Link to print-friendly version


Collection Development Policy Statement: Engineering

Department: Collections Management

Subject: Engineering

Written by: Tom Volkening

Date Drafted: 5/99

Reviewed: 10/06

I. PURPOSE OR SCOPE OF THE COLLECTION

A. Curricular/Research/Programmatic Needs

The purpose of the Engineering Library collection is to support the current and anticipated research and curricular needs of College of Engineering. In order to support doctoral programs and research, the goal is to maintain the collection at a graduate/research level. Due to inflation, the increase in the amount of information available and the need to support new research programs it is not possible to meet this goal utilizing only the engineering collection at Michigan State University. As a CIC institution the MSU Libraries is part of a virtual electronic library and can utilize the collections of the other CIC institutions to help meet the information needs of the MSU community.

The Engineering Library collection supports the research and curricular needs of the following departments in the College of Engineering: Chemical Engineering and Materials Science, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Computer Science and Engineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering, and Mechanical Engineering. It also supports degree programs in computer engineering and manufacturing engineering and supports in part the Construction Management Program. The collection also supports the research needs of the Composite Materials and Structures Center and the Energy and Automotive Research Laboratory within the College of Engineering. It also provides partial support for the Center for Fundamental Materials Research, the Center for Microbial Ecology, the Center for Sensor Materials and the Michigan Biotechnology Institute. Due to the interdisciplinary nature of much of today's research, the collection is also used by researchers in chemistry, mathematics, and physics and to a lesser degree biomechanics, biosystems engineering, environmental studies, and geology. Materials for undergraduate engineering are also collected.

B. History of the Collection/Existing Strengths and Emphases.

The engineering collection dates back to the early years of the University. For a time prior to 1963 it was housed in the Science division of the Main Library. In September of 1963 part of the collection was moved to the new Engineering Library located on the third floor of the recently completed Engineering building. In the summer of 1989 the Engineering Library moved to its new location on the first floor of the not yet completed addition to the Engineering building. The current location is air-conditioned and has more than double the space of the old library. In 2003 the Engineering Library underwent a major renovation that included the installation of compact shelving, new carpet, and a new public service point.

Technology materials are collected for the Engineering Library and the Main Library. The Main Library collection emphasizes general technology, history of technology, communications, water resources, pollution, textiles, and agricultural engineering. Neither the Main Library collection nor the Engineering Library collection is an historical collection as such. The main goal for these collections is to provide materials to meet the current research and curricular needs of faculty and staff and to anticipate their future research and curricular needs. Older materials of significant value are retained. Older materials of lesser value are removed as identified.

II. FACTORS INFLUENCING COLLECTION POLICY

A. Trends

There are several major trends that influence collection development in the Engineering Library. First is the number of electronic resources available and the increasing dependence on technology to access them. These include electronic versions of print journals, electronic-only journals, electronic bibliographic databases, non-bibliographic electronic resources such as directories, and tools that do not fit traditional categories of materials. The library is moving from ownership of physical volumes to the access of electronic resources so license agreements with resource providers will become increasingly important. Archiving of electronic resources is a major concern. Users expect to access the collection from remote locations and fewer people will come to the Library to use the print collection. More users will request that current publications be purchased in electronic formats that are accessible from remote locations. Most commercial publisher will probably continue to publish print and electronic versions of their serials for some time to come but increasingly they offering libraries the option of purchasing electronic journals without print subscriptions. It is unclear if electronic publications will ever be significantly less expensive than their print counterparts. Some professional societies could stop publishing print materials within 5 years. However, new print and electronic journals will continue to proliferate and inflation will continue to erode the buying power of the libraries. Interdisciplinary research and cross- disciplinary courses will be even more popular. Joint-degree programs with departments outside the College will increase the need for cooperation between selectors. Due to the increasing emphasis on bringing in research dollars, faculty will seek funding for research in new areas while continuing to work in their current areas of research. This will further stretch the collection budget for engineering.

B. Relationships With Other Resources

1. On campus branch or format collection, if any.
Biomedical and Physical Sciences Library,Business Library, and Mathematics Library.

2. Regional or network resources, if any.

MSU users make direct use of the Media Union collection at the University of Michigan for materials not at MSU. Users make extensive use of our Document Delivery service to obtain materials from other CIC libraries.

C. Relationship to resources treated in other policy statements.
Business: Manufacturing Engineering
Chemistry: Chemical Engineering
Computer Science: Electrical Engineering
Computer Engineering
Environmental Studies: Environmental Engineering
Geology: Soil Mechanics
Geotechnology
Mathematics: Applied Mathematics
Physics: Applied Physics
Materials Science
III. ANALYSIS OF THE SUBJECT FIELD.

A. Chronology of the subject: emphases/restrictions

No attempt is made to do retrospective collection building. Current materials are emphasized.

B. Languages of resources collected:

exclusions/emphases/translations

English is the primary language of materials acquired. Materials in other languages are acquired on a case by case basis.

C. Geography of the subject: emphases/restrictions

The goal of the collection is to obtain English language materials regardless of the country of origin. In practice this means primarily publications from North America and Western Europe with some publications from Asia and other parts of the world.

