Link to print-friendly version


International Statistics

Sources of international statistical information are held throughout the Michigan State University Libraries. This guide is not comprehensive, but provides information on a selection of some of the most important general sources. Most of the materials listed below are located in International Documents (Main Library, 3 West). A selected number of Internet resources are also included. Please ask at the Main Library Reference Desk if you need further assistance.

Table of Contents:

General Sources: World Coverage

  • United Nations Data

    An enormous, free database of statistical information gathered by the United Nations and related agencies. Includes data from more than 180 countries and from a diverse group of IGOs, including the FAO, Unesco, UNDP and the WHO.
  • Europa World Year Book

    An excellent source for basic country information. Covers recent history plus the current political and economic system in each country of the world. Includes some statistics, information on political parties and political structure, and media information. Also includes voting information for recent elections.
  • World Development Indicators

    Includes over 80 tables and over 800 indicators for 152 countries and 14 country groups, as well as basic indicators for a further 55 economies. It also contains more than 1,000 country tables and the text from the most recent World Development Indicators print edition and the World Bank Atlas. Users can search for and retrieve data in spreadsheet form, create maps and charts, and fully download them into other Windows-based software programs for study or presentation purposes.
  • World Development Indicators

    Print version, published annually since 1997. [Latest edition at Reference Desk HC59.15 .W656; earlier in Gov. Docs. stacks]
    For earlier years, use:
      Social Indicators of Development (1987-1996: Gov. Docs HC59.69 .S63)
      World Tables (1976-1995: Gov. Docs. HC59 .W669)
  • Human Development Report

    Data on a variety of quality of life (e.g., access to health care, life expectancy, education) variables are provided. Data are arranged to ease comparisons between developing and industrialized nations, and North and South. The online version allows viewing by country or statistical category, and can be downloaded as an Excel or PDF file.
  • Human Development Report

    Print version going back to 1990. [Latest edition at Reference Desk HD72 .H85; earlier in Gov. Docs. stacks; also in IIS microfiche #4080-S6] Annual.
  • International Financial Statistics Online

    Data cover more than 200 countries and country groupings. Topics include: balance of payments, interest rates, national accounts, prices, production, trade, and population. Updated monthly.
  • International Financial Statistics Yearbook

    Print version of the online database. Goes back to 1980 in coverage International Documents, 3 West HG1 .I463
  • Social Indicators

    United Nations Data collected from a variety of sources. Includes statistics on: Childbearing, Education, Health, Housing, Human settlements, Literacy, Income and economic activity, Population, Unemployment, Water supply and sanitation, and Youth and elderly populations.
  • [UNESCO] Statistical Yearbook

    [Latest edition at Reference Desk HA1 .U5; earlier in Int'l. Docs. stacks; also IIS microfiche #4110-S1]
    Annual. 1963 on. Data from more than 200 countries on education, scientific and technical research and development, culture and media.
  • Statistical Yearbook [of the United Nations]

    [Latest edition at Reference Desk HA12.5 .U63; earlier in Gov. Docs. stacks; also IIS microfiche #3030-S16] Annual. 1949 on. Statistical data for more than 270 countries/territories on population, labor, agriculture, forestry, fishing, industry, mining, manufacturing, transportation, communication, tourism, finance, energy, wages and prices, and more. Updated by the Monthly Bulletin of Statistics (earlier in International Docs. 3 W at HC59.A1 U66 ; also in IIS microfiche #3080-P2; available electronically to MSU students, faculty and staff).
  • World Almanac and Book of Facts

    [Latest edition at Reference Desk; earlier in Main AY 67.N5 W7] Annual. 1893 on. Good place to look for basic statistics before 1945.
  • Statesman's Yearbook

    [Latest edition at Reference Desk; earlier in Main. JA 51 .S7] Annual. 1874 on.
    Quick reference data on area, population, defense, economy, energy, natural resources, industry and trade, communications, religion, education and welfare. Alphabetical arrangement by country. Also provides selected information on major international organizations. Good for pre-1945 statistics, particularly for the British Empire.
  • UN Comtrade

