Electronic Resources & Research Guides
- MSU Library
-
- Other Sources
-
- Teaching Future Historians: U.S. History Lesson Plans Using Primary Documents
Produced by the "Illinois Historical Digitization Projects at Northern Illinois University Libraries provides multiple web sites which offer primary documents, interpretive materials, and multi-format resources (images, video, maps, song recordings) related to United States and Illinois history from 1818-1896. Since many of the documents available are quite lengthy, we have provided teachers of U.S. History with lesson plans that utilize portions of the primary documents available on our sites, as well as sources from other reputable history web sites such as the Library of Congress's American Memory site. This site compiles all of our lesson plans in one easy-to-access web site, where teachers can print the lesson plans and necessary readings for course use."
- National Archives' Digitial Classroom
"The National Archives' gateway for resources about primary sources, activities and training for educators and students."
- Finding National Archives' online copies of historical documents and photographs
- H-net
"H-Net is an international interdisciplinary organization of scholars and teachers dedicated to developing the enormous educational potential of the Internet and the World Wide Web. Our edited lists and web sites publish peer reviewed essays, multimedia materials, and discussion for colleagues and the interested public."
- Historical Society of Michigan's Educator's Resources
Contains "Michigan's History Calendar: A day by day look at historic events in Michigan for each month, including a NEW listing of historical dates from Michigan's past!" and information on Michigan History Day.
- History Matters: The U.S. Survey Course on the Web
"Designed for high school and college teachers and students,
History Matters serves as a gateway to web resources and offers
other useful materials for teaching U.S. history."
Indexes
- America: History and Life online
Provides access to historical articles for the U.S. & Canada only. Some fulltext articles available. [Resource no longer available]
- LexisNexis Congressional
A broad range of Congressional information is provided including bill tracking, Committee reports, House and Senate documents, Member financial disclosures, campaign finance data, and bill texts. The full text of the National Journal is also included, as is a searchable version of CIS/Index, the key indexing & abstracting source for legislative information since 1970.
- Historical Abstracts
Provides access to historical articles for the Modern period (1450 to
the present) for Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, and Latin America. Some fulltext articles available.
- ArchivesUSA online
Locates materials kept in collections in the U.S
Digitized Collections: A Selected Listing
- MSU LibrarIes (Subscription Resources)
-
- American Periodical Series (APS) Full-Text
Full-text database of American periodicals published between the 1700's and 1899.
- New York Times (1851-2005)
The New York Times (1851-2005) offers students and educators a unique resource for primary source documents. The New York Times, long known for providing 'All the News That is Fit to Print' has set the standard for quality journalism since 1851. This respected source provides news and viewpoints from the United States and around the world. Newspapers offer a glimpse into the opinions, biases and prejudices, and knowledge of a certain time or author. Educators can use the articles and images contained in The New York Times to help teach skills such as critical thinking, historical interpretation and context, writing and composition, and information literacy; can supplement lessons in many different disciplines; and can offer multidisciplinary approaches to subjects. Students gain a better understanding and appreciation of the past through sources that illustrate historical information via a relevant medium still used today. The variety of information spanning more than 150 years found in The New York Times provides resources applicable to the study of the Arts, Business, Communications and Media, Economics, Geography, Government, Health, History, Language Arts, Science, Technology, and more.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries, Colonial-1950
When complete, North American Women's Letters and Diaries will be the largest collection of women's diaries and correspondence ever assembled. Spanning more than 300 years, it will bring the personal experiences of 1,500 women to researchers, students, and general readers.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
"(Women and Social Movements) is intended to serve as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1700 and 2000, the website seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. The database includes more than 25,000 pages of documents pertaining to Women and Social Movements, a dictionary of social movements and organizations, a chronology of U.S. women's history, and teaching tools with lesson ideas and document-based questions related to the website's document projects."
- MSU Libaries (Free Resources)
-
- Other Free Recources
-
- American Memory from the Library of Congress
"American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning."
- Chicago Historical Society's online projects
"Explore Chicago history in these online exhibitions, searchable collections, and historical documentation projects."
- Historical Voices
This collection of audio files, photos, and chronologies was put
together to capture and preserve oral histories. Contents
include: the Flint Sit-Down Strike of 1936-37, the OYEZ Project,
Earliest Voices: A Gallery from the Vincent Voice Library (MSU),
History and Politics Out Loud, and the African Digital
Library.
- Making of America
Full text of 8,000+ books & 150,000 journal articles from 19th century. YOU MUST SEARCH BOTH DATABASES TO BE THOROUGH!!!.
-
Page Coordinator: Mike Unsworth unsworth@msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=666
Last updated: 09-05-2007
|