collected
Emphasis is almost exclusively on current practice and health policies. An historical collection is not maintained. On occasion older material may be added to complete a series of editions of an important title or complete a journal run.

B.
Languages of resources collected:exclusions/emphases/translations
All material collected is in English. Only major translations are collected. Foreign language materials in the collection were added much earlier. Publications in non-Roman alphabets are not collected.

C.
Geography of the subject:emphases/restrictions
Primary interest is on practices of the U.S. with secondary interest in the United Kingdom and Commonwealth Countries. Medical material on Third World/Developing countries is collected in accordance with MSU's involvement with overseas programs/projects. Materials on non-Western systems of medicine are acquired selectively.

D.
Format of the resources collected
As indicated from the above descriptions of the distributed nature of medical education at MSU, whenever possible the online version of journals will be purchased. Likewise, as many as available important and respected medical monographs will also be purchased in online format. Site license and/or multiple user access will be sought whenever available and reasonable in cost.

Included are serials, textbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, medial atlases, directories, proceedings, government publications, bibliographies, and materials relating to certification, licensure, and specialized education/training.

The following are not collected: theses, catalogs, audio-visuals, programmed texts, laboratory manuals,spiral bound works,pocket-sized books, ephemera, and materials appropriate only for Special Collections. Software and AV are not purchased unless requested by faculty for class use or is supplemental to a print resource. Such materials are housed in the Digital Media Center.

E.
Date of publication of resources collected
Emphasis is on current publications, preferably the latest two years. Monographic material older than two years is seldom considered unless gaps in significant editions/series are being filled. Older material is also considered for unusual or sparsely covered subjects or in the case of replacements for missing or classic items.
E. IV.

IV. LEVELS OF COLLECTING INTENSITY


0) Out-of-Scope, not collected
1) Minimal information level
2) Basic information level
3) Study or instructional support level
4) Research level
5) Comprehensive level
(Using the Collection Depth Indicators from Columbia University Libraries.

V. COLLECTION MANAGEMENT ISSUES


Multiple copies are only purchased for high demand titles or titles authored by MSU faculty. Decisions to replace materials missing or damaged beyond repair are made on a case-by-case basis. Replacements may be purchased if available and affordable for high-demand or important monographs and for journal issues if they are not available also electronically. Multiple copies of outdated materials may be deselected, but unique materials are retained. Preservation decisions follow the general guidelines established by the Main Library.

Page Coordinator: John Coffey coffey@msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=2329
Last updated: 04-27-2009


© 2006 Michigan State University Board of Trustees. MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity institution.