This research guide is for those who are already familiar with basic dictionaries, handbooks, encyclopedias and online databases and indexes. This site will direct researchers of the African American experience to primary and secondary print, digital, microform and audio/visual resources available at the MSU Libraries. The scope of the contents include current and historical materials.
[Return to Top]
Indexes & Full Text Databases
There are several major indexes and full text databases that include the African American experience. In addition to FIRSTSEARCH, JSTOR, PROQUEST AND WilsonSelectPlus these other titles are useful:
- African American Poetry 2 Database
The Database of Twentieth Century African American Poetry is a growing collection of poetry written by the most important and influential African American poets of the 20th century. Many contemporary African American writers of America's 80s and 90s, who have gained recognition through national poetry awards or inclusion within leading print anthologies, are also represented.
- African American Poetry Database
Covering a wide range of topics from slavery and abolition to love and death, this collection provides a unique portrait of early
America through the reflections of African-American poets during the 18th and 19th centuries. It contains a variety of
poetic styles and types including elegies, odes, ditties, hymns, and sonnets.
- Expanded Academic ASAP
Expanded Academic ASAP� provides coverage of 3,000 indexed and 1,900 full-text titles in a wide variety of disciplines including: social science journals, humanities journals, science and technology journals, national news periodicals, general interest magazines, newswires, The New York Times and many others. More than 1,400 journals are peer reviewed, and more than 20 years of backfile coverage are included.
- ERL (WebSPIRS/SilverPlatter)
Includes the following databases and files:
AGRICOLA
AGRIS
Allied and Complementary Alternative Medicine (AMED)
Atlantes (Sport Discus)
BA (Biological Abstracts)
Biological Abstracts
BIOSIS
CAB Abstracts
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Fulltext Reference
Catalogue du Muse Olympique (Sport Discus)
CINAHL
Criminal Justice Abstracts
ERIC
Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA)
GeoRef
Heracles (Sport Discus)
International Political Science Abstracts
MEDLINE
MLA Directory of Periodicals
MLA International Bibliography
National Association of Social Workers Clinical Register
Philosopher's Index
PsycARTICLES via PsycINFO
PsycINFO including PsycARTICLES
RSP Funding for Graduate Students
RSP Funding for Postdoctorates and Professionals
RSP Funding for Undergraduates
Serline
Social Work Abstracts Plus
SPORT Discus
Tree-CD
Zoological Record
- LexisNexis Academic
The LEXIS service contains major archives of federal and state case law, continuously updated statutes of all 50 states, state and federal regulations and public records from major U.S. states. The NEXIS service is a leading news and business information service which contains more than 7,100 sources, of which 3,700 provide their entire publications online.
- Periodicals Index Online
Periodicals Contents Index (PCI) contains more than 1 million citations to articles in more than 3,000 journals from 1770-1995. These journals represent popular and scholarly titles in the humanities and social sciences. 1,000,000 citations are added annually. Although it is not yet complete, PCI Full Text is a growing repository of full-text articles enabling one to go directly from the bibliographic citation to the full text article.
- Web of Science
Includes the Institute for Scientific Information Citation Indexes - Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. It indexes science, social sciences, and arts and humanities information from nearly 9,300 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
Additional newspaper resources (indexes, bibliographies and unionlists) can be found in MAGIC using the following subject headings:
AFRICAN AMERICAN NEWSPAPERS
- African American Newspapers: The 19th Century (online)
This collection of African-American newspapers contains a wealth of information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s, and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and
congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion. They also contain large numbers of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American
experience.
- African American Newspapers: The 19th Century (parts 1-4)
- Black Studies on Disc
An index to the New York Public Library's Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, and the Index to Black Periodicals (1988-1999). Covers scholarly and popular aspects of African-American, African, and African Diasporan studies. Coverage of political, social, popular culture, historical and interdisciplinary topics.
- Cooperative Africana Microform Project (CAMP)
CAMP is a joint effort by research libraries throughout the world and the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) to promote the preservation of publications and archives concerning the nearly fifty nations of Sub-Saharan Africa and to make these materials in microform available to researchers. It acquires expensive microform sets and authorizes original filming of unique research materials in North America, Africa, and Europe.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Coverage begins in 1990.
- Index to Black Periodicals
Continued by G.K. Hall index to Black periodicals
Continues Index to periodical articles by and about Blacks .
Covers both popular and scholarly articles about Blacks.
