Link to print-friendly version


Learn to Speak Library: A Basic Vocabulary

This guide provides definitions for and examples of some basic library vocabulary terms. For additional library vocabulary terms, see theOnline Dictionary for Library and Information Science.

For translations of many of these terms, see the ACRL Multilingual Glossary.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Abstract

A short summary of an article, book, dissertation or other longer work.
  • Example

    Peter read the abstract before he decided to find the article for his paper.
Article

An individual piece of writing on a particular subject in a magazine, journal or newspaper.
  • Example

    The professor said to read at least three scholarly articles about the topic.
Barcode number

A 14-digit number used to identify library users and materials.
  • Example

    The undergraduate student typed the barcode number (21293010120743) on his ID card into the interlibrary loan request form.
Bibliography

A list of citations for books, articles and other publications on the same subject.
  • Example

    The graduate student found an excellent bibliography on Asian sculpture in the Fine Arts Library.
Bound periodicals

Periodicals that are put between hard covers, like a book. Also called bound volumes.
  • Example

    Last year’s issues of Time magazine were bound periodicals located in the Main Library.
Call number

A combination of letters and/or numbers that put books in order on the bookshelves and assist in locating materials in the library. Call numbers are based on the subject of the book.
  • Example

    Amina wrote down the call number of the book she wanted to find, Q1 .S35.
Catalog

A file of all the books and other materials in a library. The catalog of the MSU Libraries, also called the online catalog, is on the Internet at
http://magic.msu.edu/search . Here you can search for or “look up” books and other materials by author, title, keyword or call number.
  • Example

    Dao found the book he needed in the online catalog.
Check out

To borrow an item from the library.
  • Example

    Nadia went to the circulation desk to check out the books she had found on the history of Lansing.
Circulation

Desk, department and service where you borrow and return library materials and pay fines for overdue (late), damaged or lost materials.
  • Example

    Gregory went to the circulation desk with his ID card to borrow the book.
Citation

Brief information that describes a book or article. For books, a citation includes author(s); title; and place, publisher and date of publication. For articles, a citation includes the author (s) and title of the article; name of the journal/periodical; volume (issue) number, date and page numbers.
  • Example

    Susan wrote down the citation she found in the index for use in her bibliography.
Due date

Date when an item borrowed from the library must be returned. Fines (money) may be owed when an item is overdue (not returned on time).
  • Example

    Maria always returned library books she had borrowed before the due date.
Fine

Money owed for not returning library materials borrowed on time.
  • Example

    Maria never had to pay a fine, because she always returned library materials on time.
Index

A subject guide for periodical articles. It gives citations—journal title, date, volume and pages—and, usually, abstracts for articles on a particular topic.
  • Example

    Shizuka found many articles when she searched by her topic in an electronic index.
Interlibrary loan (ILL)

A free service provided by the MSU Libraries to get materials not owned from other libraries. Also called Interlibrary Services.
  • Example

    The circulation desk employee said most items requested through the interlibrary loan service arrived in approximately two weeks.
Journal

A scholarly publication containing articles written by different experts about research or experiments—usually published regularly.
  • Example

    Juan read about Dr. Smith’s recent discoveries in the Journal of Water Management and Research.
Magazine

A publication containing news, current events and articles on popular topics of general interest.
  • Example

    A picture of Lorraine’s favorite actor was on the cover of this week’s People magazine.
Periodical

Publications such as newspapers, journals and magazines that contain articles and are usually published more often than once a year.
  • Example

    The New York Times, a daily newspaper, is an important periodical publication in the United States.
Recall

Request that an item that has been borrowed by another person be returned before the due date, so you can use it.
  • Example

    The book that Veronique wanted was checked out, so she asked that it be recalled.
Reference

Desk, department and service where librarians are available to help you start your research and find information on your topic.
  • Example

    Lee asked the reference librarian how to find books and articles on family-owned farms in Michigan.
Reserves (Reserve reading)

A desk and department where instructors keep books, articles and other class-related materials for students to read or use in the library for a limited time.
  • Example

    A copy of Dr. Seadle's article was available at the reserve reading desk on the second floor.
Renew

Request that the due date for an item borrowed from the library be changed, so that the item can be borrowed for longer.
  • Example

    Leslie was able to renew the video online.
Stacks

Areas where bookshelves, made up of ranges, are located in a library.
  • Example

    Barbara went to the stacks on the third floor of the East wing.


Page Coordinator: Stephanie Perentesis
perente1@msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=41
Last updated: 02-04-2008

© 2006 Michigan State University Board of Trustees. MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity institution.