    A searchable database of import and export data from over 130 countries that provide the United Nations Statistics Division with their annual international trade statistics, detailed by commodity and partner country. For many countries the data coverage starts as far back as 1962 and goes up to the most recent completed year. Commodities are classified according to SITC (Rev.1 from1962, Rev.2 from 1976 and Rev.3 from 1988), the Harmonized System (HS) (from 1988 with revisions in 1996 and 2002), and Broad Economic Categories (BEC). Currently most data are reported according to HS, version 2002. The original data are also converted and stored in all the other classifications.
  • International Trade Statistics

    From the International Trade Centre, a joint operation of UNCTAD and the WTO, this site has a variety of free trade data sources, much of which comes from the UN COMTRADE database
  • World Economic Outlook

    [Latest in Statistics Alcove HC59 .W65; earlier in Gov. Docs. stacks; also IIS microfiche #3840-S10; an Internet version is also available.] Semi-annual. 1980 on.
    Provides projections and analysis of world economic developments. Includes data on prices, inflation, money supply, trade, interest rates, employment, earnings, labor costs and productivity. All data are shown by country, world region, or economic grouping. Monetary values in U.S. dollars.
  • Global Development Finance

    Access to statistical data for the 136 countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt to the World Bank Debtor Reporting System. The database covers external debt stocks and flows, major economic aggregates, and key debt ratios as well as average terms of new commitments, currency composition of long-term debt, debt restructuring, and scheduled debt service projections.
Africa

  • World Bank Africa Database

    This CD-ROM offers a comprehensive database with year-by-year time series of most indicators going back to 1965. It contains over 1,200 indicators of macro-economic, sectoral, and social data for 53 African countries and 20 regional country groups.

    • Location(s): HC800.A1 W677 Gov Docs CDs
  • African Development Report

    [Latest in Statistics Alcove, 1 East, HC800 .A1 A37; earlier in Main; also in IIS microfiche #1020-S5; related statistical publications are available online ] Annual. 1990 on. Published by the African Development Bank, the Report covers "recent economic developments in Africa; an in-depth analysis of a development policy issue of major importance to Africa; and updated statistical information on the African economies."
  • African Socio-Economic Indicators

    [Latest in Statistics Alcove, 1 East, HC800 .A1 A36; earlier in Gov. Docs. stacks; also IIS microfiche #3190-S5] Annual. 1983 on.
    Contains demographic and social indicators (e.g., population by age, male/female ratios, fertility, access to health care, education) and economic indicators (e.g., GDP, land use, production, imports and exports, government finance).
  • African Statistical Yearbook

    [Latest in Statistics Alcove, 1 East, HA1955 .U5; earlier in Gov. Docs. stacks; also IIS microfiche #3190-S1]Annual. 1973 on.
    Covers population, employment, agricultural production and trade by industry and commodity, transportation, communications, finance and health facilities. Not all data are available for each country. Note: There is usually several years difference between the publication date and the data coverage dates.
Asia, the Middle East, and the Pacific

  • Statistical Yearbook for Asia and the Pacific

    [Latest in Statistics Alcove, 1 East, HA1665 .S73; earlier in Gov. Docs. stacks; also IIS microfiche #3170-S10]
    Annual. 1968 on. Published by the Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific, this has summary tables for the region, and detailed tables for each country. Statistics cover a wide variety of subjects: population, agriculture, industry, household expenditures, wages, transportation and communication.
  • Economic and Social Survey of Asia and the Pacific

    Latest in Statistics Alcove, 1 East, HC411 .E357; earlier in Int'l Docs.]
    Published by the Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific, this publication gives an overview of economic conditions along with some statistics and graphs. Goes with the Statistical Yearbook, above, and is good for analysis.
  • Key Indicators of Developing Asian and Pacific Countries

