Link to print-friendly version


A Rembrandt in the Attic? Researching Artists and Finding the Value of Works of Art

Have you been wondering who painted that portrait handed down to you by your Grandmother? Are you curious about the artist who made that ceramic vase you found at a rummage sale? This handout will offer tips on researching both the artist who created your work of art and the value of the piece.

Table of Contents:

Finding Information on an Artist

If you would like to research an artist, a number of resources can help you locate basic information. These items are available in the Fine Arts Library and are located in Art Reference unless otherwise noted. Please realize that many minor artists have little or no literature available on their lives or work. Feel free to ask for assistance!
  • Suggested Reference Works

    Artist Biographies Master Index (N40 .A78 1986)
    Indexes biographical information sources for thousands of artists. This is often the best source for finding information on lesser-known artists. This index will not provide biographical information but instead lists a large number of other sources that you may consult. You can use the MSU Libraries' catalog, MAGIC, to determine if the Fine Arts Library has the sources listed. This is a key resource and an excellent starting point for your research.

    Allgemeines Lexikon der bildenden Künstler von der Antike bis zur Gegenwart (N40 .T4) Also known as "Thieme-Becker", this German-language set is indispensable for locating European artists (who flourished prior to the mid twentieth century.)

    Artists in Michigan, 1900-1976: a Biographical Dictionary (N6530.M5 A78 1989) Along with Artists of Early Michigan (see item below) this work provides information on artists native to Michigan.

    Artists of Early Michigan: a Biographical Dictionary of Artists Native to or Active in Michigan, 1701-1900 (N6530.M5 G52)

    Classified Directory of Artists' Signatures, Symbols & Monograms (N45 .C3 1982) Aids in the identification of an artist's signature or monogram.

Finding the Value of Art

Because works of art may be sold at auction (whether the artist is living or deceased), using auction records is one way to find information about the value of art objects. There are several auction record indexes in the Fine Arts Library. Keep in mind you may have to look at more than one year to find the last time a work by a particular artist was sold at auction. Another way to find the value of art is to consult a qualified art appraiser.
  • Art Auction Information

    All resources listed are located in the Art Reference collection.

    Annual Art Sales Index (N8670 .A654)

    Auktionspreise im Kunstpreis Jahrbuch(N8670 .A68) (continues Kunstpreis Jahrbuch)

    Christie's Review of the Season (N8660.C5 A36)

    Davenport's Art Reference & Price Guide 2007/2008 (N8670 .D384)

    Gordon's Print Price Annual (NE85 .G67)

    International Auction Records (N8640 .I5)

    Leonard's Annual Price Index of Prints, Posters & Photographs (NE85 .L46)

    Price Guide to Antique Silver (N8675 .H3 1992)

    Printworld Directory of Contemporary Prints and Prices (NE491 .P77)

    Sotheby's Art at Auction (N8640 .A7)
  • Art Appraisers

    The staff of the Fine Arts Library are not qualified nor permitted to act as art appraisers; we cannot provide the estimated value of works of art. Appraisers can be found in the yellow pages of the local telephone book under "Appraisers."

    The Appraisers Association of America Membership Directory is available in print (HF5681 .V3 A66 2003/2005) or online (http://www.appraisersassoc.org/). This directory may be helpful in finding a qualified appraiser.


Page Coordinator: Terrie Wilson wilso398@lib.msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=584
Last updated: 09-11-2008

© 2006 Michigan State University Board of Trustees. MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity institution.