Link to print-friendly version


Collection Development Policy Statement: Animal Science

Written by Leslie Behm: July 21, 1998

Revised by Anita Ezzo: March 19, 2002

Revised by Sheila Bryant: February 16, 2006

I. PURPOSE OR SCOPE OF COLLECTION

A. Curricular/Research/Programmatic Needs

The Department of Animal Science offers both undergraduate and graduate programs leading to Bachelor of Science, Master of Science, and Doctor of Philosophy degrees. The goals of the animal industry are to provide safe, nutritious, and economical food, fiber, and recreation for consumers without compromising either the environment or the welfare of animals. Research is done in breeding and genetics, microbiology, molecular biology, nutrition, reproductive and mammary physiology, toxicology, meat science and muscle biology, and livestock and farm management, with a focus on beef or dairy cattle, sheep, swine, horses, poultry, and fur-bearing or laboratory animals.

B. History of the Collection/Existing Strengths and Emphases

The collection has grown as the University has grown over the years from an agricultural college to the research university that it is today. The Animal Science collection supports the teaching and research needs of graduate and undergraduate students and faculty in the Departments of Animal Science and Food Science and Human Nutrition. Animal Science books, journals, trade magazines, etc. were housed in the Animal Industries Reference Room in Anthony Hall to give faculty and students better access to the materials. In August 2003, the Animal Industries Reference Room closed and most of the materials, except for a few trade magazines, were moved to the Main Library. Some materials were moved to the Veterinary Medical Center Library.

II. FACTORS INFLUENCING COLLECTION POLICY

A. Anticipated Future Trends

The research of the National Food Safety and Toxicology Center as well as projects funded by the Animal Initiative and other grants will impact the demand for specific library materials. Interest in animal genetics, behavior, nutrition, physiology, and reproduction will remain strong. Materials which address issues related to environmental impacts, animal welfare, and meat quality and safety will also be important. The growing number of online courses as well as an overall desire for remote access to library resources will continue to increase the demand for networked resources and electronic journals.

B. Relationships with other resources

1. On Campus Branch or Format Collections, if any.

Materials in the Main Library, the Veterinary Medical Center Library, and the Biomedical and Physical Science Library help support the needs of the Department of Animal Science. The Business Library collection is important to the marketing and management track of the undergraduate degree.

2. Regional or Network Resources, if any.

As part of the Michigan Research Libraries Triangle, MSU Libraries maintains reciprocal borrowing agreements with the University of Michigan and Wayne State Libraries. Materials are also obtained via interlibrary loan from CIC and other institutions.

C. Relationships to Resources Treated in Other Policy Statements

Agriculture general agriculture, forages, feeds, welfare
Biomedical Sciences microbiology, genetics, reproduction, physiology of animals
Human Medicine anatomy, physiology, genetics, physiology, toxicology
Veterinary Medicine livestock physiology, reproduction, diseases
Food Science/Nutrition technology, food production, food safety, crop protection
Zoology animal physiology, development, behavior
III. ANALYSIS OF THE SUBJECT FIELD

A. Chronology of the Subject

The emphasis is on current research and trends in the animal science industry.

B. Languages of resources collected

The primary language of acquired materials is English. There is a limited amount of French and German language material.

C. Geography of the Subject

The primary emphasis is on the United States and Canada; however, since international coverage is highly desired for most areas, English-language publications may be purchased regardless of country of origin or geographic treatment.

D. Format of the Resources Collected

The research journal is very important, but many trade publications are also heavily utilized. Because of the undergraduate component, monographs also serve an important function. Emphasis has traditionally been on print materials; however, electronic resources are becoming even more prevalent.

E. Date of publication of Resources Collected

The primary focus is on current materials, although historical materials related to breeds is used for research purposes. An historical apiculture collection, The Ray Stannard Baker Bee Collection, is housed in Special Collections and contains early works on bees published before 1850 in English and other languages.

IV. LEVELS OF COLLECTING INTENSITY

Conspectus
Call # Ranges SUBJECT Level NOTE
SF 1-83 Animal culture (general) 3
SF 84-84.5 Economic zoology 2
SF 85-99 Ranges, housing, environmental control, feeds, nutrition 3
SF 101-121 Brands, breeds, exhibitions 3
SF 170-180 Working animals 1
SF 191-275 Cattle, dairying, dairy products 3
SF 277-359 Horses, draft horses. General, breeds and breeding, showing, horsemanship, racing 3
SF 361-362 Donkeys, mules 1
SF 371-379 Sheep. Wool 2
SF 380-388 Goats 2
SF 391-401 Swine 3B
SF 402-405 Fur-bearing animals 2
SF 405.5-407 Laboratory animals 2
SF 409-473 Small animal culture. Pets (dogs, cats, rabbits, birds) 3B
SF 456-459 Fish, exotic animals 1
SF 481-507 Poultry 3
SF 508-513 Game and ornamental birds 1
SF 518-597 Rearing of insects & other invertebrates 2
SF 521-539 Bee culture 3

V. COLLECTION MANAGEMENT ISSUES

Multiple copies may be purchased for high demand titles and/or titles authored by MSU faculty.

Replacement copies, if available, are usually ordered for high circulation material or that which is important to the completeness of the collection. Multiple copies of outdated monographs are usually not retained.

Preservation decisions follow the general guidelines established by the Main Library.



Page Coordinator: Sheila Bryant bryants@msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=598
Last updated: 05-03-2007

© 2006 Michigan State University Board of Trustees. MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity institution.