- International Index to Black Periodicals
IIBP Full Text includes current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from over
150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers and newsletters from the United States, Africa and
the Caribbean--and full-text coverage of 40 core Black Studies periodicals (1998 forward). Coverage is international and multidisciplinary in scope and issues pertaining to Black Studies.
- America History and Life
Provides access to articles, book reviews, and dissertations in American and Canadian history.
- Trial Resources
Remember to also check for resources of interest at this site.
[Return to Top]
Microformats
There are several thousand reels of information on the African and African American experience. This is just a sample of the content type for titles that are owned. The MSU Libraries owns JUST THE GUIDES [**] for additional titles. They can be found on MAGIC or databases such as WORLDCAT as a title search, or part of a subject or key word search. Microfilm may also be available to you as part of an Inter-Library Loan request. Please check with the reference desk or the Ethnic Studies Bibliographer.
- Race, slavery, and free Blacks. Series II, Petitions to southern county courts, 1775-1867 [microform] / edited by Loren Schweninger ; assistant editor, Marguerite Ross Howell.Bethesda, MD : LexisNexis
Reproduces a collection of approx. 15,000 petitions assembled by the Race and Slavery Petitions Project, University of North Carolina at Greensboro from state archives in Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, District of Columbia and Maryland, Florida, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia.
Note Accompanied by a printed guide entitled: A guide to the microfilm edition of Race, slavery, and free Blacks. Series II, Petitions to southern county courts, 1775-1867.
Contents pt. A. Georgia (1796-1867), Florida (1821-1867), Alabama (1821-1867), Mississippi (1822-1867)
- A guide to the microfilm edition of Mary McLeod Bethune papers, the Bethune Foundation collection. pt. 1, writings, diaries, scrapbooks, biographical materials and files on the National Youth Adminis
From the Series Black studies research sources
Note -For use with the microfilm collection cataloged under the title: Mary McLeod Bethune papers, part 1: film no. 27889. For additional reels see: http://magic.msu.edu:80/record=b2978087a
- The Arthur A. Schomburg papers [microform].
Manuscript collections from the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.
Note Accompanied by printed reel guide compiled by Nanette Dobrosky with title: A guide to the microfilm edition of the Arthur A. Schomburg papers -- E184.6 .S35 1991 Guide.
- The Bayard Rustin papers [microform] / introduction by August Meier.
Accompanied by a film guide -- E185.97 .R87 1988 Guide
Summary Reproduces the papers of Bayard Rustin made from the originals in the A. Philip Randolph Institute, New York N.Y., which were later transferred by the Institute to the Library of Congress.
Note Accompanied by a printed reel guide, compiled by Nanette Dobrosky.
- The Black power movement. Part 1, Amiri Baraka from Black arts to Black radicalism [microform] / editorial adviser, Komozi Woodard ; project coordinator, Randolph H. Boehm.
Accompanied by a printed guide compiled by Daniel Lewis, entitled: A guide to the microfilm edition of the Black power movement / E185.615 .B533 2001 pt. 1. Reels 1-9.
Contents pt. 1. Amiri Baraka from black arts to black radicalism
- Black workers in the era of the great migration, 1916-1925 / James R. Grossman, editor.; Randolph Boehm, associate editor; guide compiled by Martin Schipper.
- The Claude A. Barnett Papers. Part two [microform] : Associated Negro Press Organizational files, 1920-1966 [microform]
Microfilmed from the holdings of the Chicago Historical Society.
- Papers of the American slave trade. [microform] Series A / editorial advisor, Jay Coughtry.
Contents Ser. A. Selections from the Rhode Island Historical Society. Pt. 1. Brown Family collections (23 reels). pt. 2 Selected collections (30 reels). [this is just one of several parts for this title. Please consult MAGIC]
- The Martin Luther King, Jr., FBI file [microform] / edited by David J. Garrow.
This file, designated number 100-106670 by the FBI, chronicles the career of Dr. King and the civil rights movement during the sixties. Included are the Bureau's responses to charges of harassment that emerged after King's death.
Note: Reels numbered 1-16 (pt. 1), 1-9 (pt. 2). Contents pt. 1. FBI file (16 reels) -- pt. 2. The King-Levison file (9 reels).
Local note MSU: For guide to microfilm edition see: Microcopy Library-E185.97.K51984
- The Paul Robeson collection [microform].
Manuscript collections from the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.
Note: Includes correspondence, speeches, newspaper and magazine excerpts by and about Robeson.
- Records of the Tuskegee Airmen [microform] / editor, Robert E. Lester.
