Link to print-friendly version


Collection Development Policy Statement: Physics and Astronomy

Written by: Judy Matthews
Date Drafted: 3/11/99, rev. 3/11/03, 10/16/06

I. PURPOSE OR SCOPE OF COLLECTION

A. Curricular/Research/Programmatic needs

The purpose of the physics and astronomy collection is to support the research and teaching needs in the fields of physics and astronomy. The collection supports the research and teaching needs of the Department of Physics and Astronomy and the Cyclotron within the College of Natural Resources, as well as the interdisciplinary research needs of the entire university community. The collection is maintained at a graduate/research level in most areas, however materials for undergraduate physics are also collected.

B. History of the Collection/Existing strengths and emphases

The library opened in September, 1949 as the Physics-Math Library. In 1967 the Math Department and its library materials moved to Wells Hall. In 1972 the Physics Library became the Physics-Astronomy Library. In 1990, the first Physics-Astronomy librarian was hired to manage the collection on a half-time basis. In 2002, the Physics-Astronomy Library moved and merged its collections with the Chemistry Library into the new Biomedical and Physical Sciences Library. Other physics and astronomy materials on campus are located in the Main Library, with an emphasis on undergraduate-level materials for non-majors. A small number of journal subscriptions and monographs are located in the Cyclotron Library, which is not open to the public.

II. FACTORS INFLUENCING COLLECTION POLICY

A. Current and future trends

The new library houses materials from the current physics and chemistry branch libraries, as well as microbiology and physiology materials. The new building provides a much improved environment for materials, particulary in terms of climate control, that was absent in the old Physics building. The new facility, however, is not sufficient in size to contain all materials housed in the previous library. Some older journals and monographs are contained in storage facilities. Increased access to a growing wealth of electronic materials, particularly e-journals, is a significant feature of the new library, which is fully wired for laptop computers and provides pc workstations. Proximity to the Cyclotron Library permitted the cancellation of some duplicative journal subscriptions. Proximity to the Cyclotron and the Chemistry building promotes greater cross-disciplinary collaboration and communication among faculty and students.

B. Relationships with other resources

1. On campus branch or format collection if any.

Cyclotron Library, Mathematics Library, Engineering Library. The departmental Physics Library contains the bulk of the research collection for the study of physics. The Cyclotron Library, not an official MSU branch library, houses a small collection of monographs (approximately 700 volumes) , conference proceedings (approximately 750 volumes) , and a small number of journals, none of which circulate to the public. The Biomedical and Physical Sciences Library houses some materials in spectroscopy and chemical physics. The Biomedical and Physical Sciences Library collects selectively in a few pure mathematics areas such as differential equations, complex variable theory, and advanced calculus. Applied mathematics materials are also chosen selectively. The Biomedical and Physical Sciences Library has the primary collection in mathematical physics. Some introductory-level and popular physics and astronomy materials for undergraduates are selected for the Main Library. Many of the older materials in the Main library are duplicates to titles held in the Physics-Astronomy Library.

2. Regional and network resources, if any

As part of the MRLT, MSU patrons make use of the University of Michigan and Wayne State University libraries for materials not held at MSU. They also obtain materials via interlibrary loan from other CIC institutions.

C. Relationships to resources treated in other policy statements

Chemistry: Chemical Physics
Math: Statistical Physics

III. ANALYSIS OF THE SUBJECT FIELD

A. Chronology of the subject; emphases/restrictions

Emphasis is on current developments as well as the history and philosophy of modern physics.

B. Languages of resources collected; exclusions/emphases/translations

The primary language of acquired materials is English. Translations into English are preferred and obtained when possible.

C. Geography of the subject; emphases/restrictions

Not applicable.

D. Format of the resources collected: restrictions if any

Materials collected include monographs, serials, conference proceedings, encyclopedias, dictionaries, directories, government publications, technical reports, electronic resources (databases, e-journals, Web resources). No microform or video format materials are collected. No software is collected unless it is supplemental to a printed work. Some advanced-level textbooks are collected. Palomar Sky Survey plates are housed in the Astronomy department offices.

E. Date of publication of resources collected: emphases if any.

Emphasis is on materials published within the last five years, Virtually no retrospective collection is carried out. The only exception may be the acquisition of a classic work that we should have.

IV. LEVELS OF COLLECTING INTENSITY - Summary of Conspectus
LC Call # Ranges Subject Level
QB - Astronomy
QB 1-139 General Astronomy 3b
QB 140-237 Practical and Spherical Astronomy 3b
QB 275-343 Geodesy 2
QB 349-421 Theoretical astronomy and celestial mechanics; including perturbations, tides 3b
QB 460-466 Astrophysics 4
QB 468-480 Non-optical methods of astronomy 2
QB 495-903 Descriptive astronomy 3b
QB 980-981 Cosmogony. Cosmology 3c
QC - Physics
QC1-80 General Physics 3c
QC81-114 Weights and Measures 2
QC120-168.85 Descriptive and Experimental Mechanics 3
QC170-197 Atomic Physics, Constitution and Properties of Matter w/Quantum Theory, Solid-State Physics 4
QC220-246 Acoustics; Sound 3a
QC251-338.5 Heat 2
QC350-467 Optics; Light; Including Spectroscopy 3b
QC474-496.9 Radiation Physics (General) 2
QC 501-766 Electricity & Magnetism 2
QC770-798 Nuclear & Particle Physics, Atomic Energy, and Radioactivity 4
QC801-809 Geophysics; Cosmic Physics 3
QC811-849 Geomagnetism 2
QC851-999 Meteorology; Climatology 3b



Page Coordinator: Judy Matthews matthe20@msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=595
Last updated: 03-22-2007

© 2006 Michigan State University Board of Trustees. MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity institution.