D. Format of the resources collected: restrictions if any

Currently no microforms or videos are collected. Software is not collected unless it is received as a supplement to a printed work. CD-ROM based materials are not actively collected but are added to the collection if they are received as part of standing order or received as a gift and meet collection development guidelines. Materials available only on CD-ROM will be considered for purchase. Network accessible resources are the preferred format when available and affordable.

IV. LEVELS OF COLLECTING INTENSITY - Summary of Conspectus

Conspectus

Call Number Range Subject Level
T TECHNOLOGY
T1 - 54 TECHNOLOGY-GENERAL 2
T55- 60 INDUSTRIAL SAFETY & INDUSTRIAL ENGINEERING 2
T61 - 174 TECHNICAL EDUCATION, INNOVATION & TECHNOLOGY TRANSFER 2
T175 -342 INDUSTRIAL RESEARCH & PATENTS 2
T351 - T385 MECHANICAL DRAWING & COMPUTER GRAPHICS 3A
TA GENERAL ENGINEERING
TA1 - 163 ENGINEERING-GENERAL 2
TA165 - 167 INSTRUMENTSS, ERGONOMICS, &SYSTEMS 2
TA170 -171 ENVIRONMENTAL ENGINEERING 2
TA174 ENGINEERING DESIGN 3A
TA178 - 194 ENGINEERING ECONOMY & MANAGEMENT 2
TA197 - 198 ENGINEERING METROLOGY 2
TA221 - 326 ENGINEERING LAW 1
TA329 - 348 ENGINEERING MATHEMATICS 3A
TA349 - 367 ENGINEERING MECHANICS & ACOUSTICS 3A
TA368 STANDARDS 2
TA401 - 492 ENGINEERING MATERIALS 3A
TA501 - 690 SURVEYING 2
TA630 - 690 STRUCTURAL ENGINEERING 3A
TA705 - 820 GEOTECHNICAL ENGINEERING 3A
TA1001- 1280 TRANSPORTATION ENGINEERING 3A
TA1501 - 1632 APPLIED OPTICS & IMAGE PROCESSING 2
TA2001 - 2030 PLASMA ENGINEERING 2
TC HYDRAULIC ENGNEERING
TC1 - 181 HYDRAULIC ENGINEERING-GENERAL 2
TC187 - 201 DREDGING, BLASTING, & DRILLING 1
TC203 - 383 HARBORS & COASTS 1
TC401 - 526 RIVER & LAKE ENGINEERING 1
TC530 - 771 RIVER WORKS, FLOOD CONTROL, & DAMS 2
TC801 - 978 IRRIGATION ENGINEERING 3B
TD ENVIRONMENTAL ENGINEERING
TD1 - 167 SANITARY & MUNICIPAL ENGINEERING 2
TD172 - 196 ENVIRONMENTAL POLLUTION 3A
TD201 - 500 WATER SUPPLY ENGINEERING 2
TD511 - 780 SEWAGE COLLECTION & DISPOSAL SYSTEMS 2
TD785 - 870 MUNICIPAL REFUSE 2
TD878 - 893 SPECIAL TYPES OF POLLUTION 3A
TD895 - 899 INDUSTRIAL & FACTORY SANITATION 2
TD920 - 929 RURAL SANITARY ENGINEERING 2
TD930 - 939 AGRICULTURAL WASTES 3B
TE HIGHWAY ENGINEERING
TE1 - 155 HIGHWAY ENGINEERING-GENERAL 3A
T3175 HIGHWAY DESIGN 2
TE177 - 191 ROADSIDE DVELOPMENT, COST & SPECIFICATIONS 2
TE200 - 205 MATERIALS FOR ROADMAKING 3A
TE206 - 227 SURVEYING & CONSTRUCTION 2
TE230 - 279 ROADS & STREETS 2
TE280 - 305 SIDEWALKS, CURBS, BIKE PATHS & TRAILS 1
TF RAILROAD ENGINEERING
TF1 - 1620 RAILROAD ENGINEERING 1
TG BRIDGE ENGINEERING
TG1 - 470 BRIDGE ENGINEERING 1
TH BUILDING CONSTRUCTION
TH1 - 845 BUILDING CONSTRUCTION - GENERAL 2
TH846 - 895 ARCHITECTURAL ENGINEERING 2
TH900 - 915 CONSTRUCTION EQUIPMENT 1
TH1061 - 1725 SYSTEMS OF BUILDING CONSTRUCTION 2
TH2031 - 3000 DESIGN AND CONSTRUCTION 2
TH3301 -3411 MAINTENANCE & REPAIR 1
TH4021 - 4970 BUILDINGS & DWELLINGS-USE 2
TH4911- 4970 FARM BUILDINGS 4
TH5011 - 5701 BUILDING TRADES 2
TH6010 - 6887 ENVIRONMENTAL ENGINEERING OF BUILDINGS 2
TH7005 - 7699 HEATING, VENILATION, & AIR CONDITIONING 2
TH7700 - 8581 LIGHTING & DECORATION 1
TH9024 - 9745 PROTECTION OF BUILDINGS 2
TJ MECHANICAL ENGINEERING
TJ1 - 169 MECHANCIAL ENGINEERING & MACHINERY-GENERAL 3A
