Link to print-friendly version


Accessing and Using SciFinder Scholar

What is SciFinder Scholar?

SciFinder is a research tool that allows you to access the world's largest collection of biochemical, chemical, chemical engineering, medical, and other related information. SciFinder Scholar provides access to the CAplus database of chemical literature and U.S. and foreign chemical-related patents, to CASREACT, to the Registry database from Chemical Abstracts Service, and to Medline. It includes journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, substance database and dissertations covered in Chemical Abstracts as well as articles currently being indexed, book reviews and biographical information. With SciFinder, you can:

You can explore:

SciFinder Scholar on the Web!

We now have access to SciFinder Scholar via the Web. (For additional CAS SciFinder Web version: demo and product overview see information.)

OR, you may download the client software to your pc. (NOTE, however, that if you are off-campus you will not be able to use the client software access.)
  • Follow these instructions for downloading the Scifinder client software. NOTE: You will be prompted to enter a user name and password when you begin to download software.
Getting Started With SciFinder Scholar 2007 for Windows

Instruction guide from ACS.

Getting Started With SciFinder Scholar 2007 for MAC OSX

Instruction guide from ACS.

SciFinder Content At A Glance

Substance information, coverage, update frequency.

SciFinder E-Seminars

Learn about exploring research topics, structure and reaction searching, and visualizing search results (Updated for SciFinder 2006). Available as short recorded sessions (less than 10 minutes each, via WebEx™).

CAS REGISTRY and CAS Registery Numbers

FAQs about CAS registry numbers.

Page Coordinator: Judy Matthews matthe20@msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=298
Last updated: 07-06-2009

© 2006 Michigan State University Board of Trustees. MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity institution.