Link to print-friendly version


Collection Development Policy Statement: Chemistry

Written by: J. Oliver
Date Drafted: 10/27/88
Date Revised: 10/10/02, 03/01/04, 10/16/06; last reviewed 03/02/09 by Judy Matthews

I PURPOSE OF SCOPE OF COLLECTION

A. Curricular/Research/Programmatic Needs

The purpose of the chemistry collection is to support the university=s present and anticipated teaching and research needs in the study of chemistry. The collection is maintained at a graduate/ research collection level in the majority of its areas. Current major areas of faculty teaching and research include: analytical chemistry, inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry, physical, and theoretical chemistry. There are also joint research projects that cut across traditional areas of specialization in chemistry as well as interdepartmental and interdisciplinary research. These include subjects such as: biochemistry, engineering, geology, soil science, physics, mathematics, nuclear chemistry, chemical aspects of agriculture, medicine, and the environment; and campus research centers such as the Composite Materials and Structures Center, the Pesticide Research Center, the National Superconducting Cyclotron, and the medical colleges. Additionally, the Chemistry Department provides basic chemical education for students who major in other science disciplines. Necessary tools used for teaching undergraduate chemistry are maintained.

B. History of the Collection/Existing Strengths and Emphases

The chemistry collection is located in the Biomedical and Physical Sciences Library (BPS), Room 1440 Biomedical Physical Sciences, East Lansing, MI 48840-5320. The collection began as a departmental library (called the Kedzie Chemistry Library) in the Kedzie Chemistry Building, prior to its move to the current Chemistry Building. At that time, purchases were made by the chemistry faculty. In 1963 the Chemistry Department and the Chemistry Library moved to the current building, where the library was housed on the fourth floor of the building. It was staffed by a variety of librarians and clerical staff until1969 when funds from a Centers for Excellence Grant made it possible to hire a permanent librarian. At that time the MSU Libraries assumed administrative control of the Chemistry Department=s library services. The collection was then, and continues to be, a working collection for the chemist that is responsive to the research requirements of the Chemistry Department. Some materials are selectively removed in order to free space for current research needs, while at the same time those materials with historical significance are retained. The most relevant serials and monographs in the areas of biochemistry, molecular biology, microbiology and molecular genetics were moved from the Main Library to BPS when it was established. Other chemistry materials on campus are located in the Main Library, which has an emphasis in the chemistry of agriculture, medicine, and the environment. Engineering Library materials have an emphasis on chemical engineering. The materials in the Main Library consist mainly of undergraduate resources; however, a few professional journals are still located there

II FACTORS INFLUENCING COLLECTION POLICY

A. Anticipated Future Trends

New technologies in the library continue to change the way patrons use the library. Patrons prefer to utilize sources that are available from home or office, particularly web sources, as the web is an ubiquitous tool for online access of materials. We currently collect many electronic journals with web access, such as the ACS Web Journals. There are tools such as Beilstein and SciFinder Scholar, which are MS-Windows based software are distributed using a WTS software (Citrix). Other materials, mainly electronic journals and some electronic texts are available from a number of vendors and/or aggregators. Other resources will be added, with the goal of complete web accessibility for the user regardless of their operating software.

B. Relationships with Other Resources

1. On Campus, Branch, or Format Collections, if any.
The BPS Library contains much of the research collection for the study of chemistry. As chemical research involves cross-disciplinary research, collections outside those in the BPS Library are used. These include: The Main Library with collection strength in agriculture, medicine, and allied sciences, including biotechnology, the Engineering Library with collections in chemical engineering and materials science, and the Geology Library with collections in geochemistry.

2. Regional or Network Resources, if any.
The University of Michigan is an important resource for chemistry in the state. Other major collections in the "Big Ten" schools are located at the University of Indiana, the University of Illinois, and Purdue. Wayne State University has several journals that are not held by M.S.U.

C. Relationships to Resources Treated in Other Policy Statements

Biological Sciences/Nat History Physics/Astronomy
Biological/Biomedical Sciences Engineering
Geology


III. ANALYSIS OF THE SUBJECT FIELD

A. Chronology of the Subject: Emphases/Restrictions

The library acquires primarily the most recent research in chemistry. Materials of historical nature are collected only if requested.

B. Languages of Resources Collected: Exclusions/Emphases/Translations

Primary acquisitions are in English. French, German, Russian, and occasionally other foreign languages are acquired selectively if the research content is of a high level. However, English translations are preferred. As there are some older materials in languages other than English, a small collection of scientific translation dictionaries is kept in reference.

