1) There are so many indexes. How can I decide where to search?
Look at the MSU
Libraries E-Resources listings. There are some good indexes listed on the right hand side of the page. Academic OneFile, ProQuest and WilsonSelectPlus are the three most popular general indexes.
About half way down the page find a pull down menu to select the appropriate subject discipline. This will list all the indexes for that discipline. Consider using the the Getting
Started page at the top for links to the most used indexes in each discipline.
2) I know what I want to research. How do I put my ideas into a search?
Library indexes do not return results by relevancy, all the words entered in the search will be required in the results. Follow these steps:
- State the question in a sentence or two.
For example, suppose your research question is: What are the personality traits of college students who drink alcohol?
- Identify
the important (or key) words.
In this example the key words are: personality, college students,
alcohol.
- Identify
any necessary relationships between words.
For this search college and students need to go together.
- Decide
on any synonyms to use. Personality can stand alone. College might also be university,
and alcohol might also be booze or beer.
Maybe booze would be good in a web search, but it's probably not used very often in the academic psychology literature.
- Put
it all together.
Here's where you have to know the search software (see the features
chart for help). In the PsycINFO
database on CSA the search would be: ((college or university)
near students) and (alcohol or beer) and personality
3) I'm getting too many results. Can I limit my search?
- Make
your search narrower.
Your topic may be too broad. A search for violence will return
lots of hits in many databases. Limit your topic by choosing an aspect to
focus on. Add and juveniles or and domestic or
some similar limiting word.
Note:
not all search software adds modifiers in the same way. Read the Help
Screens
- Use
date or language limits.
If your results are mostly on target for the type of information you hoped
to find, try picking some non-subject related criteria, like date of publication
or language to limit your search.
4) I've done several searches, the library has nothing on my topic.
- Check your search terms. Perhaps you are not stating your search in words indexers use. For example, a patron who wanted air pollution data for automobiles found plenty of information after we looked up what pollutants are in auto exhaust and searched by those terms.
- Ask a librarian for help. Don't give up until you've asked a librarian for help. Each vendor has different search software, so searching techniques that worked on one index sometimes won't work on a different system.
5) I'm getting back results, but they're not really on my topic.
This is often
a hard problem to solve, try:
6) I can't make it over to the library. Should I just search the Web?
You don't have
to come to the Library to use our resources, the use the Proxy
server makes it possible to access our subscriptions from home.
MSU Libraries
has a lot of proprietary information (owned by others, but we subscribe to it)
posted on the web. Some of these sources are full text, try:
- FirstSearch
Select the
WilsonSelectPlus database for full
text articles.
- Infotrac
InfoTrac
OneFile has many full text articles.
- ProQuest
Most databases within this service have a substantial proportion of full text articles.
- LexisNexis Academic
Also offers full text for most of its databases, which focus on news and legal information.
- Or use an index
for your discipline and then look for the articles by using the FIND TEXT AT MSU link or looking up the journal in the Library Catalog.
Page Coordinator: Kate Corby corby@msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=387
Last updated: 03-03-2009
|