    [Latest in Statistics Alcove, 1 East, HC 411 .A754; earlier in Main stacks; also IIS microfiche #1130-S2]
    Annual. 1990 on. An Asian Development Bank publication providing summary tables for the region, and detailed tables for each country. Statistics cover a wide variety of subjects: population, agriculture, industry, energy, national accounts, and trade. Earlier title: Key Indicators of Developing Member Countries of the ADB.
  • SESRTCIC: Statistical Database for Islamic Countries

    Statistical Database for Islamic countries, which means here most countries in the Middle East, Central and Southeast Asia, and Africa. Data covers a broad spectrum of economic, social and demographic topics from 1975-present, but there are many gaps in the actual data that is available.
  • Arab Monetary Fund: Foreign Trade

    Covers 1990-2003. Includes exports and imports by SITC.
  • Arab Monetary Fund: Economic Indicators

    Covers 1990-2001. Includes National Accounts, prices, public finance, money and credit, foreign trade, balance of payments, external debt and exchange rates.
Europe

  • Eurostat

    Official website of the statistical agency of the European Commission. Hundreds of statistical reports under Data and Publications, including a broad range of statistics from health to exports to employment.
  • Eurostat Yearbook

    [Latest in Statistics Alcove, 1 East, HA1107.5 .E976; earlier in Int'l. Docs. 3 West; also IIS microfiche #1600-S62] Annual. 1995 on.
    Data are provided for EU and EU candidate countries, U.S., Canada and Japan. Topics include: people (mortality, migration), land and environment, national income and expenditures, trade and industry, the European Union budget and internal economy.
  • Regions Statistical Yearbook

    [Latest in Statistics Alcove, 1 East, HA1107.5 .A2; earlier in Int'l Docs. 3 West; also IIS microfiche #1300-S57] Annual.
    Main regional indicators including population, birth rate, employment, activity rate, gross value added. Economic and social data by province. Earlier title: Yearbook of Regional Statistics
  • TransMONEE Database

    From the UNICEF Innocenti Research Centre, this database provides access to economic and social statistics for 27 transition countries in Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. Data is from 1989-present, but there is usually a 2 year delay in data publication..
  • Trends in Europe and North America: Statistical Yearbook of the ECE

    [Latest in Statistics Alcove, 1 East, HA1107 .T746; earlier in Int'l Docs. 3 West]
    Data provided include population, density, life expectancy, infant mortality, employment, unemployment, expenditure on education and health, GDP, consumer price index, exports, imports, exchange rate. Most recent edition is available online.
  • stat@unece: Statistical Database of the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe

    stat@unece is the statistical database maintained by the Statistical Division of the UNECE Secretariat. It provides detailed statistical information on countries in Europe, North America and Central Asia. Data are organized by domains and subject or policy areas. Currently two main domains are covered: Macroeconomic statistics Gender and social statistics The database is free of charge and data can be exported in several file formats.
Latin America

  • Economic and Social Progress in Latin America

    HG3881.I45 A3 International Documents, 3 West
    Annual. 1972 on. "Overview of current economic trends in Latin America and the Caribbean, including statistical information for the region. Features country-by-country economic analysis and national statistical profiles on population, national accounts, central government finances, balance of payments, external debt, and inflation. Each edition contains a special report on a major regional issue."
  • Central America Trade Statistics

    Covers trade statistics for Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Honduras, El Salvador, Guatamala, and Central America as a whole back to 1994.
  • Latin America and the Caribbean: Selected Economic and Social Data

    This database, maintained by USAID, is organized by sector. From each sector page (social, health, education, environment, democracy, economy, investment, assistance, and trade), you may query the database to produce cross-national, time-series data sets in HTML, Excel spreadsheets, or Word tables. Much of this data comes from World Development Indicators or Unesco.
  • Statistical Yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean

