Link to print-friendly version


Tips for Finding Articles in the MSU Libraries

Table of Contents:

What is a periodical?

What is a periodical?

Anything that is published at regular intervals throughout the year such as a magazine, journal, or newspaper:

  • Magazine: A magazine is a collection of articles and images about diverse topics of popular interest and current events. Usually these articles are written by journalists or scholars and are geared toward the average adult.
  • Journal: A journal is a collection of articles usually written by scholars in an academic or professional field. An editorial board reviews articles to decide whether they should be accepted.
  • Newspaper: A newspaper is a collection of articles about current events usually published daily. Since there is at least one in every city, it is a great source for local information.

What is a "popular" article vs. a "scholarly" article?

There are many differences between popular and scholarly magazine and journal articles. To help you determine whether a magazine or journal article is popular or scholarly, take a look at the following guide: Popular vs. Scholarly Periodicals.

[Return to Top]

How do I look for ARTICLES on a specific topic?

How do I look for periodical articles on my research topic?

Using a periodical index such as ProQuest or WilsonSelectPlus.

What is a periodical index?

A periodical index contains the citations of articles in magazines, journals and newspapers. Some periodical indexes contain abstracts or brief summaries of the articles. A few contain the full text or entire content of whole articles as they originally appeared in the periodical. There are hundreds of different periodical indexes designed for different purposes and areas of study.

There are so many periodical indexes, how do I know which one to use?

Try these Getting Started pages. They highlight some of the most useful indexes to use, according to area of study. There are a few suggested general indexes listed below that are good to use when first starting your research.

[Return to Top]

Suggested General Periodical Indexes for Starting Your Research

  • ProQuest

    ProQuest provides access to the citations of articles (and in many cases, the full-text of articles) in a wide range of subject areas. Coverage includes the following: Arts, Business, Children, Education, General Interest, Health, Humanities, International, Law, Military, Multicultural, Psychology, Sciences, Social Sciences, and Women's Interests.
  • Expanded Academic ASAP

    Provides access to the citations of articles (and in many cases, the full-text of articles) in a wide variety of disciplines including the social sciences, humanities, science and technology, national news, and general interest.
  • WilsonSelectPlus

    Provides access to the full text of journal and magazine articles in a variety of disciplines, including art, education, health, business, general sciences, and many areas of general interest.

[Return to Top]

Finding the Full Text of Articles After Searching an Index

Many indexes you search will provide the full text of articles; however, many others will not. For those that do not, there are several steps to take in finding the full text of articles (either in print format or online) after you have searched an index. The steps are detailed below:

Step 1: Finding Articles in Full-Text Indexes

When searching an index for articles (such as ProQuest or WilsonSelectPlus), take a look at your results screen or a more detailed record of the item you want to retrieve. Is there a link to the full text of the article somewhere in the results screen or a detailed records screen? The link may say Jump to Full Text, View Full Text, Text with Graphics, or Page Image – PDF. If one of those links appears, click on it and you will retrieve the full text of the article.

If there is no link to the full text, go to Step 2.

Step 2: Finding Articles through Find Text@MSU

Look for a Find Text@MSU (what’s this?) link within the record of the article. If there is one, click on it and a new window will open with a series of options for finding the full text. Options will vary but may include:

  • Find Full Text at… If an online version of the item is available, one or more links will appear in this category. Usually this links directly to a specific article. Sometimes it may link to the table of contents for a journal issue, a list of volumes and issues available for a specific journal, or a search screen. You will then need to navigate or perform a search to reach the full text of the article. If the MSU Libraries subscribe to the full text from more than one source, multiple links offer you a choice of full-text options. If one does not work, try another.
  • Check Library Catalog… This is a shortcut to search the MSU Libraries’ catalog for availability using multiple search methods (by journal title, title, ISSN or ISBN). Even if the full text is not available online, a print copy may be.
  • Request a copy from… This is a shortcut to the MSU Libraries’ interlibrary loan service. If an item is not available online or in print at the MSU Libraries, you may request the item using ArticleReach Direct. For more information, see our ArticleReach Direct FAQs.

If there is no Find Text@MSU link, go to Step 3.

Step 3: Finding Articles When There’s No Full-Text Available

I searched an index but the articles were not all available there in electronic full text. I have my citations, so where are the articles?

To find articles that are not displayed in full text from within the index that you searched, you will need to do a "Title" search for that periodical in the library catalog. The results will begin to tell you whether or not the library subscribes to the journal and has the issue that you need, in a print or digital format. You do this by searching the name or title of the journal, not the title of the article.

I found the journal listed in the library catalog, so how do I know if you have the issue that I need?

Look at the catalog record. You will see a section labelled "LIBRARY HAS" showing the range of volumes/issues and years available in the MSU Libraries. You will also see the call number and a location (such as the "Main Library" stacks or a branch library). If we have access to an online version, there may be a hot link.

Where can I find print journals, magazines, and newspapers?

Current issues of many magazines, journals and newspapers are arranged alphabetically by title in the Periodical Room on 2-West in the Main Library. Some may be found in the branch libraries. Earlier issues of journals and magazines typically are bound and shelved in the stacks (with books on the same subjects) by call number.

I didn't find the name of the journal I need in the catalog, so where else can I look?

Check the MSU Libraries' Electronic Journals page. Type the title of the journal into the search box. If you find a listing for the journal, click on "connect" to reach an online version of that journal (in some cases, the online version may be limited to the table of contents, especially for early years).

What if I still don't see the name of my journal?

If the MSU Libraries do not have electronic or print access to the journal you need, you can ask the library to request a copy of an article from another library, free of charge. To make requests from another library, please see Get Materials from Another Library. Note: you will need the whole citation (author, article title, journal title, volume, date, pages) to complete the necessary request forms.

[Return to Top]

Citing Your Work

Don't forget to cite! See online examples of how to cite your sources using using various citation styles such as APA, MLA, and Chicago/Turabian. You will also find helpful links to additional online citation generators and citation management software.

[Return to Top]

Finding Assistance in the MSU Libraries

If we can provide any further assistance to you in your research, do not hesitate to contact us through the following ways:



[Return to Top]



Page Coordinator: Stephanie Perentesis perente1@msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=65
Last updated: 10-25-2007

© 2006 Michigan State University Board of Trustees. MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity institution.