Reproduced from the records of the U.S. Army Air Corps in the custody of the National Archives of the United States, College Park, MD.
Note Accompanied by film guide -- UG834.A37 R43 2005.
Contents pt. 1. Records of the Army Air Forces (13 reels)
[Return to Top]
Audio Resources
The G. Robert Vincent Voice Library is a collection of over 40,000 hours of spoken word recordings, dating back to 1888.
http://vvl.lib.msu.edu/
- Civil Rights
Voice recordings of Ralph Abernathy, Marcus Garvey, Rev. Jesse Jackson, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Coretta Scott King, Rosa Parks, Malcolm X and others.
http://vvl.lib.msu.edu/findingaids.cfm
[Return to Top]
Video Resources [Digital & Multi-media Center & Services]
The DMC multimedia collection features computer software packages, videocassettes, CD-ROMs, videodiscs, DVDs, LP records, audio cassettes, audio CDs and reel-to-reel audio tapes. There are about 10,000 items, acquired as purchases or gifts, over the past thirty years.
- Services
SCANNING AND OPTICAL CHARACTER RECOGNITION
DMC staff provide free assistance with scanning to MSU library patrons.
TEXT ENCODING AND AUDIO TRANSCRIPTIONS
DMC staff have hands-on experience with using several varieties of markup languages to prepare text and audio transcriptions for dissemination on the web. In particular, we use two SGML/XML tagsets: TEI (Text Encoding Initiative), designed for literary works and primary historical materials, and Trans-13, which was developed for transcriptions of audio files.
Anyone with questions about copyright law is welcome to consult Michael Seadle at the Digital and Multimedia Center. These are purely informational consultations: we cannot provide legal advice.
COPYRIGHT PERMISSION
The DMC also assists in obtaining permissions from rights holders for MSU faculty who need to use materials in a course or other work-related project. Requests for permissions may be submitted using our Online Permissions Request Form.
-
- SCANNING AND OPTICAL CHARACTER RECOGNITION
DMC staff provide free assistance with scanning to MSU library patrons.
- TEXT ENCODING AND AUDIO TRANSCRIPTIONS
DMC staff have hands-on experience with using several varieties of markup languages to prepare text and audio transcriptions for dissemination on the web. In particular, we use two SGML/XML tagsets: TEI (Text Encoding Initiative), designed for literary works and primary historical materials, and Trans-13, which was developed for transcriptions of audio files.
- COPYRIGHT PERMISSION
The DMC also assists in obtaining permissions from rights holders for MSU faculty who need to use materials in a course or other work-related project. Requests for permissions may be submitted using our Online Permissions Request Form.
[Return to Top]
Maps, Atlases and other Cartographic Resources
- About the MSU Map Library
The Map Library houses a collection of general and thematic maps and atlases for most areas of the world. The collection consists of approximately 200,000 sheet maps and 4,000 atlases, gazetteers and other reference aids including wall maps, globes, CDs and Internet-accessible resources.
The collection is especially strong in Michigan topics, United States, Canada, Africa, Asia, and Latin America, though all areas of the world are collected at some level.
- ATLASES
Atlases of the United States and other countries (Nigeria, Kenya, Mexico, Cuba, etc.) may include general and/or thematic content. National atlases are a good source for information on the historical, cultural, demographic, political and social experiences of populations. In addition other thematic atlases may provide specific information for populations such as women and children. The following are an example of the more useful atlases to consult. Newer editions may not be available, but these older titles provide a snapshot of numbers, events, etc. for specific time periods.
-
- The National Atlas of the United States of America.
The older editions in paper copy are available in the Map Library. This U.S. Department of the Interior atlas is available via the Internet. According to their website: "d the single best Federal source for national maps and geographic information on the Web. The people and places of the United States are here."
- Atlas of American Diversity
Contents African Americans -- Asian Pacific Americans -- Hispanic Americans -- Native Americans -- Non-Hispanic Whites/European Americans. Includes statistical data.
- We the People: An Atlas of America's Ethnic Diversity
Information on race, ethnicity and populations in the 1980's.
Search MAGIC for other atlases on the African American experience using the following subject heading: African Americans -- History -- Maps.
- Atlas of African-American History / James Ciment.
