Link to print-friendly version


Biological Sciences Indexes - KBS

The MSU Libraries have a full list of databases that serve as indexes to periodical literature. The following is a list of those most pertinent to the research conducted at the Kellogg Biological Station.

Table of Contents:

General Science

  • LexisNexis Academic

    The LEXIS service contains major archives of federal and state case law, continuously updated statutes of all 50 states, state and federal regulations and public records from major U.S. states. The NEXIS service is a leading news and business information service which contains more than 7,100 sources, of which 3,700 provide their entire publications online.
  • ProQuest

    ProQuest Research Library contains over 2,000 periodicals (nearly 1,000 of them in ASCII full-text or full-image formats) in a wide range of subject areas. In addition to general interest publications, ProQuest Research Library covers titles in the following areas: arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.
  • Science Citation Index Expanded

    A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering journal literature in the sciences. Indexes 5,300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines, covering approximately 2,000 more journals than its print and CD-ROM counterparts, with all cited references listed.
  • Web of Science

    Includes the Institute for Scientific Information Citation Indexes - Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. It indexes science, social sciences, and arts and humanities information from nearly 9,300 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
Agriculture

  • AGRICOLA

    Covers every major agricultural subject, including agricultural engineering and marketing, animal breeding, entomology, environmental pollution, farm management, foods and feeds, pesticides, rural sociology, veterinary medicine, and water resources. Citations consist of journal articles, book chapters, monographs, conference proceedings, serials, technical reports, and other materials on a range of agricultural topics.
  • AGRIS

    Covers all aspects of agriculture, including forestry, animal husbandry, the aquatic sciences and fisheries, and human nutrition. The database is produced by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN (FAO) in cooperation with participating countries and international organizations.
  • CAB Abstracts

    CAB covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, veterinary medicine and much more. Journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports and other sources from more than one country are scanned regularly for inclusion in the database.
  • Michigan Agricultural Statistics

    Michigan agricultural statistics published by the USDA.
Bio and Life Sciences

  • Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts

    The ASFA series is the premier reference in the field of aquatic resources. Input to ASFA is provided by a growing international network of information centers monitoring over 5,000 serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature. ASFA is a component of the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Information System, formed by four United Nations agency sponsors of ASFA and two international partners.
  • Biological Abstracts

    Indexes the biological and medical peer-reviewed journal literature.
  • Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide

    Provides access to the literature on mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians.
  • Zoological Record

    Contains bibliographic references covering all aspects of zoology. Includes information from journals, books, newsletter, and conference proceedings.
Earth and Environmental Sciences

  • Environment Complete

    According to EBSCO, Environment Completeâ„¢ offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Environment Complete contains more than 1,957,000 records from more than 1,700 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s (including 1,125 active core titles) as well as more than 120 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 680 journals, including many of the most used journals in the discipline, such as Environment (back to 1975), Ecologist, Conservation Biology, etc. Additionally, Environment Complete provides full text for 120 monographs, such as Encyclopedia of World Environmental History (3 volumes), Advances in Water Treatment & Environmental Management, etc.
  • GeoRef

    GeoRef, produced by the American Geological Institute, indexes the world's literature in geology and the geosciences. Its over 1.7 million citations, many with abstracts, cover the geology of North America since 1785 and the geology of the rest of the world since 1933. It scans over 3,000 journals in 40 languages as well as books, maps, and reports. Most U.S. Geological Survey publications and many state geological surveys are indexed, as are U.S. and Canadian theses and dissertations.
  • TreeSearch

    Provides access to publications of the USDA Forest Service
Med and Statistics

  • MD Consult

    MD Consult is a comprehensive online clinical information resource with textbooks, journals, drug information, practice guidelines, and other resources.
  • MEDLINE (on FirstSearch)

    The National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Contains bibliographic citations with author abstracts (since 1975) from over 3,800 international biomedical journals published in the US and 70 other countries.
Funding

  • Foundation Finder

    A free lookup tool by the Foundation Center that provides basic facts on approximately 46,000 U.S. foundations. Each entry retrieved provides the full legal name of the foundation, address, telephone number, and contact person. When available, each entry also provides supplemental address information, such as separate application address, additional phone numbers, fax numbers, e-mail addresses, URL addresses, type of foundation (community, company-sponsored, independent, or operating), fiscal date, assets, total giving, and IRS employer identification number. Foundation finder does not cover direct corporate giving programs and public charities.
  • Funding Opportunities Database

    The database includes information on funding opportunities announced by federal agencies, state/provincial organizations, commercial entities, non-profit foundations, professional associations, etc. The place to start if you are looking for funding for academic pursuits, including scholarships, fellowships, postdoctoral support, research support, travel support, conference support, artistic funding, equipment, facility construction or operation, or publishing support.
  • Grants for Nonprofits

    Funding opportunites are broken out by subject. Covers web sites and books. Databases are a separate selection.
Reference

  • COS Expertise Database

    Community of Science (COS) Expertise, the foundation of COS's international faculty information system, is the premiere database of professional researcher profiles. It currently contains 200,000 profiles of researchers and scholars, built in collaboration with more than 220 leading research universities, government agencies, and other R&D organizations from around the world.
  • USDA 2002 Census of Agriculture

  • Books in Print

    Provides complete, publisher�verified information on all U.S. books in print as well as English-language books published in Canada, the United Kingdom, Australia, and New Zealand. Global Books in Print covers scholarly, technical, popular, adult, juvenile, and reprint titles.
  • Michigan Maps and Information

    The maps and data contained on this web site are downloadable and free of charge to all Michigan State University faculty, staff, and students. The data is in either ESRI's ARC/INFO export format (.e00) or Microsoft's Excel spreadsheet format(.xls). The maps/data are available at the State, County, and City levels.
  • World Almanac and Book of Facts

    The World Almanac is a single source reference database that covers arts and entertainment, U.S. cities and states, people in the news, the nations of the world, sports, the environment, vital statistics, science and technology, computers, taxes and much more.
  • WorldCat (OCLC)

    WorldCat is the OCLC Online Union Catalog, containing more than 35 million records describing items owned by MSU Libraries and libraries around the world; each record indicates library holdings. It is produced by the OCLC Online Computer Library Center and describes books, manuscripts, computer data files, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films and slides, newspapers, journals, sound recordings magazines, and videotapes.
Journal Lists

Newspapers



Page Coordinator: Melissa Yost myost@kbs.msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=637
Last updated: 09-25-2008

© 2006 Michigan State University Board of Trustees. MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity institution.