Link to print-friendly version


Index Search Planner



Things to consider:
  1. What is the subject to be searched?
  2. How much information is needed?
  3. What format should the results take, is full text online a requirement?
  4. Which database(s) should I search?
  1. What are the keywords in the search? (include synonyms, consider different forms)
  2. Is a thesaurus available?
  3. What are the relationships between the search words?
  4. Do I need to search a specific field(s)?

Index Coverage Features

Database

Vendor

Dates

Discipline

Coverage

ERIC

FirstSearch and CSA

1966-present, with some gaps from 2002-present.

Education, broadly defined

  • 800-1,000 journals 2004-present
    2000+ journals (selectively) 1966-2003.
  • Documents/Research reports
Mostly English language

Education Abstracts

FirstSearch

1983 – present (some abstracts from 8/94 on)

K-12 and higher education

  • 800+ journals and yearbooks (completely)
English language

PsycINFO

CSA

1887 - present

Psychology, broadly defined

  • 1300 journals (selectively)
  • dissertations & technical reports
  • book chapters & books
World wide coverage

ProQuest Research Library

ProQuest

Varies title by title. Earliest indexing, mid ‘70s.

All disciplines

  • 2000 journals and magazines
World wide coverage

WilsonSelectPlus

FirstSearch

1994 - present

All disciplines

  • 800 journals and magazines, all of them fulltext within the index interface.
English language

Timeliness notes: Education Abstracts indexes more promptly than ERIC. Due to changes in it's production ERIC is missing many articles after 2002.

Index Search Features

Feature

CSA

FirstSearch

ProQuest

Databases available

  • ERIC
  • PsycINFO
  • ERIC
  • Education Abstracts
  • WilsonSelectPlus

Research Library (core and all modules)

Full text?

(also use "Find Text at MSU")

Links to full text elsewhere.
PsycINFO includes PsycARTICLES.

Yes from WilsonSelectPlus & ERIC

Yes, about 50%

Thesaurus Online?

Yes, as long as you are searching only one database.

Some databases. Use Subject Phrase or Search Icon for access

Topic Guide provides alphabetic lists. Pick the Subjects tab to see the Thesaurus

Operators

Use (parentheses ) to keep concepts together

  • and
  • or
  • not

Use advanced search screen and/or (parentheses ).

  • and (assumed)
  • or
  • not

Use Advanced search screen

  • or
  • and not
  • w/doc (within doc, equivalent to and in other systems)

Proximity connectors

  • with for words in the same field in ERL
  • within for words in the same field in CSA
  • near for words in the same sentence.
  • wn* for phrase searching, finds words in order given
  • nn* for proximity search.
  • * replace n with a number

  • and for words in the same field
  • w/n*
  • not w/n*
  • pre/n* (precede)
  • * replace n with a number

Phrases

No connector needed, this is the default.

Use "quotation marks " or w(ith) between words

Two words, no connector needed.
For longer phrases use
"quotation marks "

Truncation

Yes,
? for one character, can be used internally.
* for any number of characters.

Yes, many options:
use + to find regular plurals.
* at end of word for any number of characters
? for any number of characters
# for a single internal character

Yes,
? for one character, can be used internally.
* for any number of characters.

Search fields

Can search or limit all fields.
Use in with field label or Limit button in ERL. Use Advanced Search in CSA.

Not all fields searchable.
Can select one field to search.

Use Advanced search.

Results

Print, download or email

For Full article use "Find Text at MSU" link
Can choose fields and order.
Can mark relevant

Print, download or email

For Full article use "Find Text at MSU" link
Can mark relevant, and retrieve list, but full text is one item at a time. List will have hotlinks to any available full text that will work for one week

Print, download or email

For Full article use "Find Text at MSU" link

Can mark list and view only selected. This option allows choice of emailing or printing just the list or full text as available.



Page Coordinator: Emily Alford bartone1@mail.lib.msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=389
Last updated: 03-03-2009

© 2006 Michigan State University Board of Trustees. MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity institution.