TJ170 - 210 MECHANICS, DYNAMICS, & MECHANICAL MOVEMENT 3A
TJ211 AUTOMATA, ROBOTS 2
TJ212 - 225 CONTROL ENGINEERING 3A
TJ255 - 695 HEAT ENGINES, TURBINES, STEAM ENGINEERING 2
TJ751 - 830 MOTORS & ENGINES 3A
TJ840 - 935 HYDRAULIC MACHINES 2
TJ940 - 1030 MACHINERY 3A
TJ1040 -1119 MACHINE SHOPS & TOOLS 2
TJ1125 - 1345 HOISTING, CONVEYING, LIFTING & PRESSING MACHINERY 2
TJ1480 - 1496 AGRICULTURAL MACHINERY 3A
TK ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING
TK1 - 300 ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING-GENERAL 2
TK301 - 454 ELECTRICAL APPARATUS (CIRCUITS & NETWORKS) 3A
TK1001 - 1841 PRODUCTION OF ELECTRICITY 2
TK2000 - 2841 DYNAMO ELECTRIC MACHINES 3A
TK2896 - 2970 PRODUCTION OF ELECTRICITY BY DIRECT ENERGY CONVERSION 2
TK3001 - 3511 DISTRIBUTION OF ELECTRIC POWER 2
TK4001 - 4299 APPLICATIONS OF ELECTRIC POWER 2
TK4601 - 4661 ELECTRIC HEATING 1
TK5101 - 6780 TELECOMMUNINCATIONS-GENERAL 3A
TK5105 COMPUTER NETWORKS 3A
TK6001 - 6525 TELECOMMUNICATIONS-TELEPHONE 2
TK6540 - 6720 TELECOMMUNICATIONS-RADIO, RADAR, TELEVISION 2
TK7800- 8360 ELECTRONICS 3A
TK9001 - 9401 NUCLEAR ENGINEERING 1
TK9900 - 9971 ELECTRICITY FOR AMATEURS 1
TL MOTOR VEHICLES, AERONAUTICS, & ASTRONAUTICS
TL1 - 480 MOTOR VEHICLES 3A
TL500 - 777 AERONAUTICS 3A
TL780 - 1060 ASTRONAUTICS 2
TN MINING ENGINEERING
TN1 - 255 MINING ENGINEERING - GENERAL 1
TN260 - 265 APPLIED GEOLOGY 2
TN269 - 292 SURVEYING, PROSPECTING, ECONOMICS & OPERATIONS 1
TN295 - 345 MINE SAFETY, TRANSPORTATION & MACHINERY 1
TN400 - 580 ORE EXTRACTION & PROCESSING 1
TN600 - 799 METALLURGY-GENERAL, FERROUS, & NONFERROUS 3A
TN799 - 945 NON-METALLIC MINERALS 2
TN941 - 945 NON-METALLIC MINERALS - CLAY & CEMENT 3A
TN950 - 998 BUILDING & ORNAMENTAL STONES, & GEMS 1
TP CHEMICAL TECHNOLOGY
TP1 - 154 CHEMICAL TEHCNOLOGY - GENERAL 3A
TP155 - 248 CHEMICAL ENGINEERING & MANUFACTURE 3A
TP250 - 261 INDUSTRIAL ELECTROCHEMISTRY 2
TP267 - 301 EXPLOSIVES & PYROTECHNICS 1
TP315 - 361 FUELS & INFLAMMABLE LIQUIDS & GASES 2
TP368 - 465 FOOD PROCESSING AND MANUFACTURE 3A
TP480 - 498 LOW TEMPER4ATURE ENGINEERING 1
TP500 - 569 FERMENTATION SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY 3A
TP670 - 699 OILS, FATS, & WAXES 3A
TP700 - 770 GAS INDUSTRY 1
TP785 - 869 CLASY, CERAMICS, & GLASS 3A
TP875 - 888 CEMENT INDUSTRIES 2
TP890 - 933 TEXTILES 3B
TP934 - 944 PAINTS, PIGMENTS, ETC 2
TP950 - 997 MISCELLANEOUS ORGANIC CHEMICALS 2
TP1101 - 1185 POLYMERS & POLYMER MANUFACTURE 3A

V. COLLECTION MANAGEMENT ISSUES.

Specific policies, if any, on replacement, deselection, out of print materials, and preservation.

A. Replacement

Heavily used items or parts of multi-volume works are replaced when appropriate and possible.

B. Out of print materials

Out of print materials are not normally considered for purchase.

C. Deselection

Weeding is not done on a systematic basis.

D Preservation

Materials are reviewed for preservation as they return from circulation. A complete review of preservation needs of the engineering collection has not been done.



Page Coordinator: Tom Volkening volkenin@msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=621
Last updated: 04-17-2007

© 2006 Michigan State University Board of Trustees. MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity institution.