Finding Veterinary Medicine Related Journal Articles |
Table of Contents:
|
How do I look for ARTICLES on a specific topic?
How do
I look for journal articles on my research topic? What is
a periodical index?
There are so many periodical indexes, how do I know which one to use? From the library's home page (http://www2.lib.msu.edu), click on E-Resources under Quick Links. Click on Indexes in the top left corner. Under "Browse Indexes by Subject" click on the down arrow, scroll down to and highlight "Veterinary Medicine" and click GO for a list of Indexes or try the
Veterinary Medicine Research Guide page. It highlights some of the most
useful veterinary related indexes to use. For example, say you are looking for information on Lameness in Horses. Choosing either CAB Abstracts or PubMed would be a good place to start. Both indexes have a strong Veterinary Medicine component and would contain information on Lameness in Horses. CAB Abstracts is focused more on Agriculture and Animal Science and PubMed contains more Human Medicine. [Return to Top] Finding the Full Text of Articles After Searching an Index Many indexes you search will provide the full text of articles; however, many others will not. For those that do not, there are several steps to take in finding the full text of articles (either in print format or online) after you have searched an index and compiled your citations. The steps are detailed below:
Step 1: Finding Articles in Full-Text Indexes
When searching an index for articles (such as CAB Abstracts or PubMed), take a look at your results screen or a more detailed record of the item you want to retrieve. Is there a link to the full text of the article somewhere in the results screen or a detailed records screen? The link may say Jump to Full Text, View Full Text, Text with Graphics, or Page Image – PDF. If one of those links appears, click on it and you should retrieve the full text of the article. Linking to Full Text from PubMed PubMed is an abstract index. If you access PubMed via the MSU library main or vet med branch homepage there should be links to the full text of the journals that MSU subscribes to electronically. Once you have completed your search in PubMed and compiled a list of articles, if you click on the author(s) name link above the title or the paper icon to the left of the article title that will take you to the citation information and abstract of the article. Directly above the title, below the abstract, or on the right hand side of the page there will be small tabs to inform the user in what format, if at all, we hold that particular article. For instance, Paper Format, Full text article, Electronic Format, Full text article at..., Online at... Clicking on the tab will take the user to either the Full Text of the article, the electronic version of the journal or to information needed to find the article in print. IMPORTANT! - Remember if a journal title or link to a journal does not appear in PubMed does not mean we don't have access to the journal. As a backup you can perform a title search in the online catalog for the title of a journal to see if MSU owns it and in which formats. CAB Abstracts is also an abstract index. The records in CAB Abstract may have a link to the fulltext of a journal article. Click on the "Find Text @MSU" link. It should take you to an intermediate page that provides a link to the fulltext. If the link does not take you to the full text, do a title search for the journal title in the online catalog to see if MSU has access to the journal title. Conduct a title search of the journal that contains the article you want. For example, you've found the article "Quantitative analysis of scintigraphic findings in tibial stress fractures in Thoroughbred racehorses" in the American Journal of Veterinary Research, 2008 Jul; 69(7):886-90.
From the Main library's homepage, click on Advance Search: Catalog, click on Title, type in (the title of the journal)in this case American Journal of Veterinary Research.
If MSU has access to the title, there should be links to the paper and/or online version of the journal. MSU has this title in print(from 1940 - present)and online from 2000 - present. So the article "Quantitative analysis of scintigraphic findings in tibial stress fractures in Thoroughbred racehorses" is available electronically and in print.
If MSU doesn't have access to a journal you can use Article Reach Direct to request the article. If there is no link to the full text, go to Step 2. Step 2: Finding Articles When There’s No Full-Text Available I searched
an index but the articles were not available there in electronic
full text.
I have my citations, so where are the articles? To find articles
that are not displayed in full text from within the index
that you searched, you will need to do a "Title" search
for that periodical in the MSU Libraries' online catalog. The results will begin to tell
you whether or not the library subscribes to the journal and has
the issue that you need, in a print or electronic format. You do
this by searching the name or title of the journal, not
the title of the article.
I
found the journal listed in the online catalog, so how do I know if you have
the issue that I need?
Look at
the catalog record. You will see a section labeled "LIBRARY HAS"
showing the range of volumes/issues and years available in the
MSU Libraries. You will also see the call number and a location
(such as the "Main Library" stacks or a branch library).
If we have access to an online version, there should be a link to the article or the journal's table of contents.
Where
can I find Veterinary print journals and magazines?
Current
issues of many magazines and journals are arranged
alphabetically by title on the shelves under VMC Subscription Journals in the Veterinary Medical Center Library. Journals from the last 10 years are housed in the VMC library. We have the last 15 years of the AVMA journals, "Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association" and "American Journal of Veterinary Research" Previous years are housed in the Main library. Some journals may be housed in the Main or other branch libraries.
I
didn't find the name of the journal I need in the online catalog, so where
else can I look?
Check the
MSU Libraries' Electronic
Journals page. Type the title of the journal into
the search box. If you find a listing for the journal, click on
"connect" to reach an online version of that journal (in some
cases, the online version may be limited to the table of contents,
especially for early years).
What
if I can't find the name of the journal on the Electronic Journals
page?
Check our
A - Z Title
List of Electronic Journals. You can
use this tool to see if articles from the journal are reprinted
in some of our "aggregated" databases, such as ProQuest
or Lexis-Nexis.
What
if I still don't see the name of my journal?
If the MSU
Libraries do not have electronic or print access to the journal
you need, you can ask the library to request a copy of an article
from another library, free of charge. To make requests from another
library, please see
Interlibrary
Services. Note: you will need the
whole citation (author, article title, journal title, volume,
date, pages) to complete the necessary request forms.
|
