Finding Books in MAGIC
When looking for books on Animal Science, search by subject, keyword, author or title in the MAGIC online catalog. Examples of relevant subject headings for Animal Science include:
-
Animal Behavior
- Alpacas, camels, llamas
- Animal Breeding
- Animal Welfare
- Animal Breeds
- Beef cattle
- Animal Communication
- Dairy Science
- Animal Diseases
- Deer
- Animal Feeding
- Equine Science
- Animal Genetics
- Goats
- Dairy Cattle
- Horses
- Dairy Engineering
- Sheep/Wool
- Dairy Farming
- Swine
- Dairying
- Bison
- Livestock
- Ratites
- Poultry
Finding Journal Articles
To locate journal articles you need to search in an online index (subject database) for the journal literature in your field. From the MSU libraries home page, choose E-Resources at the top of the page, and then choose Indexes. Under Indexes Arranged by Subject, click on the pull down arrow; choose ‘Animal Science’ click ‘Go’. There will be a list of Indexes related to Animal Science. Choose an Index and click ‘Connect’. Once in the Index, enter the key concepts that you are looking for, or combine terms you would like to find in the same article. For assistance with searching please feel free to contact Sheila Bryant, or the Main Library reference desk.
Relevant Animal Science Indexes
- AGRICOLA
(1970-) Worldwide coverage of agriculture literature from the National Agriculture Library and other institutions, the database includes information on agricultural economic, animal industries, food and human nutrition, forestry, plant science, animal science and veterinary medicine. It indexes a number of Animal Science journals, including “Journal of Animal Science”, “Canadian Journal of Animal Science”, and “Animal Welfare”.
- Animal Health and Production Compendium
The compendium focuses on all aspects of animal health and production, including diseases, nutrition, husbandry and breeding. It covers several hundred topics in food-animal production (cattle, buffaloes, sheep, goats, pigs, poultry), including husbandry, housing, handling, identification, transport, behavior, nutrition, genetics, reproduction, techniques, welfare, slaughter, meat, milk, eggs, products and legislation.
- Biological Abstracts
(1980- ) Is an excellent interdisciplinary, international database. It indexes biological, life sciences, biochemistry, pharmacology, toxicology, microbiology and medical peer-reviewed journal literature. It also includes citations for monographs, reports, conference papers, patents and other resources.
- CAB Abstracts
CAB covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, veterinary medicine and much more. Journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports and other sources from more than one country are scanned regularly for inclusion in the database.
- Dissertation Abstracts
Provides access to the complete range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations accepted at accredited institutions.
- MEDLINE (ISI)
(1966-) Medline is the National Library of Medicine’s premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the pre-clinical sciences. Although it focuses primarily on human medicine, it does contain information on animal testing, research, rights, regulation, diagnosis and treatment
- PubMed
PubMed is a government sponsored free database that provides web access to bibliographic information, which is drawn primarily from MEDLINE.
- Toxline
Toxline is a comprehensive bibliographic index from the National Library of Medicine. It provides information on the pharmacological, biochemical, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals on humans and animals.
- LexisNexis Academic
An interdisciplinary database that is international in scope. The Lexis service contains major archives of federal and state case law, state and federal regulations and public records from major U.S. states. The Nexis service is a leading news and business information service which contains more than 7,100 sources, of which 3,700 provide their entire publications online. It has good coverage of general healthcare news and journal articles relating to Animal Science.
- ScienceDirect
(1995- ) Provides access to the full text of over 600 science, technology and medicine journals to which MSU Libraries have subscriptions. The index also includes abstracts of articles in non-subscribed journals.
Bibliographies and Directories
- The Literature of Animal Science and Health
An analysis of the core literature and research. Lists core reference sources and literature in the field.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of Agricultural Science
Contains chapters on animal behavior, breeding and genetics, nutrition, reproduction, and waste management.
- Location(s): Main Library Reference: S 411 .E713 1994
- Check Catalog
- Animal Behavior Desk Reference
Dictionary arranged alphabetically with technical descriptions, taxonomy, and additional citations.
- Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia.
Includes chapters on animal life and biosciences.
- Location(s): Main Library Reference: Q 121 .V3 2002
- Check Catalog
- Cattle Breeds: An Encyclopedia
Comprehensive source of information on world cattle breeds by region.
- Location(s): Main Library Reference: SF 191.4 .F442 1995
- Check Catalog
- Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
This 13-volume set provides an in-depth overview of animal life by zoological classification. Includes information on animal physiology, behavior, reproduction, taxonomy, as well as general ecological information by species.
- Location(s): Main Library Reference: QL 45 .G813 2003 v.1
- Check Catalog
- Mason’s World Dictionary of Livestock Breeds, Types and Varieties
Lists all livestock names encountered in the literature, indicates synonyms, and recommends a preferred form. Includes information on distribution, economic use, and characteristics of the breed.
- Location(s): Main Library Reference: SF 105 M34 2002
- Check Catalog
Handbooks, Yearbooks, Textbooks
- Feed Additive Compendium
Handbook of animal feeds and feeding including laws and legislation concerning additions to feeds and feeding, medical supplements, feeding amounts, and breed and chemical specific information.
- Location(s): Main Library Reference: SF98 .A2 F44 v.40 2002
- Check Catalog
- The Science of Animal Husbandry
Written for the freshman college student; explains the main concepts and practices in animal husbandry; includes color photos.
- Animal Health Yearbook
Compilation of animal health and disease statistics indexed by disease, by county, and by continent. Also includes text of international rules, agreements, and reports relating to animal health.
- Handbook of Animal Science
Provides a general introduction to animal science, including the history of animal science research, animal nutrition and husbandry, animal breeds and population, and use and consumption of livestock. Includes citations, tables, and charts.
- The Handbook of Aviculture
General introduction and reference to all aspects of aviculture. Includes sections on the care and health of birds, along with detailed description and pictures of birds by species.
- Handbook of Laboratory Animal Science
There are two volumes, Essential Principles and Practices and Animal Models. This handbook provides information on Laboratory animal including care and use, education and training, animal models, animal analgesia, Anesthesia, & Euthanasia among other topics.
- Introduction to Animal Science – Global, Biological, Social, and Industry
This text covers the value of animals to humans, how the traditional biological disciplines contribute to animal science as a whole. The book also covers the agricultural structure, nutrition, genetics, breeding, and behavior. The text concludes with a section on “Animals and Society”.
Weblinks
Page Coordinator: Sheila Bryant bryants@msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=66
Last updated: 12-16-2005
|