    [Latest in Statistics Alcove, 1 East, HA931 .U5; earlier in Int'l. Docs.; also IIS microfiche #3230-S2]
    Annual. 1986 on. Recent editions also available online.
    Data on social development and welfare, economic growth, prices, debt, national accounts, population, balance of payments, trade, production and services. Earlier title: Statistical Yearbook for Latin America (1973-1984)
  • Social Panorama of Latin America

    [Latest in Statistics Alcove, 1 East, HN110.5 .A49; earlier in Int'l Docs. 3 West; also IIS microfiche #3230-S18.]
    Statistical Appendix provides data on poverty, income, labor force participation and more!
Multi-Region (Includes OECD and LDCs)

  • SourceOECD Statistics

    OECD Statistical Data cover the broad range of OECD activities including finance, sustainable development, social issues, food and agriculture, education, employment, information technology, nuclear energy, transport, and more. Data is updated frequently.
    The OECD is a group of 30 nations including much of Europe, the U.S., Canada, Australia, Japan and South Korea. It also occasionally publishes data from non-member countries such as Russia and China.
  • OECD Economic Surveys

    [Latest in Statistics Alcove -- call number varies by country; earlier in Int'l. Docs. 3 West; also IIS microfiche #2300-S2]
    Annual. 1959 on. Provides detailed analyses of recent developments in demand, production, employment, prices and wages for OECD member nations and selected non-member countries. Each volume covers an individual country. These are also available electronically in SourceOECD
  • Least Developed Countries Report

    [Latest in Statistics Alcove, 1 East, HC59.7 L397; earlier in Int'l. Docs. 3 West; also IIS microfiche #4050-S8] Annual. 1984 on. Most recent also online.
    This report is published by the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development. Each year has an annex, "Basic Data on the Least Developed Countries," that contains data on 47 countries. Topics covered include GDP, production, exports and imports, financial flows, debt, health, education, transportation, and media.
Indexes

  • LexisNexis Statistical

    Indexes and abstracts statistical publications from the US government, state governments, international organizations, and professional associations. [It is the WWW version of 3 print indexing sources: American Statistics Index (ASI), Index to International Statistics (IIS), and Statistical Reference Index (SRI).] Links to selected full-text materials are provided, some in spreadsheet format. The Library owns almost all the materials indexed in LexisNexis Statistical, either in print (search the library catalog) or on microfiche. Ask at the Main Library Reference Desk for further assistance.
  • American Statistics Index (ASI)

    [Statistics Alcove, 1 East, Z1223 .Z7 A4] 1974-present
    Indexes and abstracts the wide range of statistical publications produced by the U.S. government. A substantial amount of information on other countries is available through these publications. The majority of the materials indexed in ASI are available in the Government Documents Library in paper or microfiche.
  • Index to International Statistics (IIS)

    [Statistics Alcove, 1 East, HA 17 .I535] 1983-present
    Indexes and abstracts statistical publications of international intergovernmental organizations (IGOs). Most of the materials indexed in IIS are available in the Government Documents Library in paper or microfiche. When applicable, IIS microfiche accession numbers are provided for the titles listed below.
  • Statistical Reference Index (SRI)

    [Statistics Alcove, 1 East, Z 7554 .U5 S75] Monthly, cumulated quarterly and annually. 1980 on.
    Indexes and abstracts statistical publications produced by state governments and private organizations, including trade associations and independent research organizations. Many of the publications cited are available in the SRI microfiche collection.
  • Instat: International Statistics Sources: Subject Guide to Sources of International Comparative Statistics

    [Statistics Alcove HA 155 .F55 1995]
    Published in 1995, Instat attempts to provide subject access to "all international sources of statistical data published by both public and private bodies." It is not as thorough as IIS in its coverage of IGO sources; its value is in its coverage of materials issued by commercial publishers and trade associations.


Page Coordinator: Terri Miller ticklet@msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=654
Last updated: 06-23-2009

© 2006 Michigan State University Board of Trustees. MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity institution.