C. Geography of the Subject: Emphases/Restrictions

No specific geographic concerns.

D. Format of the Resources Collected: Restrictions

No restriction in the format of the material collected as long as the machines are available for the use of the material. Non-print formats are retained in other collections, such as microfilm in the Current Periodicals and Microform section of the Main Library, and video in the Digital and Multimedia Center.

E. Date of Publication of Resources Collected: Emphases

Emphasis is on current materials, in the English language.

IV. LEVELS OF COLLECTING INTENSITY

(Use conspectus divisions and/or compilations thereof followed by the RLG collection intensity level. Scope Notes, should be uniformly brief.)

Conspectus

Call # Ranges Subject Level Note
QD 1-69 Chemistry (General) 3A
QD 11-23 History, Biography 2 Only those materials requested are purchased; no exhaustive searching for additional materials.
QD 23.3-27 Alchemy 1
QD 27-39 General works; Popular works; Chemistry as a profession 1
QD 40-49 Study and teaching 2
QD 51-65 Laboratories; Techniques and operations; Safety; Tables, formulas; Catalogs, pricelists 1
QD 71-145 Analytical Chemistry 3B
QD 81-87 Qualitative Analysis (Organic and Inorganic) 3A
QD 95-98 Spectrum Analysis (Applications of spectroscopy in general analytical chemistry and theoretical works) 3B
QD 96 .N8 Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Spectroscopy (including Fourier transform NMR spectroscopy) 3B Also covered as MRI (magnetic resonance imaging)RC 78-899 in Human Medicine Coll. Dev. Policy Statement (CDP).
QD 101-121 Quantitative Analysis 3B
QD 115 Electrochemical Analysis 3B
QD 117 .C5 Chromatography 3B
QD 117 .T4 Thermal Analysis 2
QD 121 Gas Analysis 2
QD 130 Technical Analysis 2
QD 131-135 Metals; Alloys (Nonferrous alloys) 2
QD 139 Other, including polymers; semiconductors; trace elements 2 Ceramics, clay -TP 810-811 covered in Engineering CDP; Food B TX 545 in
QD 142 Water analysis 2
QD 146-196 Inorganic Chemistry (General) 2
QD 161-169 Inorganic Chemistry 3B
QD 167-169 Inorganic acids; Water 3B
QD 171-181 Metals 3B Includes alkaline and alkali earth and metals, including gases, chemistry of the air, and halogens.
QD 189-193 Salts 2 Historically, little research is done in this area. Nothing purchased except for requests.
QD 196 Inorganic Polymers and polymerization 1
QD 241-449 Organic Chemistry (General) 3A
QD 262 Organic Synthesis 4
QD 271-291 Organic Analysis 3B
QD 301-315 Aliphatic Compounds 3A
QD 320-327 Carbohydrates 3A
QD 330-341 Aromatic Compounds 3A
QD 375-377 Antibiotics 2
QD 380-388 Polymers, Macromolecules 2
QD 399-405 Heterocyclic Compounds 3B
QD 410-412 Organometallic Compounds 3B
QD 415-441 Biochemistry and Bioorganic Chemistry 3A
QD 416-431 Natural Products, including, Terpenes, Gums, Resins, Alkaloids, Proteins, Peptides 3A
QD 450-731 Physical and Theoretical Chemistry 3B
QD 501-505 Conditions and laws of chemical reactions 3B
QD 504 Conditions and laws of chemical reactions: thermodynamics 3B
QD 505 Conditions and laws of chemical reactions: catalysis 3B
QD 506-508 Surface Chemistry 3B
QD510-536 Thermo chemistry 3B
QD551-571 Electrochemistry 3B
QD601-655 Nuclear chemistry 3A
QD 701-731 Photochemistry 2B
QD901-999 Crystallography 3A

V COLLECTION MANAGEMENT ISSUES

(Are there any specific policies on replacement, deselecting, out of print acquisition, preservation, etc.?) Materials not related to current research needs nor required for archival purposes are discarded when there are duplicates elsewhere on campus. Multiple copies of outdated monographs are usually not retained. Missing materials are replaced with new editions unless a specific edition is considered by the librarian to be a classic in the field. Titles are selectively preserved if there is available alternative funding. Preservation decisions are made on a case-by-case basis, following the general guidelines established by the Main Library.



Page Coordinator: Judy Matthews matthe20@msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=596
Last updated: 03-09-2009

© 2006 Michigan State University Board of Trustees. MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity institution.