Coverage includes:
The African Heritage: An overview of the African continent, the civilizations that have inhabited it, and the cultural traditions that it has fostered
Slavery in Early America: The mechanics of the slavery system; the Triangle Trade and the Middle Passage; the invention of the cotton gin; black pioneers and westward expansion
The Divided Nation: The American Civil War; the Missouri Compromise; the Abolitionist Movement; and the Emancipation Proclamation
Up from Slavery: Reconstruction; the Freedman's Bureau; the sharecropping system; African Americans and higher education;
The "New Negro": The NAACP and the Urban League; the Jim Crow laws; the roles of African Americans in World War I and World War II; African Americans and the Great Depression; the New Deal
The Civil Rights Years: The civil rights movement; Brown v. Board of Education; the Montgomery bus boycott; the life of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.; the freedom rides; Malcolm X and the rise of black nationalism
The Struggle Continues: The demographics of black America; affirmative action; Louis Farrakhan and the Million Man March; African-American political power; a pan-African world. [from publisher website: http://www.factsonfile.com/
- The Routledge Atlas of African American History / Jonathan Earle.
Vendor description:
16th century-20th century... The Routledge Atlas of African American History examines the geographical and historical context of the African American Experience. Focusing on issues and events that resonate to this day, topics include: slave revolts, black patriots, slave communities, the Civil War, African Americans in the armed services, the spread of Jim Crow, the Negro Baseball League, the Civil Rights Movement, the Voting Rights Act, the Harlem Renaissance, the expansion of the black middle class, and much more.
http://www.routledge-ny.com
- Other Map Sites - Perry-Castañeda Library, U of T - Austin
from the PCL website: "The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection (PCL 1.306) is a general collection of more than 250,000 maps covering all areas of the world. Many of the maps are included in our online catalog, UTNetCAT. More than 5,000 map images from our collection are also available online. " Most CIA maps of countries and regions are copyright free, other maps on this site may not be. In addition links to maps of continents, countries, territories, regions, oceans and seas are also provided.
[Return to Top]
E Resources
- eHRAF: HRAF Collection of Ethnography
A collection of ethnographic and other texts indexed by culture and subject. Cultures covered in this database are of two types: l. traditional cultures 2. North American ethnic groups. Each
annual installment contains about 50,000 pages of text as well as photographs, illustrations,
charts, cultural summaries and bibliographic data.
- Net Library
The MSU Libraries offers more than 10,000 electronic books, or eBooks, through our membership in the Michigan Library Consortium. Trade and university press materials, as well as popular materials are included.
[Return to Top]
Primary Resources
- Antislavery Newspapers and Periodicals
· Volume I. Annotated index of letters in The Philanthropist, (Mt. Pleasant, OH); Emancipator, (Jonesborough, TN); Genius of Universal Emancipation; Abolition Intelligencer, (Shelbyville, KY); African Observer, (Philadelphia) and The Liberator, (Boston) 1831-1845.
· Volume II. Annotated index of letters in The Liberator, (Boston) 1846-1865; Anti-Slavery Record, (New York); Human Rights, (New York); and The Observer, (St. Louis).
· Volume III. Annotated index of letters in The Friend of Man, (Utica, NY) Pennsylvania Freeman; Advocate of Freedom, (Hallowell, ME); and American & Foreign Anti-slavery Reporter (New York).
· Volume IV. Annotated index of letters in The National Anti-Slavery Standard, 1840-1860.
· Volume V. Annotated index of letters in The National Anti-Slavery Standard, 1861-1871.
- Primary Resources list of titles identified/
[Return to Top]
Other collections at the MSU Libraries that may be of interest and use include:
[Return to Top]
Africana Library
[Return to Top]
Fine Arts Library (Visual Arts & Music)
[Return to Top]
Government Documents Library
[Return to Top]
Special Collections Library
[Return to Top]
Useful Web Sites
- The Jim Crow Museum of Racist Memorabilia
a real place and a virtual site. The actual museum is located on the campus of Ferris State University in Big Rapids, Michigan. Dr. John Thorp, is the curator for the museum.
- Library of Congress
American Memory provides web access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.... materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
from: http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/about/index.html
History
- Northwestern University - Herskovits Library of African Studies
Established in 1954, the Melville J. Herskovits Library of African Studies at Northwestern University is the largest separate Africana collection in existence. Its scope is the continent of Africa; its subject matter is multidisciplinary including art, history, literature, music, religion,communications, management, and cooking. In addition to serving the NU community, the Herskovits Library also serves regional, national, and international scholars.
[Return to Top]
Page Coordinator: Diana Rivera huizarri@msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=396
Last updated: 01-23-2007
|